SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7063 

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:BetsyV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BetsyVstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/05
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/13 4:19 PM
Last Updated:3/30/13 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
fabulous shirt, Betsy. You did a great job matching stripes, and I love the chevron collar. Beautiful fabric.
4/2/13 7:57 AM
Sarah Liz said...
That is a very smart blouse - beautifully made with great attention to detail. I like the front placket, it looks very streamlined.
4/1/13 5:50 AM
Kbenco said...
A very smart looking blouse. I like your attention to detail with the stripe matching at the collar chevrons, beautifully sewn.
3/31/13 10:41 PM
BJ1400 said...
Excellent job. Such a nice looking blouse.
3/31/13 8:49 AM
BetsyV said...
KathleenS: I refer to David Coffin's Shirtmaking book when I make any shirt. He has placket patterns in the book, full size, that are traceable. He has a reference line on the pattern to match stripes, but I realized that the slash line lines up with the peak of the tower, so I used that. I cut the plackets when I get ready to put them on the sleeves and do the cuff pleating, not when I cut the rest of the shirt pieces. You can cut them on the bias, too, which eliminates needing to match the stripe.
3/31/13 8:03 AM
KathleenS said...
Smart, very useful-looking shirt. I like the little details you added to the cuff and the collar. I've been wondering (and it certainly looks like you know the answer!) how to match a placket to the sleeve. Do you just match the outer pointed section and then the inside may or may not match, depending on the stripe spacing? Or do you adapt the placket pattern to make the inside part match too?
3/31/13 4:19 AM
Quickie said...
Lovely
3/31/13 3:49 AM
velosewer said...
Such a classically tailored blouse. I agree - perfectly sewn.
3/31/13 3:32 AM
PattyE said...
Great blouse...perfectly sewn!
3/30/13 6:16 PM
Sharonspils said...
Very smart blouse.
3/30/13 5:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now