Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 604 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/12 7:48 PM
Last Updated:12/30/12 12:11 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Redsmum said...
Stunning!
12/29/12 8:03 PM
Lori V said...
It is a great bag
12/29/12 9:12 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Gorgeous bag. You did an extremely excellent job on this.
12/30/12 0:48 AM
craftylady66 said...
Brilliant!
12/30/12 1:19 AM
pdiddly said...
this is a beautiful bag and a great review with lots of useful tips - thank you.
12/30/12 5:17 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Georgeous, thanks for a very useful review!
12/30/12 6:23 AM
Woolygal said...
Beautiful bag - excellent review. Thanks
12/30/12 7:59 AM
Morisot said...
Gorgeous. Much nicer than the pattern illustrations. Thank you for all the great tips, too.
12/30/12 10:36 AM
Julia C said...
Great review & beautiful bag!
12/30/12 11:54 AM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful bag!
12/30/12 12:28 PM
aliciavr6 said...
That fabric is gorgeous! I made this bag as the 2nd thing I ever sewed on a cheap Walmart brother machine. It took soooooo long! Almost as long to cut out all the pieces as it did to sew it! Yours makes me want to make another one if I ever get ambitious again.
12/30/12 12:30 PM
1SewSweet said...
Grat job on this bag! Very professional looking!
12/30/12 2:57 PM
Pj3g said...
Great bag and great review!!!
12/30/12 9:06 PM
Wianno Girl said...
Excellently thorough review with a lot of creative solutions for the "why didn't I think of this first" problems... stunning fabric too. this project is 2nd on my 2013 list (right after my Channel jacket).
12/31/12 7:05 PM
lauraborealis said...
I am in awe. What a fantastic bag and review.
1/2/13 1:40 PM
Wilzmom said...
Your bag is awesome! Thanks for posting the "how to" for the changes you made.
4/16/13 7:30 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Thank you so much for one of the very best reviews I've ever seen. Your bag is so gorgeous, you have inspired me to buy the pattern and have a go myself. I much prefer your way of using strap tabs, and intend to do the same. If you see this, please could you let me know where in the construction process you stitched on the tabs? Did you add them to the exterior fabric at the start, or after you'd added the interfacing and Peltex? I cant PM you sorry, as I'm only a free member. Thanks :)
5/10/13 0:14 AM
rutaliet said...
Response to addicted2fabric - the strap tabs were attached to the complete fronts through all layers.
5/11/13 7:40 AM
VintageTempest said...
Very nice! I really want to make this bag now.
5/13/13 9:03 PM
addicted2fabric said...
Thank you Rutaliet. I figured that would be the best time to sew them on, but I was really paranoid about ruining what has been a very expensive project to make, so I wanted to check and be sure. I have finished my bag and will post a review tomorrow. Thanks again for your wonderful, extremely helpful review :)
5/14/13 5:16 AM
Messy Mags said...
Thanks very much for your great review and extremely helpful tips. I had wanting to make the front pockets with zippers, but could not figure out how. I went with magnetic snaps instead. Will use your zip pockets tutorial for my next weekender though!
10/20/13 6:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Christina ... on 10/21/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2884
photo
Review by MelC on 6/11/06
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6949 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6949 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2265 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 2265 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us