Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1357 (Misses' Top and Skirt) - Type:Skirts
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 281 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/13 2:08 AM
Last Updated:7/4/13 8:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frozensouth said...
Thanks for this excellent review. Your work is amazingly professional. The zip is absolutely staggering! Disappointing that Vogue seems to deliberately obfuscate the drafting error in the seams. I would like to see what it looks like on you, standing normally. I was wondering how this sort of shape would look around the hips - even on a Vogue model it doesn't seem all that flattering.
7/4/13 3:43 AM
liliv said...
I love this skirt!
7/4/13 3:53 AM
Sew Whatever said...
The skirt looks very smart, even laying on the table you can tell that is has been made well. Well done to you for dyeing the fabric! good consistent colour.
7/4/13 5:39 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks what a nice comment!!! :-) I will try to get a better photo. It looks fine around the hips I think, but I am particular with seams lines that don't match up exactly and cannot be finessed :-) there are lots of bulky little seam intersections from the french seams but I think if it noticeable it is more to do with my fabric not being so SO lightweight as what they used in the sample.
7/4/13 1:08 PM
frozensouth said...
If it is any consolation, the Dolce and Gabbana 2013 Summer collection had several pieces where seams/darts didn't match and they looked fabulous! See this in close up for example http://www.elleuk.com/catwalk/designer-a-z/dolce-gabbana/spring-summer-2013#image=25
7/4/13 3:07 PM
Terri A said...
Frozensouth, that HAS to be encouraging!!! ;)
7/4/13 5:44 PM
Renata said...
I bought this pattern on the strength of the success of the 1247 pattern, so it is really disappointing to read all the problems you had. But thank you for your review and this may be one of the few times I will do a practice run before cutting into the real fabric. Your skirt still looks really nice if one doesn't look at it with a perfectionist eye.
7/4/13 9:08 PM
Couturemum said...
Wow you invisible zipper insertion was immaculate. This skirt looks lovely on you
7/4/13 9:14 PM
Christas said...
Wow! That invisible zip is flawless! Very pretty skirt even with all the issues you encountered.
7/4/13 9:47 PM
Terri A said...
The pattern isn't terrible - it just doesn't quite match up here and there. It's you know - "just OK" in my opinion ;) Hopefully, it turned out cute enough to wear and thanks guys! I am thrilled that I got that invisible zipper foot.
7/4/13 10:54 PM
Seweemama said...
Beautiful skirt! And, thank you for such a detailed review!!
7/5/13 10:12 AM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, I got a "kick" out of that Vogue-esque pose with the skirt! Slick work on the invisible zipper and nice skirt flare.
7/5/13 2:14 PM
Merche said...
Thank you for this review. Im currently working on the top, and the instructions and/or the pattern are not very good either. But your skirt is looking fantastic! Love it!
7/6/13 6:24 PM
Terri A said...
@heatherrique ya we were being silly there ;) you are the queen of entertaining reviews though, so I bow... @merche I can't wait to see your top!
7/6/13 11:42 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for your in depth review. I will most likely make a muslin of this after all the issues you encountered.
7/29/13 4:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by TriciaZ on 10/23/11
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5419 Girls' Tops
photo
Review by Edris on 6/20/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2397 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2397 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1179 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1179 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us