SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 311 (patterns: 289)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 3:34 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
marusya grace said... (3/28/14 3:26 PM) Reply
Beautiful! Thanks for posting this review!
CozyCotton said... (10/5/13 10:26 AM) Reply
great review. It will be my next project!
Margaret said... (7/30/13 10:23 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone! Mysticotala, I didn't think there was really too much fabric in the upper front for me, with this fabric and without the lining, but I could definitely see how it could happen on a different figure shape or with different fabric. It was really helpful to have a look at the previous reviews because many people did have those same issues that you mentioned.
FreyaStark said... (7/29/13 5:54 AM) Reply
Fabulous! The fabric looks better than it sounds. The length seems right to me, although a cm or 2 less wouldn't hurt. Well done, and thanks for a useful review. This pattern is in my collection and awaiting my attention.
yummymummy38 said... (7/24/13 5:16 PM) Reply
I like the look of this, especially the waist detail. Surprised its a knit lace!
mysticotala said... (7/23/13 11:39 AM) Reply
Love the fabric you chose! I made this dress years ago and just wore it again recently and it had all the problems you mentioned. The bodice was too full and the neckline wasn't stabilized and gaped. The back also kept riding up so I'm assuming the waistline was too low. Ah, the things we learn! Looks great on you! Such a fun dress
lamstu said... (7/23/13 0:41 AM) Reply
Your dress is really lovely! I think that the longer length is very flattering. It might be time for me to make it again for me ( I dieted out of my pretty green linen version, which is not sad except that I miss that dress!)
Tina303 said... (7/23/13 0:02 AM) Reply
I'm under the impression that vintage patterns have longer skirts because that was the style back then. Heaven forbid a lady would show her knee!
Pollycotton said... (7/22/13 11:25 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress, what a great review you did too.
treefrog said... (7/22/13 6:46 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress! The fabric is gorgeous - I thought it was a lace and was surprised to read that it is a knit
Rhonda in Montreal said... (7/22/13 6:05 PM) Reply
"apparently I have a high bust"... LUCKY!! Really NEAT fabric, Margaret ;D Dress up/down fun!!
prostheticsgirl said... (7/22/13 6:02 PM) Reply
Wow, lovely!
Sew Whatever said... (7/22/13 4:52 PM) Reply
Very thorough review. I think it looks lovely on you!
Sigrid. said... (7/22/13 4:03 PM) Reply
Great dress, the lenght is nice on you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 51590-1001

photo
by: mrgrt235

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Cape Super Express

Islander Sewing Systems Cape Super Express

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details