Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2013-110 (Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 475 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:ManiMayor
photo
About ManiMayorstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 10/5/09
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/13 5:52 PM
Last Updated:2/28/13 5:53 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW!! It looks amazing and I actually prefer your fabric color to the inspiration
2/28/13 6:50 PM
velosewer said...
I agree that the colour you've used is a much better version that CK's. What a wonderful dress.
2/28/13 7:07 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dress, love the pleating detail! Great job on knocking off the designer dress and using a Burda pattern to do it.
2/28/13 8:49 PM
norie creates said...
Beautiful knockoff! Love the pleating detail!
2/28/13 9:07 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice! I love your version :)
2/28/13 9:56 PM
Terri A said...
I like your additions and changes as well...
2/28/13 9:57 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful dress! Great job and I agree with others on the color!
2/28/13 10:20 PM
Quickie said...
Wow, good job
3/1/13 9:47 AM
arianamaniacs said...
what a great dress, what a lot of work with those pleats! I did that once with a skirt and thought never again! :-D you look fab!
3/1/13 12:31 PM
magpie57 said...
What a great KO! Wish I could see the pattern you used to see how you changed it. Did you make each pleat! WOW, what patience you have.
3/1/13 4:30 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Well done! Your hard work with the pleats certainly shows. What a special dress.
3/2/13 8:23 AM
ManiMayor said...
Thank you ladies for your kind comments! In reply to magpie57 you can see the line drawing of the Burda pattern I used by clicking on the link that says "More Info provided by ManiMayor", just below the project thumbnail. I'm afraid that I don't know how to make it display the line drawing instead of just showing the link.
3/4/13 3:41 PM
magpie57 said...
Thank you ManiMayor. The pleating board is a great idea too! Fantastic knock off and review. Enjy your beautiful dress!
3/4/13 4:43 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fantastic knock=off!
3/7/13 10:25 AM
KathleenS said...
It's amazing that you did the pleating yourself, and that you created this dress so quickly!
3/9/13 6:13 AM
trishapatk said...
Excellent work! You went all out with those pleats and did a fantastic job of it all. I'm very impressed and inspired.
3/10/13 1:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Liberty Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 3/24/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains PL000001
photo
Review by sfshaza on 1/26/11
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us