SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2207 (Misses' Steampunk Costume)

Viewed 211 times 
Reviewed by:sarah0725
photo

 
 
About sarah0725
DE USA
Member since: 4/1/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/13 10:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
svetlana said...
I love the whole outfit. I agree with you about the zigzag hem. When I do a costume, my decision on hemmingdepends on where it is going be worn and how often. For costumes that will be seen up close anda long personal or be worn for longer periods get a real hem. Long skirts for high school musical may get a serged hem or a quick stitch witchery.
5/18/13 7:12 AM
frame said...
Unfortunately your photo is too small to appreciate your outfit. Clicking on the photo takes you to someplace that isn't actually your picture. Don't understand how that works. :/ Edited: I tried again and this time I was taken to a picture of your skirt. :)
5/18/13 12:04 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for doing the first review of this pattern. I hope you'll review the other pieces too if you end up making them. I'm looking for a steampunk costume at the moment, but I'm leaning towards 2172. This one I mainly want the clock face accessory!
5/19/13 6:54 AM
Rosalaya said...
Cool
5/19/13 10:44 AM
Barbie said...
I also agree about the hem. I mean, it's a great looking skirt that could get a lot of use, so a "real" hem seems most appropriate. Zig zagging is tacky looking, at least in the eyes of sewers. I went to DisneyWorld's Not So Scary Halloween this year and while I had a great huge feathered hat and makeup, didn't do a full costume. I think we'll be going back next year [family lives 10 miles from the park, so…] and I want a good costume. Steam punk might just do it for me… it's sort of period, but with imaginative touches that don't require particular authenticity. I like the jacket too, so may make it and the bustle.
11/5/13 9:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6111

photo
by: ryan's mom

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now