Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-119 (Puff Sleeve dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 236 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:butterflyfly
photo
Friend of PR
About butterflyflystar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/31/11
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/13 8:11 PM
Last Updated:7/7/13 6:31 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
I think you look quite good in this fabric! The body of the dress fits you well. The sleeves could be modified so that the seamline is at your shoulder line....but sleeves are hard to alter, at least for me. Still, that is the pattern's fault and not yours. You did a great job.
7/6/13 9:01 PM
madbadger said...
I think your dress looks quite lovely - nice esp for first time with a knit (my first knit was a hot mess!).
7/6/13 10:51 PM
PattyE said...
I think you did a super job on your first knit garment. Well done!
7/7/13 0:24 AM
susanbanks said...
Great dress, love the fabric! There's always something lost in translation with those Burda magazine instructions so well done for getting something nice out at the end.
7/7/13 1:59 AM
liliv said...
I like very much your dress, the print is fantastic! I like the sleeves, of course you are right about the hot/chilly day issue but they are pretty!!
7/7/13 5:31 AM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
I didn't really notice this in the Burda magazine. But I very much like your version. And especially on you, I think it suits you wonderful, the colours and the style. Maybe you can catch the right weather to wear it!
7/7/13 8:08 AM
Sew Whatever said...
You may not be a flowery person but the style suits you. Well done.
7/7/13 9:00 AM
butterflyfly said...
Thanks ladies for your kind comments!
7/7/13 9:51 AM
AuntieShel said...
I think your dress is just lovely and you look great in it!! It fits perfectly! Great job for your first knit--they are a different animal than wovens. I wonder if you could skip the underlayer of the sleeve and gather it into a band? It may hang differently but wouldn't be so hot :) !!
7/7/13 3:15 PM
butterflyfly said...
To: AuntieShel -thank you, that's exactly what I'm gonna do for the next dress :)
7/7/13 5:41 PM
caper81 said...
Your first knit dress? Wow, you did a great job! :)
7/8/13 1:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 7013 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by Margaret on 7/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 5894 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5894 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8814 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8814 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1328 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissMarnie on 1/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us