SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-103 

3 more reviews
Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/13 2:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
This looks sensational on you! Love it.
9/6/13 4:53 PM
sewingcanary said...
It looks nice. I think the wide shoulder strap works great. If it were narrow, then your shoulders would look big. This way they don't. If you were to take out a wedge from the back centre, tapering out to nothing at the side seam line and add a smidge to the width of the back bodice, I think it would eliminate the pull lines and pucker, making the back lay smoother. In other words, shorten the centre of back of the bodice, but not all the way across. It can be surprising how adding a smidge of width can smooth out wrinkles and pull lines. There's a good chance it would also eliminate the little issue you had about the way the back neckline sits. It's very attractive. If you are comfortable, I say go with it! Just stay away from making the shoulder strap narrower. Cheers!
9/6/13 5:25 PM
21wale said...
Wow, this is really lovely!
9/6/13 9:31 PM
SewLibra said...
This dress looks great and I would love to own it! I also have wide shoulders and rib cage, so I always consider my body type and think about what will look good (or horrible) on me. I probably would have thought this pattern would not work for me, but seeing it on you maybe it could! Thanks for the review.
9/7/13 0:25 AM
Dale C said...
I love the pleat detail on the shoulder. And it looks great on you.
9/7/13 1:53 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I agree- the pleat detail is beautiful and the color is sensational. Sewingcanary sounds very knowledgable with her suggestions. Great idea to use the sari silk on the inside!
9/7/13 8:08 AM
grey ann said...
I think you look so nice in this! Agree with sewingcanary. And I think the pleats on thefront of the skirt wouldhave looked good, too.
9/7/13 9:48 AM
divabuddha said...
I ADORE this shape on you. I will say that I'm a 5'8" broad shouldered girl myself, and I actually tend to favor strapless and asymmetrical necklines. (My mom always tells me the things we don't like are often the best parts...I opt to trust my mom and show off the shoulders). I seem to recall that your duipioni is a rich green. Is that right? I think that dress shape in that color against your skin tone would be smashing.
9/7/13 11:13 AM
usbeckers said...
The dress looks nice. Nice work.
9/7/13 1:00 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks divabuddha! Yes the fabric for my sis-in-law's wedding is a gorgeous olive green dupioni. I opted to make something a bit different than this dress and am waiting for the pics back from the photographer since I didn't get any at the wedding. Hope to post those soon!
9/8/13 12:40 PM
liliv said...
I'm still waiting for the excuse to sew this pattern! It's a great dress, very stylish and elegant!
9/12/13 4:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now