Online Sewing Class: Pattern Work
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Alexi Top (Alexi Top)

Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:PattyE
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PattyEstarstarstarstar
MI United States
Member since: 9/7/10
Reviews: 153 (patterns: 143)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 92 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/13 8:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Irina Grace said... (10/23/15 4:43 PM) Reply
Patty, need your opinion. I am on a lookout for a snaggy turtleneck pattern. Can I make this top from beaded tulle that has little stretch (15%) crosswise. Will I be able to pull it thru my head? Or I need to do some kind of back closure. Thank you a lot. Your turtleneck is beautiful!
PattyE replied...(10/24/15 10:48 AM)
Hi Irina - My opinion is that you would really need to size up and use a back closure too. My size 8 fits perfectly but this fabric has a lot of stretch; I compared it to a silk jersey. If you are familiar with silk jersey you can get an idea of how much stretch that is. You could probably use the pattern as a starting point but would really need to size up to accommodate your fabric. HTH
PattyE said... (2/25/13 11:30 PM) Reply
Thanks all! I think this one's a winner. Jstarr4250 & ArtAttack - isn't that the truth?! Patterns like this are so great to find.
ArtAttack said... (2/25/13 11:59 AM) Reply
Great top and review...super basic addition to your wardrobe...can one ever have too many pieces like this? I think not!
Jstarr4250 said... (2/25/13 11:49 AM) Reply
This is exactly what I need to be sewing...more useful basics. Thanks for ferreting out the good ones!
becca a said... (2/25/13 11:09 AM) Reply
What a great turtleneck! This is such a basic piece, I hadn't thought to order it from StyleArc; now I am very tempted to.
marec said... (2/25/13 9:45 AM) Reply
Thank you for this super review. I have this pattern and need to make up some tops for next year. Your tneck looks very, very nice.
CissieW said... (2/25/13 8:57 AM) Reply
I, too, have been looking for a good t-neck pattern. Thanks for pointing this one out.
SewWil said... (2/25/13 1:26 AM) Reply
Great turtleneck! Thanks for the review.
Lynmarie said... (2/25/13 1:03 AM) Reply
Great top, your looks lovely, thanks for the fabric lay out on 46" width.
SavageCoco said... (2/24/13 11:23 PM) Reply
FAB top! I iron mine on the inside to avoid/reduce any shine.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details