SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6119 (Long or Short Halter Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 314 times 
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About slmstylestarstarstarstar
OR United States
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 142
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/13 1:22 PM
Last Updated:8/19/14 1:04 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6119 by slmstyle

New Look: 6119 by slmstyle  New Look: 6119 by slmstyle  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6119
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
Fabric:Rayon Challis  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: New Look Workroom from Project Runway, Misses' halter neck sundress in two lengths and sash.

Side of bodice

Pattern Sizing: 4-16. I made the 16 in view A for a wonderful client.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it does, but better I think! The weird green dress and the blue sash on the cover of this pattern is neither flattering or chic:

Pattern Envelope

I have uploaded new photos of the dress on my client. The dress looks much better on her!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy. Includes instructions for French Seams as well which makes me very happy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love this pattern for it's simplicity and elegant lines. It lends itself well to many fabrics and creative executions.

My client wanted to knock off a dress that she was wearing in a wedding in a less expensive and more casual fabric and this pattern was an almost identical design. The sash alone cost her $100.00 to purchase at the dress boutique in Portland and I made this sash from long scraps of fabric after cutting out the dress pattern! Certainly not worth $100 of fabric and sewing!

Fabric Used: Printed rayon challis from Mill End in Beaverton, OR. The colors are really great for her, she looks so GOOD in the dress!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: A full bust adjustment and french seams throughout, so nothing crazy hard.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes! I want to make the short version as well. I really love this dress, and so does she!

Conclusion: Great, easy pattern that sews up fast and makes a great maxi or mini dress for many occasions depending on fabric choice. Get it and sew it!
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewPrincess said...
Very nice! Great fabric choice as well!
1/21/13 2:39 PM
Sew tell me said...
Love the fabric choice!
1/21/13 2:36 PM
betty bushwacker said...
If she paid $100 for the sash alone, then I wonder what the whole dress worked out to. Your version is beautiful and I bet she is thrilled.
1/21/13 9:34 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous maxi!
1/20/13 9:45 PM
margy.64 said...
Lovely elegant design. Very nice dress.
1/20/13 9:34 PM
Sue Parrott said...
What a beautiful dress! So pretty!
1/20/13 9:04 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful...love the fabric!
1/20/13 8:00 PM
velosewer said...
This is wonderful.
1/20/13 4:05 PM
caper81 said...
Gorgeous fabric! What a great dress :)
1/20/13 2:28 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Cute! I love summer maxi dresses
1/20/13 1:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1207

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

More Info
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

More Info
McCall's 6753

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review