SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1357 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 296 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/13 2:08 AM
Last Updated:7/4/13 8:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for your in depth review. I will most likely make a muslin of this after all the issues you encountered.
7/29/13 4:34 PM
Terri A said...
@heatherrique ya we were being silly there ;) you are the queen of entertaining reviews though, so I bow... @merche I can't wait to see your top!
7/6/13 11:42 PM
Merche said...
Thank you for this review. Im currently working on the top, and the instructions and/or the pattern are not very good either. But your skirt is looking fantastic! Love it!
7/6/13 6:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, I got a "kick" out of that Vogue-esque pose with the skirt! Slick work on the invisible zipper and nice skirt flare.
7/5/13 2:14 PM
Seweemama said...
Beautiful skirt! And, thank you for such a detailed review!!
7/5/13 10:12 AM
Terri A said...
The pattern isn't terrible - it just doesn't quite match up here and there. It's you know - "just OK" in my opinion ;) Hopefully, it turned out cute enough to wear and thanks guys! I am thrilled that I got that invisible zipper foot.
7/4/13 10:54 PM
Christas said...
Wow! That invisible zip is flawless! Very pretty skirt even with all the issues you encountered.
7/4/13 9:47 PM
Couturemum said...
Wow you invisible zipper insertion was immaculate. This skirt looks lovely on you
7/4/13 9:14 PM
Renata said...
I bought this pattern on the strength of the success of the 1247 pattern, so it is really disappointing to read all the problems you had. But thank you for your review and this may be one of the few times I will do a practice run before cutting into the real fabric. Your skirt still looks really nice if one doesn't look at it with a perfectionist eye.
7/4/13 9:08 PM
Terri A said...
Frozensouth, that HAS to be encouraging!!! ;)
7/4/13 5:44 PM
frozensouth said...
If it is any consolation, the Dolce and Gabbana 2013 Summer collection had several pieces where seams/darts didn't match and they looked fabulous! See this in close up for example http://www.elleuk.com/catwalk/designer-a-z/dolce-gabbana/spring-summer-2013#image=25
7/4/13 3:07 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks what a nice comment!!! :-) I will try to get a better photo. It looks fine around the hips I think, but I am particular with seams lines that don't match up exactly and cannot be finessed :-) there are lots of bulky little seam intersections from the french seams but I think if it noticeable it is more to do with my fabric not being so SO lightweight as what they used in the sample.
7/4/13 1:08 PM
Sew Whatever said...
The skirt looks very smart, even laying on the table you can tell that is has been made well. Well done to you for dyeing the fabric! good consistent colour.
7/4/13 5:39 AM
liliv said...
I love this skirt!
7/4/13 3:53 AM
frozensouth said...
Thanks for this excellent review. Your work is amazingly professional. The zip is absolutely staggering! Disappointing that Vogue seems to deliberately obfuscate the drafting error in the seams. I would like to see what it looks like on you, standing normally. I was wondering how this sort of shape would look around the hips - even on a Vogue model it doesn't seem all that flattering.
7/4/13 3:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

StyleArc Melissa Blouse

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
New Look 6648

photo
by: facesunder...

Review

Pattern