Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2451 (Misses' Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 419 times 67 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Lavenderblonde
photo
About Lavenderblonde
Member since: 10/14/12
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/19/13 10:04 AM
Last Updated:10/30/13 9:43 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2451
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by Lavenderblonde

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link

MORE PHOTOS HERE!

Pattern Description:
Misses' skirt sewing patterns, each in two lengths. Easy to Sew Collection.
Pattern Sizing:
The measurements said I should have been an 18 but I'm only a 12 Australian which is about an 8 American - so I tried to average it out (teamed with the fact that other reviewers have said it's quite loose) and cut a US 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Absolutely! Just like it

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Very easy to follow instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The envelope says you need a 7" zipper so that's what I bought - only it was about an inch 2 short when sewn in. When I moved the seam up it wouldn't get up over my bum, so I lowered it again hoping that when I applied the yoke facing it would balance it out but there was still about a 1" gap at the top. Next time I will need to use an 8 inch zip. I tried to hide this creatively by adding some ribbon to the back and making a bow I don't mind if it's a bit quirky. I like that.
Fabric Used:
A bright floral printed quilting cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added a lining. Never done one before and just winged it. Worked pretty well. I wear all my skirts over tights or stockings and didn't want the cotton to catch.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely!!

Conclusion:
It's a great fit and I really love it. I can see myself making may more Using an 8" zipper next time though...

See the photos from start to finish HERE on my blog!
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bestyears said...
I just made this up too -in the mid-length version. You reminded me that I should post a review. Thought it went together really well too.
5/19/13 12:36 PM
madbadger said...
Thanks for the detailed review - especially on the sizing! Love the print you selected and how you finished the back (even if it was an emergency lol) - really nice!
5/19/13 2:38 PM
NEMDF said...
The fabric you used is beautiful, and I appreciate the detailed review. I am trying ot encourage my daugther to sew, and think your review might be helpful to show her a pretty simple project for turning out a wearable garment. Thanks!
10/30/13 12:24 PM
RachelKennison said...
Cute! I have this pattern, I should pull it out! Thanks for the info on the zipper length!
10/30/13 1:07 PM
Chempac said...
Such a beautiful skirt! This pattern goes on my wish list.
11/5/13 8:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6744
photo
Review by nicegirl on 10/18/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by redcleo on 7/16/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us