Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-103 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 339 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/13 2:01 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
This looks sensational on you! Love it.
9/6/13 4:53 PM
sewingcanary said...
It looks nice. I think the wide shoulder strap works great. If it were narrow, then your shoulders would look big. This way they don't. If you were to take out a wedge from the back centre, tapering out to nothing at the side seam line and add a smidge to the width of the back bodice, I think it would eliminate the pull lines and pucker, making the back lay smoother. In other words, shorten the centre of back of the bodice, but not all the way across. It can be surprising how adding a smidge of width can smooth out wrinkles and pull lines. There's a good chance it would also eliminate the little issue you had about the way the back neckline sits. It's very attractive. If you are comfortable, I say go with it! Just stay away from making the shoulder strap narrower. Cheers!
9/6/13 5:25 PM
21wale said...
Wow, this is really lovely!
9/6/13 9:31 PM
SewLibra said...
This dress looks great and I would love to own it! I also have wide shoulders and rib cage, so I always consider my body type and think about what will look good (or horrible) on me. I probably would have thought this pattern would not work for me, but seeing it on you maybe it could! Thanks for the review.
9/7/13 0:25 AM
Dale C said...
I love the pleat detail on the shoulder. And it looks great on you.
9/7/13 1:53 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I agree- the pleat detail is beautiful and the color is sensational. Sewingcanary sounds very knowledgable with her suggestions. Great idea to use the sari silk on the inside!
9/7/13 8:08 AM
grey ann said...
I think you look so nice in this! Agree with sewingcanary. And I think the pleats on thefront of the skirt wouldhave looked good, too.
9/7/13 9:48 AM
divabuddha said...
I ADORE this shape on you. I will say that I'm a 5'8" broad shouldered girl myself, and I actually tend to favor strapless and asymmetrical necklines. (My mom always tells me the things we don't like are often the best parts...I opt to trust my mom and show off the shoulders). I seem to recall that your duipioni is a rich green. Is that right? I think that dress shape in that color against your skin tone would be smashing.
9/7/13 11:13 AM
usbeckers said...
The dress looks nice. Nice work.
9/7/13 1:00 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks divabuddha! Yes the fabric for my sis-in-law's wedding is a gorgeous olive green dupioni. I opted to make something a bit different than this dress and am waiting for the pics back from the photographer since I didn't get any at the wedding. Hope to post those soon!
9/8/13 12:40 PM
liliv said...
I'm still waiting for the excuse to sew this pattern! It's a great dress, very stylish and elegant!
9/12/13 4:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2918 Mens T-Shirts
photo
Review by Elsie14 on 7/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2008-2 Denim skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/7/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us