SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> 05-2013-Bias Pants (Bias Pants)

Viewed 545 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/13 5:20 PM
Last Updated:3/25/13 4:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
Amazing job, both the draft and the fit. They look great.
3/11/13 5:39 PM
SavageCoco said...
They look great but, ooh, the math anxiety would have sent me searching for some Xanax!
3/11/13 5:46 PM
moushka said...
Your pants look terrific. Kudos for toughing out three muslins! These intrigued me, too, so I might take a chance. Thanks for sharing your challenges and final triumph with the pattern.
3/11/13 10:07 PM
marthamyers said...
I am anxious to try these pants. Thanks for the very detailed review and description of your muslins.
3/11/13 10:10 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I agree. They look fabulous!
3/11/13 11:16 PM
Annie P said...
Thanks for the review. They look good. When I read the Threads mag I thought they might be fun to try--now it seems like too much work!
3/12/13 0:40 AM
Karla Kizer said...
They look lovely, and your determination is admirable. I think I'd have given up, slipped into a pair of old sweat pants and sulked.
3/12/13 6:57 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great job! I admire your tenacity!
3/12/13 9:57 AM
becca a said...
Your patience really paid off--these fit great! What an interesting idea to use bias rectangles to make pants--thanks for the review.
3/12/13 11:05 AM
miausiau said...
This bias strip idea also works well when you need a turtleneck or sleeve cuff and fabric is getting scarce. I think the Threads directions make it more complicated than necessary but it is a good concept to employ in your creative projects.
3/12/13 12:23 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Wow, you did it. They look wonderful. Thank you for letting us know about your process. Your review is very thorough and much appreciated.
3/12/13 1:26 PM
Wianno Girl said...
I too read the article and it didn't make sense to me so now I have hope if I just start the fabric in hand will make all clear. your "try and try again" attitude is very admirable; the results look great. thanks for a thorough review!
3/19/13 10:59 PM
Fabric Hog said...
I looked at the article and decide that the math was too much for my busy schedule right now and put it on the shelf with other projects that are waiting. Your review is excellent and has inspired me to take another look. I love the piping on the denim.
3/25/13 4:46 PM
velosewer said...
Thank you for making this and especially for working it out. They do look interesting and I've been pondering this since reading about it.
3/25/13 6:12 PM
gsp1066 said...
Could the length difference come from the difference between left bias and right bias? They are not the same, especially in a twill weave like denim.
3/26/13 2:53 AM
mlsews said...
very cool, I was just looking at this article. I think I need to try them, they look so comfy.
3/28/13 4:21 AM
RMJ said...
gsp1066, I think you may have found the explanation for the length difference. Because of the way the tubes are made, one is a mirror image of the other, as you can tell from the light blue trim, and I can see that the denim grain vs an imaginary floor to waist line is very different.
3/30/13 9:02 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, so cool. Great job! I didn't even notice the difference on the denim version until you pointed it out.
7/20/13 4:57 PM
seweibhlin said...
These bias pants have always intrigued me since the Threads article came out. I was hoping for a review. This is a great help thanks.
7/21/13 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

StyleArc Ada Knit Top

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now