Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5804 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Top) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 570 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:BlueSkysAhead
photo
About BlueSkysAhead
PA USA
Member since: 6/12/10
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/13 4:02 PM
Last Updated:3/10/13 9:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
Good work on the multi tasking - painting and sewing. I like your top, especially those open darts, tucks or whatever they are called. Nice colour too - Good job. I see what you mean about the pouffy sleeves - they look nice though.
3/9/13 2:08 AM
Quickie said...
It's a nice blouse (I love the colour)and beautiful on you and you've met all the issues of this contest.
3/9/13 5:11 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Thank you ChristmasHills, and Quickie. The pattern just said make the tucks, I'm not sure if that is the the correct term for them or not.
3/9/13 9:27 AM
Renren said...
Nice blouse, BlueSkysAhead. Looks like good, even spacing on the buttons/buttonholes. I think a quilting cotton would exaggerate the pouffiness of the sleeves whereas something drapier would look more like the photo. It is a nice blouse and I can see why you are glad to add it to your wardrobe. (And if those lines for 6-22 are all on the same pattern pieces, yep, that's a lot of lines!)
3/9/13 2:10 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Renren, thank you for the information. Maybe I will try a lighter weight cotton with this pattern. I just pulled the pattern and YES all the sizes are together.
3/9/13 3:15 PM
Sarah Liz said...
Hi, I think your top is quite fitted enough for this contest - I quite understand how you feel about not wanting to change it in case you ruin it. Its lovely.
3/10/13 0:09 AM
KathleenS said...
Nice blouse. I actually like the sleeves - they're a detail that's a bit different from the standard shirt, as is the collar and the tucks rather than darts. I think it's quite fitted enough. Is there any chance someone else could take some photos for you, so that you can properly show off the fit (and the back too) for the contest? It's a bit unfair to you that there are wrinkles from holding the camera up. (I agree with Renren that a lighter weight fabric would probably lie flatter in the sleeves).
3/10/13 5:47 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Sara Liz, thank you for your comments. KathleenS I thought about trying to get better photos. I will see if I can get some. And thank you both.
3/10/13 8:20 PM
Donel said...
Super cute top! Thanks for the review.
3/10/13 10:41 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
thank you Donel
3/10/13 10:48 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the extra photos. I think maybe the tucks need to extend further up at the back. It looks like you have a lot of extra fabric in that area. But I'm used to fitting with darts, and I expect it's a bit different (and I'm not an expert anyway).
3/11/13 4:55 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
thanks KathleenS. I thought that while I was making it. Then when I was finished I had thought the sleeves took the extra fabric away. From the pictures it appears there is still some extra fabric.
3/11/13 9:40 AM
velosewer said...
Cute blouse. It's the fit that makes it work.
3/12/13 0:19 AM
Bobbie Giam said...
Love your blouse. It does look like the top of the sleeve is too far away from the tip of your shoulder. Could you do a slight re-work on the length of your shoulder out to the very top of your shoulder? I would measure from the neckline (where a chain might lay against your neck) out to the tip of your shoulder where the joint is. Also use a softer cotton. Other than that your bouse is very nice.
3/19/13 7:27 PM
Bobbie Giam said...
I forgot to say thanks for sharing. ggg
3/19/13 7:29 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Thank you for the comments velosewer and Bobbie Giam. I think I understand what you are saying Bobbie Giam, there is too much fabric between the collar and the sleeve? I will try that next time I use this pattern. Thanks for the help!
3/29/13 9:47 PM
Sunnie49 said...
I get the same kind of fit and instructions issues with Butterick patterns that you write about in your review. Vintage or current patterns-doesn't matter, so I'm not sure what the problem is. It took me forever to do the front facing on B5678, for example, and although I measured and cut carefully, and fitted as I sewed it still fits a lot looser than the pattern illustration. I tend to go with Simplicity and Vogue patterns now because they don't take a lot of alteration to get a great fit, and the instructions are a lot easier to follow. Still, even with the fitting issues you cite, your blouse looks great on you:)
4/9/13 11:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Other Accessory Wardrobe 2010
photo
Review by christinas... on 9/30/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5677
photo
Review by nicegirl on 12/20/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us