SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 309 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 3:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marusya grace said...
Beautiful! Thanks for posting this review!
3/28/14 3:26 PM
CozyCotton said...
great review. It will be my next project!
10/5/13 10:26 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! Mysticotala, I didn't think there was really too much fabric in the upper front for me, with this fabric and without the lining, but I could definitely see how it could happen on a different figure shape or with different fabric. It was really helpful to have a look at the previous reviews because many people did have those same issues that you mentioned.
7/30/13 10:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! The fabric looks better than it sounds. The length seems right to me, although a cm or 2 less wouldn't hurt. Well done, and thanks for a useful review. This pattern is in my collection and awaiting my attention.
7/29/13 5:54 AM
yummymummy38 said...
I like the look of this, especially the waist detail. Surprised its a knit lace!
7/24/13 5:16 PM
mysticotala said...
Love the fabric you chose! I made this dress years ago and just wore it again recently and it had all the problems you mentioned. The bodice was too full and the neckline wasn't stabilized and gaped. The back also kept riding up so I'm assuming the waistline was too low. Ah, the things we learn! Looks great on you! Such a fun dress
7/23/13 11:39 AM
lamstu said...
Your dress is really lovely! I think that the longer length is very flattering. It might be time for me to make it again for me ( I dieted out of my pretty green linen version, which is not sad except that I miss that dress!)
7/23/13 0:41 AM
Tina303 said...
I'm under the impression that vintage patterns have longer skirts because that was the style back then. Heaven forbid a lady would show her knee!
7/23/13 0:02 AM
Pollycotton said...
Beautiful dress, what a great review you did too.
7/22/13 11:25 PM
treefrog said...
Beautiful dress! The fabric is gorgeous - I thought it was a lace and was surprised to read that it is a knit
7/22/13 6:46 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"apparently I have a high bust"... LUCKY!! Really NEAT fabric, Margaret ;D Dress up/down fun!!
7/22/13 6:05 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, lovely!
7/22/13 6:02 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Very thorough review. I think it looks lovely on you!
7/22/13 4:52 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great dress, the lenght is nice on you.
7/22/13 4:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 9958

photo
by: AllNewtoMe

Review
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
New Look 6170

photo
by: aunrea

Review