SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5889 (One-hour pull-on pants)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/13 8:38 PM
Last Updated:6/24/13 6:03 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


  McCall's: 5889 by FreyaStark  McCall's: 5889 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendyrb said...
You definitely nailed the harem pant look without any common mishaps! Simple on-seam pockets- goodness knows, required. I like the way you styled with the golden shirt and the shawl. The fabric . . . love paisley too and the colors, but hmmmm . . . What a great idea- The Horrible Fabric Contest. I could give you some competition there! Make these pants again, different fabric and I bet you'll love'em.
4/19/13 0:31 AM
Stargirl7 said...
I actually rather like this fabric. It seems to want to travel with you to foreign parts. Plus it will look rather nice with a camel. Nicely done!
4/19/13 0:45 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Also perfect for complementing desert sands. I have this pattern so will be very careful of length and add 8 inches instead of my usual 4 or 5. thanks for the warning,
4/19/13 3:52 AM
Mufffet said...
Love 'em. Great color as well. Safari pants for sure.
4/19/13 11:30 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Fun idea for next year's contests... I hope your idea sticks. I have a few l o v e l y selections... I like the print and colors... IF the length bothers you, I think sheer double fold of something like a sheer knit - a 'see thru' band added to the bottom would be visually interesting and 'solve' the length issue.
4/19/13 8:06 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice. I like the fabric! You could add a solid cuff to the bottom if the length bothers you, but I thought they looked fine as is. I love your styling.
4/19/13 8:30 PM
Dilliander said...
I'm with the others, I like them and the Liberty cotton will make them feel fabulous too.
4/20/13 0:20 AM
gsp1066 said...
They look great--just the right amount of fullness. Have fun on your trip.
4/20/13 10:23 AM
rivergum said...
The fabric looks lovely on my screen and kudos to you for venturing into harem pants, they are right on trend.
5/1/13 1:19 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice -- I love the paisley and I think it looks great with the gold shirt.
5/14/13 5:33 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Well, the print doesn't seem so bad from a distance! What kind of treats do camels get then? LOL
6/24/13 5:54 AM
Renren said...
Really nice pants in a great fabric. Keep them both! As my elastic-waist pants begin to age due to wear I find they are perfect as gardening/yard pants.
6/24/13 9:39 AM
carolynw said...
Love both these pants and until now I would have said I would never, ever like pants made out of a print so thanks for converting me. Great for desert travel - will blend in so well you might get lost which would not be good. I have some fabric for that contest!!
6/24/13 4:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now