SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Billie (Billie)

2 more reviews
Viewed 245 times 
Reviewed by:jjmagenta
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jjmagenta
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/4/12
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/13 10:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
I think the stripes look very interesting (at least they seem to work from the angle of your photo). It is quite a unique style. Are you going to try it again in a different fabric?
7/13/13 10:59 PM
jjmagenta said...
Yes, I will definitely try a plain dark top. The drape is beautiful, however the pleat on the right shoulder (which you can't see very well) is definitely awry with the stripes.
7/14/13 3:12 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and was curious to see it made up. Your tip about not-so-stretchy fabric is helpful. I also think the stripes look interesting from the vantage point of the photo.... Please post your result when made in a solid.
7/14/13 12:42 PM
wingamajig said...
The fabric is strking, and the colors look good on you. I hope you will be able to salvage it for another top. I'm also interested to see how this pattern works up in a solid.
7/14/13 12:54 PM
Annie P said...
I think it looks good, and the stripes look really interesting. Would the shoulder problem be solved by adding a strip along the shoulder seam (I'm assuming there is a shoulder seam as I can't figure the pattern out at all!) of either a solid or some stripes that run parallel with the shoulder? That way the join of the front and back stripes at odd angles would be disguised.
7/14/13 7:38 PM
jjmagenta said...
I like your idea Annie, I will try it out before I give up on it completely.
7/15/13 3:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5707

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now