SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2013-102 (Pleated Flowing Gatsby Dress)

Review submitted in Natural Fabrics Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 565 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/13 9:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
This is awesome on you. well done for placing in the contest.
6/10/13 10:14 AM
ChristineX said...
Whoa, brilliant take on that dress!!!!
6/8/13 1:23 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dress and using one of the buttons from your grandmother's sewing room makes it more special. The pic showing the broken interfacing line at the pleats is helpful.
6/7/13 5:18 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very cute!
6/1/13 10:17 PM
pdiddly said...
great looking dress
6/1/13 5:49 PM
arianamaniacs said...
This is so adorable! I just bought this issue today and was wondering how this dress would look. I love your version!
6/1/13 4:16 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
The dress is beautiful! Love the fabric and the fit is flattering!
5/31/13 11:12 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Excellent job! I love your detailed reviews because they offer so much information for new sewists about stabilizing (which patterns normally neglect). Your badge loop made me laugh out loud! I think it's a great detail and won't compromise your silk over time. The back keyhole is wonderful, and I may have to borrow it ;) I love a little back interest, even if it's just a slightly lowered or shaped neckline, and this is even better
5/31/13 9:56 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful retro/modern dress. You combination of invisible zipper and keyhole at the back is brilliant.
5/31/13 5:24 PM
liliv said...
You rocked it!!
5/31/13 4:15 PM
Jessica Dean said...
Love, love, love the style!!! Beautiful! :D
5/31/13 2:08 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty. What a great review!
5/31/13 1:25 PM
Terri A said...
Beautiful! Every last detail all the way down to the hidden badge loop is just wonderful.
5/31/13 1:08 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is so pretty and looks great on you! You really made many changes which were great improvements for a personalized style and fit. Using your Grandmother's buttons makes it very special.
5/31/13 12:26 PM
Mufffet said...
Very cute and love those sleeves. :)
5/31/13 12:01 PM
j Renee Design said...
Beautiful dress and awesome review!
5/31/13 11:58 AM
grays08 said...
Your changes really make this dress shine IMO, I wasn't a huge fan of this in the mag the way it was but thought it had potential. Very helpful review and love your ideas and adjustments to this - fabulous!
5/31/13 11:22 AM
katlew03 said...
Very impressive dress. The fabric and sleeves are perfect for the style. You do great work but this is at the top of my favorites list.
5/31/13 10:42 AM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
So sweet this dress, and you look adorable in it. I like the added little flouncy sleeves also.
5/31/13 10:38 AM
KathySews said...
Beautiful dress. I enjoyed reading your review. It is like a little sewing lesson.
5/31/13 9:49 AM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty dress! It becomes you.
5/31/13 9:40 AM
SewWil said...
I love the addition of the sleeve. Your dress is very beautiful. Great job!
5/31/13 9:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Folkwear 232

photo
by: patternadd...

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info