SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8848 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 677 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/13 10:34 AM
Last Updated:1/3/13 10:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bigalsgal said...
love it!
1/3/13 11:39 AM
McFeather said...
Your dress looks fabulous, despite your trouble! It's on my to-do list. Thanks for the review!
1/3/13 12:02 PM
stitchywitch said...
Ooh, I hate sewing corners. Thanks for the warning! I still might try it, but I'll turn those corners into nice gentle curves.
1/3/13 1:32 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow...this is a cool dress! Looks great on you and super job on the corners.
1/3/13 1:57 PM
lainiemay said...
This is so trendy. I love it!
1/3/13 2:00 PM
Novy said...
Great job.....Love it!
1/3/13 2:24 PM
guineveresmom said...
It may have been a pain sewing it up, but it looks fabulous on you.
1/3/13 3:24 PM
Nancy1955 said...
You look beautiful in that dress. Black definitely works for your complexion - and the dress fits you beautifully.
1/3/13 6:53 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Get out the whip! That is a great dress!
1/3/13 7:58 PM
cmcarr said...
Wow! Very nice.
1/3/13 10:57 PM
barbcl said...
Very sharp dress!
1/4/13 0:46 AM
wendyrb said...
You've whipped this dress into mighty fine shape! Thanks for sharing your pain, it will be someone's gain. You look grrrrrrreat.
1/4/13 1:18 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Despite your difficulty it was worth it. It looks great
1/4/13 9:37 AM
lauraborealis said...
I love your fabric choice... totally changes it from a nice dress to fashion. Wear it proudly!
1/4/13 3:31 PM
SewWil said...
Amazing dress!
1/4/13 7:08 PM
ReginaLit said...
Love it, love it, love it! Very flattering, you look gorgeous!
1/4/13 9:22 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great minds think alike, I'm doing this in leather as well :) Love how yours turned out despite the pain with the corners.
1/5/13 4:40 AM
Fictionfan said...
Great dress, love your blog. At first glance at your dress, I figured "S and M" must mean "Satin and Matte", right? After all, this is a sewing site, where BDSM stands for binding (or bias), draping, stitching, and measuring. Thanks for the review! You worked with some challenging fabric and challenging sewing for a fantastic result.
1/21/13 10:36 PM
Miami Susan said...
Your dress is beautiful on you but your excellent review has warned me against it. Love your blog, too. You have sewn some lovely things!
2/16/13 5:46 PM
emr said...
Thank you for reviewing the pattern. I am planning on purchasing it and am glad to know that the fit is pretty dead on and the zipper can be eliminated. Pattern is too interesting for me to pass up!
2/18/13 2:37 PM
InglesideBelle said...
The dress looks very nice on you and fits well! Your rating of the pattern as mediocre seems to be mostly due to the problems you had sewing those corners. Actually, a good bit of the difficulty was most likely due to the fabric you used. Neither ponte knit nor faux leather have the soft 'hand' (feel and flexibility) of the recommended fabrics: crepe, silk tweed and jersey. You were trying to make your fabric do things that go against its natural tendencies. The style looks so nice on you that you might consider sewing it in one of the recommended fabrics. Just sayin' :)
5/1/13 10:39 AM
JudyMac said...
That is a gorgeous dress and you look very stylish and smart with an interesting edge. That is about 6 corners more than I like to tackle in a garment: you did a fabulous job.
9/17/14 1:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: Gatorbunny

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now