Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4070 thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 358 times 34 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/13 11:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
geraldine said...
I can't believe you painted the fabric yourself- awesome!
3/1/13 2:52 AM
aleah42 said...
Wow, amazing job making your own perfect textile! You nailed this look!
3/1/13 3:16 AM
jlg said...
What a fantastic dress. Even more fantastic when I read how you made it.
3/1/13 5:27 AM
Amiejean said...
Wow, I am impressed. I would never thought to paint fabric like you did. You managed to copy and yet be creative at the same time. I like your fabric better. And you look very cute in it. I don't think it looks like you've made mistakes. Great job!
3/1/13 5:32 AM
KathleenS said...
Wow, you painted the fabric yourself! It makes sense - I hadn't got as far as wondering how you managed to get a fabric that was so similar. The dress fits you really well and it certainly doesn't look like it gave you trouble.
3/1/13 5:34 AM
annakeeton said...
This is a gorgeous dress and the hand painting looks amazing.
3/1/13 6:48 AM
caper81 said...
That is really awesome! I too was wondering (before reading your review) how you managed to find fabric so similar to the inspiration dress. I love the style, and you sure did a fantastic job at painting your fabric. :)
3/1/13 7:49 AM
Quickie said...
Absolutely fantastic idea to paint your own fabric
3/1/13 9:36 AM
slmstyle said...
Great knockoff of Valentino! The painted fabric is really wonderfully done. I love it!
3/1/13 11:11 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
You did a fabulous job on this project!
3/1/13 11:25 AM
colormefun said...
Thanks! I added a little section detailing more about the painting in case anyone was curious and wanted to try it themselves.
3/1/13 12:29 PM
Terri A said...
It's simply amazing that you painted the fabric. Perfect summery dress!!!
3/1/13 2:35 PM
magpie57 said...
What a great little dress! Every once in a while we should all do something totally out of our comfort zone and this seems to have done that for you. Great job with the painting, I never would have guessed that the fabric did not come just that way. And it looks adorable on you!
3/1/13 3:35 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love that you hand painted it! Nice to know that you won't meet anyone on the street wearing your same dress :D
3/1/13 5:49 PM
butterflyfly said...
Wow! I never thought anybody would recreate this dress (the fabric!) That's so clever of you to paint the fabric! Great knock off!
3/1/13 5:57 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a clever idea! Bonus points for creativity. A beautiful dress.
3/1/13 9:55 PM
karen n said...
I was wondering how you found fabric like that! Great idea to paint!
3/2/13 0:14 AM
carrie18584 said...
The fabric is simply stunning - amazing job! Your knock-off is spot-on! I love it and want one!
3/6/13 10:00 AM
sooolution said...
Cool!
3/8/13 9:50 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Very Cute! How clever of you!!
5/9/13 3:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-112
photo
Review by sandramary on 9/5/09
Read Review

New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used crate cover crate cover
photo
Review by raymondmom on 2/15/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us