SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 235056-1005 (Reflections)

Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest
Viewed 209 times 
Reviewed by:Quickie
photo

 
 
About Quickiestar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 10/8/10
Reviews written: 66
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/13 11:15 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
I make a blouse with buttonholes roomser than the bodice of a dress, but the place of the buttonholes is also important . I place one exactly on the bustier and than devide the otters around that
4/15/13 3:15 PM
KathySews said...
Great blouse. I love the fabric as well as your fit. I bet you wear this one a lot. You are inspiring me to attempt a fitted blouse (I am afraid of that dreaded buttonhole gapping at the bustline)
4/6/13 9:09 AM
WhatSew said...
Lovely blouse. I agree with others - your fabric choice and fitting/alteration made are great.
4/1/13 1:09 PM
KathleenS said...
It's a pretty fabric and I think you did it justice with your design. You certainly seem to know how to get the right fit for your figure. Well done.
3/31/13 4:40 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a cool looking top, Quickie!
3/29/13 10:42 PM
Sarah Liz said...
A good job indeed - never easy to get a good fit, but once you have you will go back to it time and again. The fabric looks nice on you.
3/28/13 5:19 AM
Quickie said...
Thank you all very much. When I suspect my fabric for not being very strong I begin my sewing with a scrap piece to find out Which kind of sewing will be the best. I really try to tear it apart, and I'm content only when I've found a method that prevents from making holes , or even tearing things apart
3/24/13 5:46 PM
wendyrb said...
Really well done classic in a lovely print. Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. Your success in fitting is the jolt I need to push on with a fitted-blouse impasse.
3/24/13 4:50 PM
Mufffet said...
Such nice fitting, and the shirt is really a nice basic pattern you can use a lot! Thanks for the review!
3/24/13 10:23 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely blouse and I agree about the fabric being reminiscent of reflections in water. Lots of good tips in your review too. Good luck in the contest.
3/24/13 2:25 AM
katlew03 said...
Nice blouse, great fit.
3/23/13 10:17 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice blouse and fit! Good review.
3/23/13 2:40 PM
Renren said...
You did a great job getting a perfect fit. Thanks for your observations about darts and the curved back seam and how that means you don't have to curve as much at the side seams. Also thanks for mentioning how you use topstitching because of the delicacy of the cotton voile. I suppose the topstitching helps to strengthen these potential stress points. This is a lovely, lovely top. If I had the ability to draft and sew such a top, there would be several in my closet. Job well done!
3/23/13 11:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 5752

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now