SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8894 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 660 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
Friend of PR

About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews: 155 (patterns: 151)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 208 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/13 11:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Shari7 said... (7/4/14 11:09 AM) Reply
So glad I looked at your review before starting my own dress! Yours is beautiful and I really appreciate your thorough review. I too was looking for a casual dress. I'll definitely be modifying the bodice so it's not so low-cut. I like the View B hem as shown on the pattern envelope but I think I'm going to use a straight hem instead based on your dress.
Margaret said... (6/5/13 4:50 AM) Reply
Wonderful summery dress. I love the stripes. Great idea adding the belt too.
Cheryl in Chicago said... (5/21/13 9:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for the tips. Sounds like we have similar size and fitting tasks. I was just getting ready to cut a muslin to understand how close, close fitting really is. Thanks for your review
FreyaStark said... (5/21/13 3:49 AM) Reply
A lovely cool-looking dress, just the thing for a hot summer. I love the fabric.
Re Becca said... (5/20/13 3:06 PM) Reply
Wow, that looks so perfect for summer. I'm totally jealous of that fabric.
Barbara V said... (5/20/13 9:30 AM) Reply
Hi Annette! What pretty linen for this cute summer dress. I really like that band with horizontal stripe to give an interesting contrast to the design. Enjoy wearing it in these warm and hot months to come.
Christas said... (5/20/13 8:46 AM) Reply
What an excellent review! Looks like you have a new, pretty dress WITH SLEEVES! It looks great on you. I agree that it definitely isn't close fitting (like the pattern said), but it looks very nice on you and will be great to wear to keep cool in the Nebraska heat.
Renata said... (5/20/13 8:17 AM) Reply
Looks great on you and I love the fabric too.
HRigg said... (5/20/13 3:53 AM) Reply
Nice easy dress to wear. Lovely.
Athene said... (5/20/13 3:44 AM) Reply
A great dress. Just looking at your picture makes me think of walking on the beach enjoying a summer breeze.
ArtAttack said... (5/20/13 2:33 AM) Reply
Agree with marec...and the fabric is gorgeous!
marec said... (5/20/13 1:22 AM) Reply
Annette, this is such a beautifully casual look. I am also in utter envy of that linen. Really cool dress.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

StyleArc Slip-on Suzie

by: Couturemum

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Pattern Details