SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8916 (Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress and Skirt)

13 more reviews
Viewed 235 times 
Reviewed by:frozensouth
photo

 
 
About frozensouthstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/24/10
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 6)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/13 10:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JayG said... (2/5/14 5:23 AM) Reply
You have written a very humerous review. I don't think I'll get this pattern, so thanks for being so honest and down to earth.
style inspired said... (7/15/13 5:27 PM) Reply
YOur dress looks nice for a hot summer day. If made from tweed it would be meant to wear with the jacket. Looking forward to hear what you think of the jacket. Like the look of the whole pattern but the jacket might be boxy. The outfit looks vaguely Jackie K to me,
susanbanks said... (7/14/13 2:02 PM) Reply
We share your pain! The dress is too lovely to give up on now you've done the hard work. Have you tried taking in the very top part of the princess seams to make it curve back in and avoid gaping? I agree about Vogue wardrobe patterns: usually 2 really nice items and a couple that make a bin liner look flattering! P.S. I've have success with Vogue 8849 with different cup sizes to make a similar sundress where you can make a size smaller but with a bigger bust.
HRigg said... (7/14/13 12:52 PM) Reply
This is a difficult one. Looking at your photos I think you may have reduced the top of the bodice side front too much but then I can see how without the reduction it would have made the top too wide. Did you take the same amount and shape from the corresponding centre front piece?. The seam across the middle doesn't help. Pity, it's not that bad but it could have made a very nice dress. Could I suggest you look at something like Burda 8061 for a similar style but perhaps a bit easier for you. Here the front is one piece with the shape coming from darts rather than a princess seam. You'll get there!
caper81 said... (7/14/13 12:02 PM) Reply
Great review, sorry to hear about your troubles :( It's disappointing when something doesn't turn out like we envision.
carolynw said... (7/14/13 11:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for your very funny review - too bad it didn't work out
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns V7910

photo
by: ggf2005

Review