Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: Horrockses (Martha Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 249 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:julliams
photo
About julliamsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/07
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/24/13 9:44 PM
Last Updated:3/1/14 9:25 PM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: Horrockses by julliams

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Batiste  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: "The first in our series is the gorgeous Martha, a sundress perfect for the last days of summer."

Pattern Sizing: I feel the sizing is off in my opinion. There is no size chart but the patterns show 10 - 16. I was a 10 which is much smaller than any other pattern I have normally used. I'm surprised to see that my size is the smallest one offered because I am normally a 14 - 16 in regular patterns and size 12 in RTW (Australia). I now believe that it could be modern UK sizing.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Here is the original dress here and is mine. I think despite the changes to the construction of the pattern, mine looks just like the RTW version.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn't use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pattern given has the side seams way too forward. All the way through the instructions it says that you should make a muslin first and check the fit. I think this is imperative!

Fabric Used: A very soft cotton voile or batiste that was the end of a roll. I could only buy 2.5m of it and I was not sure I was going to get a dress out of it. Turns out I have around a metre left - too easy! I lined it with a 100% organic cotton with a similar weight and feel. It was originally $20 a metre but was on the discounted table reduced to $8 with 50% off that and when I took it to the cutting table there was some sun damage to the first few metres so she gave it to me for $3 p/m and gave me all the damaged bit too. So needless to say, I have plenty of fabric for lining now. The dress is SO soft and lovely to wear.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Well I basically used the look as my inspiration but I changed the individual pieces to the point that I consider it self drafted. I resized each piece completely and lengthened the bodice by over an inch because a high waist looks silly on me. This is quite low waisted and has my belt sitting over the gathers which I like. For the skirt, I simply cut too lengths, 65cm long. One I left as one piece and the other one I cut in half to be the two back pieces. I lined the whole dress as the main fabric is a little sheer and treated the skirt pieces as one when I gathered them.

I also used wider straps and used a light interfacing on them to stop them from wrinkling.

I tried a tip I had read once where you use three lines of gathering stitches instead of two. It made all the difference and the gathering is nearly perfect in my eyes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would sew MY version again yes, but I wouldn't bother with this particular bodice pattern again. It was a good springboard and it got me sewing that day, but I really didn't use the instructions or actual pattern in my end result at all.

Conclusion: A nice idea for a sundress. Very simple to make and could be made in a day and a half from printing of the pattern, muslining to the finished product. I really like this dress and plan to wear it often.

I just had to add to this review - this dress has become my go to dress. It seems to fit me really well, the straps sit exactly over my bra straps and it's just so soft and comfortable. I get comments on it often, people thinking that it's vintage etc. I think I threw out my original pattern pieces but I may just go ahead and make a pattern out of the dress itself as it's such a good fit and easy dress to wear. I highly recommend taking the time to get a good fit - it makes for a garment that gets plenty of love and wear!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Just lovely! Flattering and feminine...
2/24/13 10:50 PM
Quickie said...
And now....Sun... to have reasons to put on this lovely dress
2/25/13 5:18 AM
caper81 said...
Very lovely indeed! Bring on summer :)
2/25/13 3:48 PM
MissParayim said...
So pretty! I like your fabric choice better than the original.
2/25/13 3:52 PM
trishapatk said...
What a lovely dress to have for the hot weather. You did a very good job copying your inspiration garment, it seems like a good one to make in different colors, either solids or prints. Well done!
3/10/13 1:27 PM
ElizabethDee said...
So pretty! Love your fabric -- and admire your fitting skills.
3/11/13 12:22 PM
TammyMJZ said...
This is such a cute dress!
3/1/14 11:32 PM
KamiSue2 said...
It's really is lovely. I know every commenter said that, but it just sums up the dress perfectly. Great job.
3/2/14 0:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us