SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4070 

43 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 384 times 
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo

 
 
About colormefunstar
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/13 11:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dreamdesigner said...
Very Cute! How clever of you!!
5/9/13 3:57 PM
sooolution said...
Cool!
3/8/13 9:50 AM
carrie18584 said...
The fabric is simply stunning - amazing job! Your knock-off is spot-on! I love it and want one!
3/6/13 10:00 AM
karen n said...
I was wondering how you found fabric like that! Great idea to paint!
3/2/13 0:14 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a clever idea! Bonus points for creativity. A beautiful dress.
3/1/13 9:55 PM
butterflyfly said...
Wow! I never thought anybody would recreate this dress (the fabric!) That's so clever of you to paint the fabric! Great knock off!
3/1/13 5:57 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love that you hand painted it! Nice to know that you won't meet anyone on the street wearing your same dress :D
3/1/13 5:49 PM
magpie57 said...
What a great little dress! Every once in a while we should all do something totally out of our comfort zone and this seems to have done that for you. Great job with the painting, I never would have guessed that the fabric did not come just that way. And it looks adorable on you!
3/1/13 3:35 PM
Terri A said...
It's simply amazing that you painted the fabric. Perfect summery dress!!!
3/1/13 2:35 PM
colormefun said...
Thanks! I added a little section detailing more about the painting in case anyone was curious and wanted to try it themselves.
3/1/13 12:29 PM
materialgirl1950 said...
You did a fabulous job on this project!
3/1/13 11:25 AM
slmstyle said...
Great knockoff of Valentino! The painted fabric is really wonderfully done. I love it!
3/1/13 11:11 AM
Quickie said...
Absolutely fantastic idea to paint your own fabric
3/1/13 9:36 AM
caper81 said...
That is really awesome! I too was wondering (before reading your review) how you managed to find fabric so similar to the inspiration dress. I love the style, and you sure did a fantastic job at painting your fabric. :)
3/1/13 7:49 AM
annakeeton said...
This is a gorgeous dress and the hand painting looks amazing.
3/1/13 6:48 AM
KathleenS said...
Wow, you painted the fabric yourself! It makes sense - I hadn't got as far as wondering how you managed to get a fabric that was so similar. The dress fits you really well and it certainly doesn't look like it gave you trouble.
3/1/13 5:34 AM
Amiejean said...
Wow, I am impressed. I would never thought to paint fabric like you did. You managed to copy and yet be creative at the same time. I like your fabric better. And you look very cute in it. I don't think it looks like you've made mistakes. Great job!
3/1/13 5:32 AM
jlg said...
What a fantastic dress. Even more fantastic when I read how you made it.
3/1/13 5:27 AM
aleah42 said...
Wow, amazing job making your own perfect textile! You nailed this look!
3/1/13 3:16 AM
geraldine said...
I can't believe you painted the fabric yourself- awesome!
3/1/13 2:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Folkwear 209

photo
by: patternadd...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

More Info
Kwik Sew 2759

photo
by: LiZ

Review