SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6918OOP (Knit Top)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 355 times 
Reviewed by:cararq
photo

 
 
About cararq
NY USA
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/13 10:41 AM
Last Updated:5/17/14 8:19 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:New Look 6918OOP
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
I used this out-of-print pattern because I wanted to hand sew a top in the style of Alabama Chanin. This was my first attempt at completely handsewing a garment.

Pattern Sizing:
I used size 16 but had to modify it.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The shape of the garment was similar.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't use the printed instructions. I was just using the pattern as a guide.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the shape, the V and the length of the top, but the V was indecently low on me.

Fabric Used:
Cotton knit.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the V somewhat (about 1/2" - 3/4") narrower but didn't bother to modify the facings because I was using strips of the fabric to hand bind the V and the armscyes. I also had to take up the shoulder seams 1 1/4" to raise the V to a more acceptable cleavage level. I mitered a strip of fabric for the neck binding so the V was crisp.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would sew it again knowing I'll have to modify it. I think I would recommend it because there are several options in the same pattern, but it's out of print.


<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Lovely top! :)
7/3/13 11:33 AM
NancyZL said...
Looks great on you, did you use a template for all those circles? I'm still hand-cutting out one of the Alabama stencils,aghgh.
7/3/13 12:22 PM
Laurie Lou said...
It's really a cute top for summer. Wow...hand sewn! hats off to you...you did the circles too!!!???
7/3/13 12:55 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Very well done. The hand work is beautiful!
7/3/13 2:49 PM
cararq said...
Thank you all for the lovely compliments! NancyZL, I haven't purchased any templates yet, so I randomly cut the circles.
7/3/13 3:17 PM
BeaJay said...
Very nice. Looks great on you.
7/3/13 9:55 PM
wendyrb said...
Placement of your circles- perfecto! Beautiful fit too. Congratulations on your top.
7/4/13 0:23 AM
wildberrymom said...
Looks like a great summer wardrobe builder.
7/4/13 4:09 AM
Hilary said...
That's a really cute top! It turned out great and looks good on you-hand-sewn??1 Wow-what patience! :D
7/4/13 10:57 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice - am really impressed with your work on this. Looks great on you.
5/17/14 10:23 PM
Baja Susana said...
Very pretty, the white on white design is wonderful.
5/17/14 11:46 PM
Maureen Hole said...
Excellent, just excellent!
5/18/14 2:11 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Great summer top ! Where did you find instructions for the Alabama Chanin ? It came out great !!
5/24/14 8:39 PM
cararq said...
Thanks for all the kind words! Kathy Russell, I didn't have any instructions or templates, just had inspiration from the Alabama Chanin website. :)
6/15/14 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Other ABO-103

photo
by: lynne1nor

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9838

photo
by: fourkid

Review