Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2013-107 (Cardigan) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Natural Fabrics Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 495 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/13 5:33 AM
Last Updated:6/4/13 5:47 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
Beautiful cardi! Love it!
5/30/13 6:47 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous cardiga
5/30/13 8:07 AM
grays08 said...
So thrilled you saw the reviews and allocated more in the sides. This is fabulous, and I really appreciate your tip about decreasing the SA on the bands as it's something I hadn't thought about. I usually use a smaller SA for knits but on this one, I had made everything 5/8".....I will definitely use a smaller one on the bands next time as it is a PITA! Thanks for a great review!
5/30/13 8:14 AM
sunflower2306 said...
Stunning cardigan! Love the gathers!
5/30/13 8:38 AM
Janiki said...
Thanks for the review. I'm always very grateful for reviews which let me know about the sizing, and since I need a 42 with Burda too I will certainly heed your advice. The fabric and the colour looks perfect for this pattern.
5/30/13 9:14 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great cardi! Love the blue buttons...really cute and NO frumpy going on here!
5/30/13 9:31 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Nice cardigan! That issue has some good stuff in it, I bought it in part because of this pattern. You did a great job on it, it looked hard to me but your result looks very professional
5/30/13 10:22 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Very cute! The photos do an excellent job of showing all the nice details.
5/30/13 10:54 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous cardy, I really want to make this too!
5/30/13 11:36 AM
Jessica Dean said...
What a great cardi! Love it. :)
5/30/13 12:00 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Those gathers look great as well as your sassy contrasting buttons!
5/30/13 2:34 PM
MNBarb said...
I've been tempted with this cardigan and your merino wool may have tipped me over the edge.
5/30/13 3:24 PM
Levone said...
Love your version of this! Thanks for all of the tips especially to make a larger size or increase the side seams. I'm definitely putting this one on my list to sew now!
5/30/13 6:24 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is simply beautiful. It was my favorite pattern from that issue and I'm looking forward to making it. Thanks for all the great pointers.
5/31/13 0:39 AM
velosewer said...
It's gorgeous and the buttons are a lovely feature at the band with the gathers. Love this a lot!
5/31/13 3:20 AM
Quickie said...
Lovely cardi. and your review is making me think i should give it a try too.
5/31/13 5:27 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This cardigan is one of the main reasons I tracked down this individual issue and bought it. I love it! The color is pretty and you did a great job putting it together.
5/31/13 10:07 AM
Jrhee said...
So gorgeous on you!
6/4/13 10:12 AM
Terri A said...
Beautiful cardi on you!
6/7/13 1:17 AM
WhyNotSewIt said...
Looks great! And helpful review! Thanks.
6/12/13 7:57 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful cardigan! Thanks for the great review.
9/21/13 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B
photo
Review by dillyo on 1/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2559
photo
Review by cegehin on 10/31/12
Read Review

New Look 6932 Pattern
New Look 6932 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us