SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> none 

111 more reviews
Viewed 95 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/27/12 7:46 PM
Last Updated:12/27/12 8:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Learn To Sew said...
I know I can't do a french seam with the serger. I was not thinking that far ahead. Mainly the first few seams and then finish with a french seam on my Bernina. I was trying to think of a way to reduce some of the bulk where the header joins the body of the case. On the final french seam it is 10 layers thick in that spot.
1/2/13 8:36 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I don't think you can do a french seam properly with a serger. But, this is the way I have learned to do pillowcases. The instructions are on the Crafty Gemini's You Tube channel in case anyone needs to know how to do it. Our Joann's is teaching a pillowcase class, and has one on display. I was really disappointed to see how it was sewn and they used pinking shears to finish the inside!! Yuck! But, yours are very lovely, and done right!
1/2/13 2:21 PM
Learn To Sew said...
I am thinking of changing not only the layout on the next set, but of using the serger as well. Not sure how this will work yet. The idea was to make the layers flatter and eliminate one step somewhere. I still want the cases to be french seamed, so nothing shows. Just not sure how to do it with the serger and the sewing machine. I really love the Bernina, as it just plows though those 10 layers like nothing.
12/30/12 11:36 AM
Mufffet said...
VERY pretty LTS! Thanks for the complete review!
12/29/12 8:19 PM
Sonoma33 said...
These are really nice. Makes me want to make some too. And don't you just love how easily the Bernina's sew though all those layers! I love that too!
12/29/12 1:11 AM
PattyGee said...
Wow those are beautiful pillowcases. I can't wait to see your next set. Thanks for the information on the fabric, the black floral is lovely.
12/28/12 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

More Info
McCall's 5801

photo
by: sewnaughty

Review