Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1882 (Amazing Fit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 452 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:CosmicCaro
photo
About CosmicCarostar
QC CANADA
Member since: 3/18/11
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 2:17 PM
Last Updated:9/4/13 10:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RMJ said...
Looks great! I never would have guessed that set-in sleeves, princess seams and the invisible zipper were all new techniques for you.
7/22/13 5:52 PM
Rosalaya said...
You are right on the money Caro. This dress looks grand. Can't wait to see it in the next version in the cotton sateen. Love the way it minimizes the bust.
7/23/13 7:45 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Love the vintage vibe on you, the piping details on the fuschia make the design lines pop too
7/24/13 5:17 PM
CosmicCaro said...
Thank you all for your kind comments! I love this dress and I am working on my next one... In time for the Montreal sewists met-up this weekend I hope!
8/13/13 11:06 AM
Melwyk said...
I love this dress! Great colours on you and amazing retro vibe. I'm exactly the same height & weight as you so now I really want to try this pattern - it looks so good on you :)
8/27/13 8:40 PM
CosmicCaro said...
Thanks Melwyk!
9/4/13 10:44 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love both dresses on you!!!
9/4/13 10:58 AM
NEMDF said...
WOW. They are beautiful. I especially love the floral with piping, and your detailed descriptions of the projects. You are doing great with skill development!
9/4/13 5:45 PM
caper81 said...
Both dresses look great on you!:)
9/4/13 6:06 PM
sewingcanary said...
Nice dress! Your face shows you are pleased. Iím not 100% certain but think all of the amazing fit patterns have 1 inch side seams instead of 5/8 = something you might want to keep in mind when you use other Simplicity patterns. Wise to have chosen the D size front despite your real measurements. I looked at your blog pix. I hesitate posting this because I donít know how fussy you want to get about fit, but here goesÖ ideally the black piping along the waistline should be horizontal, as should the hem. Your side view shows them sloping. Fixing this could be achieved by raising the front waist or lowering the back or a combination of both. This could be done by inserting or removing a wedge that tapers to nothing at the side seam, thus the sides stay the same. You add length or take length out. You can see the method in some fitting books. I have a great book from the library called The Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting. Iíve learned some amazing things just reading through it. Happy sewing. Your dress is so cute! I get excited about things having pockets again and this was such a cute way to handle them.
9/4/13 6:44 PM
CosmicCaro said...
Thanks you for your praises! Thank you sewingcanary, I am always on the lookout to improve my skills! However, this particular dress has the waist line marked on the pattern pieces on the lower edge (on the seam line) of the midriff for the BACK. But on the center front and side front pieces, the waist line is marked higher ; with the bottom edge of the pattern pieces dipping about 1,5 inches below the waist at center front. Since I will probably make it with another kind of skirt (pencil or circle!) your useful comment will help me raise the midriff seam at my waist then. Thank you also for the great book resources, I will see if they are available at my local library!
9/8/13 6:54 PM
CosmicCaro said...
BTW Caper81, your Nintendo costume is super!
9/8/13 6:55 PM
liliv said...
I love this color combination!
9/12/13 4:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2925
photo
Review by Lisa Davis... on 3/21/10
Read Review

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2788
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/30/08
Read Review

Vogue 8584 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8584 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6740 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6740 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us