SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2048 (bags)

Review submitted in Handbag Contest Contest
Viewed 226 times 
Reviewed by:fourkid
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About fourkidstarstar
Member since: 8/30/08
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/13 7:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
radollrose said...
I love this!! Great job with all the details. I'm even more impressed now that I read that you "thrifted" all the pieces for this. Besides your valuable time, a basically free purse!
2/27/13 9:47 AM
slmstyle said...
Great handbag! I love the upcycled leather details mixed with corduroy. Makes it a casual luxury bag. Nice work!
2/24/13 0:04 AM
GwenH said...
This is a standout! The leather and corduroy mix is inspired. Looks much more stylish than any of the pattern pictures.
2/18/13 11:02 AM
butterflyfly said...
What a lovely bag! That's a great idea to recycled thrifted items..There are a lot of leather jackets in local charity shops - now I know what I could do with them :)
2/16/13 8:03 PM
Margaret said...
Great-looking bag! Love the leather accents. I'm glad piecing the handle worked out.
2/16/13 10:19 AM
Sewncooknmom said...
Absolutely awesome! I love your bag. The pleats. The corduroy. Everything is wonderful about your bag. Now I want to make this pattern. Thank you for the very good review.
2/16/13 2:59 AM
Aroura said...
Thank you for the wonderful review, your bag turned out marvelously! Very RTW and stylish. That you used so many thrift items makes it that much more awesome. Great job!
2/15/13 10:42 PM
katlew03 said...
Love the combination of corduroy and leather, as well as the colors.
2/13/13 9:25 PM
biochemistress said...
Nice! I love that you recycled leather; so many people are afraid of it. You also did a great job adding the extra details. Thanks for the thorough review!
2/13/13 7:16 PM
charid dawn said...
I'm going to have to do this.
2/12/13 8:32 PM
HDWen said...
Amazingly thorough review and so many extra's you put into this. Love all the thought to cut apart a Coat and make this stunning purse from -- the extra closure is such a great detail. Thanks
2/12/13 10:38 AM
BJ1400 said...
Great bag and love that it was made from recycled items.
2/12/13 9:13 AM
Renren said...
Very nice. The leather accents and the lining really make this a great bag.
2/11/13 9:16 PM
jannw said...
Great!! The corderoy looks so good in a bag..wht a good idea ..and I love the leather accents!!
2/11/13 9:07 PM
treefrog said...
The leather accents look great and I love the pleats on the front. Looking forward to seeing the messenger bag.
2/11/13 8:48 PM
sew2006 said...
Thank you for a great detailed review! Love the bag, was amazed to read it came from thrifted items.
2/11/13 8:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 123

photo
by: fourkid

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now