Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2010-137 (Shirtwaist Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Pattern Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 230 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:dillyo
photo
About dillyostar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 4/5/07
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/13 5:45 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
Really good looking dress. I love the red buttons!
4/23/13 6:29 AM
Skirler said...
Wonderful dress!
4/23/13 8:53 AM
Quickie said...
Elegant dress
4/23/13 9:27 AM
Re Becca said...
Love the fabric choice and the buttons. I am sure it took some time but it totally makes the dress! It looks perfect for summer to me.
4/23/13 12:38 PM
lbreton said...
I've got shirtdress fever, too. I just want to make them all. I'm working on Gertie's pattern right now but I have such a line up. :)
5/13/13 9:15 AM
bananaoil said...
I'm a sucker for this style of dress and yours is attractive. Seeing yours makes me want to try one again though I too have been put off by the "waitress" effect since I chose an aqua with red cherries print and made the lapels and collar contrast in red. Nuh-uh. Don't try that one either. I do think fabric choice is the key though, also "station in life". At some age, looking nursey/waitressy is kind of cute/ ironic. At another ~sigh~ not so much. Lastly, think about this: waitresses and nurses no longer dress this way! So when the temperature shoots up, rock your cool seersucker.
6/4/13 8:59 AM
bananaoil said...

6/4/13 9:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 2429 A-line Dress
photo
Review by ladybegood on 1/21/08
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by SueV on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us