Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> J Stern Designs> 0041 (The Tee)

30 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 556 times 
Reviewed by:wildberrymom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wildberrymomstar
MI USA
Member since: 6/11/08
Reviews: 42 (patterns: 38)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/13 0:19 AM
Last Updated:6/12/13 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wildberrymom said... (6/12/13 8:39 AM) Reply
Rosalaya--a bit more width in the shoulder seam is on my list of adjustments for the next version. The seams allow for the FBA but in my case, I think it put too much length in the lower front--we'll see what #2 does. Thanks for all of the feedback and kind words from all of you.
Danvillegirl said... (6/12/13 6:41 AM) Reply
I did not have good success with this pattern, some was operator error on my part. Perhaps the class would be helpful.
Rosalaya said... (6/12/13 1:07 AM) Reply
Mmm I see what you mean about all those seams. You've made a good job on the neck adjustments, I agree that a bit narrower may be better and I think that a fraction more width from the armhole down coud be beneficial. Well done, the white on white theme works well.
Terri A said... (6/12/13 0:50 AM) Reply
You look adorable in that tee!!!
liliv said... (6/11/13 4:42 PM) Reply
I like these seams! The neckline finishing is lovely:)
sewme47 said... (6/11/13 9:51 AM) Reply
I also made this tee for my daughters and then wanted one for myself, so I took the class, too. I'm so sorry you weren't happy with the results. Mine worked out better, but I wasn't trying to make any style changes. I closely followed Jennifer's instructions for FBA and shoulder adjustments which worked very well for my needs. I have a very large bust and very narrow, sloping shoulders. The seamed yoke gave me lots of places to fine tune the fit. As you said, it may take a few tries to get the kinks worked out. I really like your all-white version!
ArtAttack said... (6/11/13 9:14 AM) Reply
Good basic tee and looks like a wearable muslin. I never could get the two front yoke pieces to behave and also ended up combining them. Glad you are willing to work the kinks out of it.
Sew Whatever said... (6/11/13 6:08 AM) Reply
I've not seen this style before. I guess you'd need the seaming in order to keep your neckline and upper shoulders the right size but allow for a larger area for the bust. Sounds like a good idea. I suppose if you didn't have to adjust the back at all, you wouldn't need seaming there. Hmm. interesting concept.
wendyrb said... (6/11/13 2:39 AM) Reply
Thanks for your fully detailed review of the pattern and working with Jen. Lookin' good; you made a lot of headway for a "muslin" and you're well along to a TNT. Congrats. I'm signed up for the class. Have to get back to it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 9021

photo
by: gabc

Review