Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5789 (Misses' Vest and Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 218 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo
Friend of PR
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 1:45 PM
Last Updated:5/14/13 1:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Confused said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself and the vest. When I looked at the rear view, my first thought was that, if it were my garment, I'd put it on wrong side out and just pin some side seams into it to take up those huge armholes and give it some shape.
5/14/13 3:39 PM
Renren said...
Cuter than you think it is! Remember that most of the Big 4 patterns have too much ease for most people! You did quite well with this knit.
5/15/13 0:32 AM
jannw said...
Those are very large armsholes..but the back and the front look a lot better on you than you think!! You might try the sleeved version to see if you like it better...
5/15/13 1:44 AM
marec said...
OH damn, you must have been disappointed. But your humor shines through. How about adding in the seams, and then dyeing it?
5/15/13 9:38 AM
cerulean said...
Good going, HD!!!! Great job with your knit project!!! It looks really good! I get frustrated when patterns run so big, too! It may look different with different colored tops.
5/15/13 11:22 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry to hear this didn't come out how you would've liked. (Sometimes I think when that happens, it's for the best if you end up with something you're really SURE you don't like, so you don't end up sinking more time into it or other versions of it.) It does look like you did nice work sewing it, but I hope you find something that you love for the silk!
5/18/13 5:54 PM
HDWen said...
Thank you all - Well it is good to know to still hold off cutting into my silk until some a bit more fitting comes long :-) yes my 1st Knit whoo hoo tackled a fear
5/19/13 6:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by mnitts on 11/8/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1194
photo
Review by TheaBerlin on 6/10/10
Read Review

McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us