SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2013-115 (Twisted Maxi Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 365 times 
Reviewed by:Ms. McCall
photo

 
 
About Ms. McCallstar
CA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/13 4:45 AM
Last Updated:7/14/13 5:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
liliv said...
Your dress is gorgeous, the print is so lovely with these deep colors! I don't see any problem with the chevrons at the back because the print is interrupted anyway by the long ties ( you see they are helpful!). I hadn't thought using this pattern for a casual dress and now I see that I was wrong. I made the same dress (in solid) these days and I had exactly the same confussion with the center front and the center fold:) As far as I know there was only one dress on burdastyle (in solid green) made with this pattern, the lady had posted a link under the pattern page if you want to see it. But there are tons of twisted maxi dresses on the Russian burdastyle.
7/26/13 1:49 AM
Barbara V said...
So pretty! The twist style, fabric and flattering fit on you.....all really great.
7/25/13 11:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Beautiful. Congratulations on your awesome success with this difficult pattern!
7/25/13 9:50 PM
JuliN said...
The twist front is my favorite part of the dress. Looks comfy, thanks for sharing.
7/15/13 12:05 PM
grays08 said...
Oh I love this one....on my list to make up soon out of a border print, but I hear you on pattern matching. I studied it for awhile trying to figure out the best way to lay out my border print and then sat it aside for awhile. It is a great dress though, worth the effort!
7/15/13 9:07 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love the style of this maxi. Looks great on you too.
7/14/13 3:48 PM
Jrhee said...
Striking dress! A "twist" on the maxi...
7/14/13 11:24 AM
madbadger said...
What a wonderful dress!!! Your struggles were worth it!
7/14/13 11:23 AM
Kathhhhhy said...
I really like your fabric! I was considering this pattern for myself but wasn't sure, this was super helpful to see a good review with it! Thanks, I really like this!!
7/14/13 10:29 AM
sunnysewing said...
Very pretty dress. I love your fabric. I didn't even think of pattern placement - your print is busy enough that it works great. I appreciate your tips regarding the construction. great job!
7/14/13 9:34 AM
dbsewer said...
Despite the struggles with Burda's typically wonky instructions, you managed to do a terrific job and make a pretty dress that's elegant on you. Love the pics on the beach.
7/14/13 8:50 AM
caper81 said...
Very eye-catching "twist" of the ever-popular maxi dress ;) Looks great on you!
7/14/13 8:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Simplicity 1942

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

More Info
Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: Bichoodle

Review