SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6918OOP (Knit Top)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 355 times 
Reviewed by:cararq
photo

 
 
About cararq
NY USA
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/13 10:41 AM
Last Updated:5/17/14 8:19 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:New Look 6918OOP
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
I used this out-of-print pattern because I wanted to hand sew a top in the style of Alabama Chanin. This was my first attempt at completely handsewing a garment.

Pattern Sizing:
I used size 16 but had to modify it.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The shape of the garment was similar.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't use the printed instructions. I was just using the pattern as a guide.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the shape, the V and the length of the top, but the V was indecently low on me.

Fabric Used:
Cotton knit.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the V somewhat (about 1/2" - 3/4") narrower but didn't bother to modify the facings because I was using strips of the fabric to hand bind the V and the armscyes. I also had to take up the shoulder seams 1 1/4" to raise the V to a more acceptable cleavage level. I mitered a strip of fabric for the neck binding so the V was crisp.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would sew it again knowing I'll have to modify it. I think I would recommend it because there are several options in the same pattern, but it's out of print.


<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Lovely top! :)
7/3/13 11:33 AM
NancyZL said...
Looks great on you, did you use a template for all those circles? I'm still hand-cutting out one of the Alabama stencils,aghgh.
7/3/13 12:22 PM
Laurie Lou said...
It's really a cute top for summer. Wow...hand sewn! hats off to you...you did the circles too!!!???
7/3/13 12:55 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Very well done. The hand work is beautiful!
7/3/13 2:49 PM
cararq said...
Thank you all for the lovely compliments! NancyZL, I haven't purchased any templates yet, so I randomly cut the circles.
7/3/13 3:17 PM
BeaJay said...
Very nice. Looks great on you.
7/3/13 9:55 PM
wendyrb said...
Placement of your circles- perfecto! Beautiful fit too. Congratulations on your top.
7/4/13 0:23 AM
wildberrymom said...
Looks like a great summer wardrobe builder.
7/4/13 4:09 AM
Hilary said...
That's a really cute top! It turned out great and looks good on you-hand-sewn??1 Wow-what patience! :D
7/4/13 10:57 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice - am really impressed with your work on this. Looks great on you.
5/17/14 10:23 PM
Baja Susana said...
Very pretty, the white on white design is wonderful.
5/17/14 11:46 PM
Maureen Hole said...
Excellent, just excellent!
5/18/14 2:11 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Great summer top ! Where did you find instructions for the Alabama Chanin ? It came out great !!
5/24/14 8:39 PM
cararq said...
Thanks for all the kind words! Kathy Russell, I didn't have any instructions or templates, just had inspiration from the Alabama Chanin website. :)
6/15/14 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 3588

photo
by: Jennifer s...

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8397

photo
by: Sharon1952

Review