Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2013-115 (Twisted Maxi Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 339 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Ms. McCall
photo
Friend of PR
About Ms. McCallstar
CA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/13 4:45 AM
Last Updated:7/14/13 5:28 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Very eye-catching "twist" of the ever-popular maxi dress ;) Looks great on you!
7/14/13 8:37 AM
dbsewer said...
Despite the struggles with Burda's typically wonky instructions, you managed to do a terrific job and make a pretty dress that's elegant on you. Love the pics on the beach.
7/14/13 8:50 AM
sunnysewing said...
Very pretty dress. I love your fabric. I didn't even think of pattern placement - your print is busy enough that it works great. I appreciate your tips regarding the construction. great job!
7/14/13 9:34 AM
Kathhhhhy said...
I really like your fabric! I was considering this pattern for myself but wasn't sure, this was super helpful to see a good review with it! Thanks, I really like this!!
7/14/13 10:29 AM
madbadger said...
What a wonderful dress!!! Your struggles were worth it!
7/14/13 11:23 AM
Jrhee said...
Striking dress! A "twist" on the maxi...
7/14/13 11:24 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love the style of this maxi. Looks great on you too.
7/14/13 3:48 PM
grays08 said...
Oh I love this one....on my list to make up soon out of a border print, but I hear you on pattern matching. I studied it for awhile trying to figure out the best way to lay out my border print and then sat it aside for awhile. It is a great dress though, worth the effort!
7/15/13 9:07 AM
JuliN said...
The twist front is my favorite part of the dress. Looks comfy, thanks for sharing.
7/15/13 12:05 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Beautiful. Congratulations on your awesome success with this difficult pattern!
7/25/13 9:50 PM
Barbara V said...
So pretty! The twist style, fabric and flattering fit on you.....all really great.
7/25/13 11:02 PM
liliv said...
Your dress is gorgeous, the print is so lovely with these deep colors! I don't see any problem with the chevrons at the back because the print is interrupted anyway by the long ties ( you see they are helpful!). I hadn't thought using this pattern for a casual dress and now I see that I was wrong. I made the same dress (in solid) these days and I had exactly the same confussion with the center front and the center fold:) As far as I know there was only one dress on burdastyle (in solid green) made with this pattern, the lady had posted a link under the pattern page if you want to see it. But there are tons of twisted maxi dresses on the Russian burdastyle.
7/26/13 1:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by colormefun on 1/9/11
Read Review

Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2780
photo
Review by sailor gir... on 6/23/06
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us