SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4509 (Run Away Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 370 times 
Reviewed by:SquishSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SquishSewsstar
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/22/13 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ashford said...
I had all the beginner problems you mentioned -binding, ties, and sleeves. I wrote to Silhouette Patterns and told them that more instruction was needed for beginners. I got a thank you as a reply. I do not think they will invest the time to make the changes. I could be wrong. I agree; the dress is very comfortable in the hot climate. I like your fabric choice and the pockets.
8/23/13 6:36 PM
oldpatterns said...
Interesting variation on the Butterick Walkaway dress from the 50's and it's 1960s variations. The same issues you have with is as a wearablitiy are present in the dress it is based on. Great sewing job.
7/9/13 8:18 AM
marec said...
This is such a helpful review-thanks for the clear analysis of the pattern. Cute details and terrific modifications to make this work for you.
6/23/13 12:00 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Good points on the way to wear it. I think you made a good choice having the ties at the back.
6/23/13 10:54 AM
SquishSews said...
Oooh, when I click edit review (I saw some typos; hangs head in shame) - the links and image options were available and working! You have pics now.... :-)
6/22/13 11:10 PM
SquishSews said...
I submitted a link to my flickr page, but I was testing Deepika's new image thing and couldn't make it work. For now, you can copy paste this URL http://www.flickr.com/photos/squishsews/sets/72157634254199003/
6/22/13 10:33 PM
JEF said...
:) Glad the binding method worked for you! Yep, we all want pics. I can't wait the see the extra 50s vibe you describe.
6/22/13 7:28 AM
Diane333 said...
I too would LOVE to see the picture.
6/22/13 7:00 AM
Pj3g said...
Very thorough review! Would love to see it!
6/22/13 6:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 3344

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Butterick 5534

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now