Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5789 (Misses' Vest and Jacket)

11 more reviews
Viewed 291 times 
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo

 
 
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews: 55 (patterns: 54)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/13 1:45 PM
Last Updated:5/14/13 1:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyn Roth said... (11/9/14 6:04 PM) Reply
can you explain step # 2. I don't understand it either
HDWen said... (5/19/13 6:27 PM) Reply
Thank you all - Well it is good to know to still hold off cutting into my silk until some a bit more fitting comes long :-) yes my 1st Knit whoo hoo tackled a fear
Margaret said... (5/18/13 5:54 PM) Reply
Sorry to hear this didn't come out how you would've liked. (Sometimes I think when that happens, it's for the best if you end up with something you're really SURE you don't like, so you don't end up sinking more time into it or other versions of it.) It does look like you did nice work sewing it, but I hope you find something that you love for the silk!
cerulean said... (5/15/13 11:22 PM) Reply
Good going, HD!!!! Great job with your knit project!!! It looks really good! I get frustrated when patterns run so big, too! It may look different with different colored tops.
marec said... (5/15/13 9:38 AM) Reply
OH damn, you must have been disappointed. But your humor shines through. How about adding in the seams, and then dyeing it?
jannw said... (5/15/13 1:44 AM) Reply
Those are very large armsholes..but the back and the front look a lot better on you than you think!! You might try the sleeved version to see if you like it better...
renren said... (5/15/13 0:32 AM) Reply
Cuter than you think it is! Remember that most of the Big 4 patterns have too much ease for most people! You did quite well with this knit.
Sew Confused said... (5/14/13 3:39 PM) Reply
I think you're being too hard on yourself and the vest. When I looked at the rear view, my first thought was that, if it were my garment, I'd put it on wrong side out and just pin some side seams into it to take up those huge armholes and give it some shape.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 235056-1008

photo
by: Quickie

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Pattern Details