SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2805 (Women's t-shirts)

79 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 104 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews: 135 (patterns: 135)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/24/13 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
liliv said... (7/25/13 9:55 AM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful review. The top is cute and the finishes look rtw (the good ones, not the cheapy!)
sunnysewing said... (7/24/13 4:22 PM) Reply
Thanks Renren :) I'll never go back to binding in the round... ugh!
sunnysewing said... (7/24/13 4:21 PM) Reply
@ NEMDF - I used a Cotton Blend Rib Knit in Fuchsia from Fabric.com (50% cotton and 50% poly). I love this stuff because it is soft but yet structured enough for the neckline. The pattern gives you the measurement for it - which is nice - You then fold it in half and sew right sides together with shirt neck. Then flip it up and sew down the seam allowance onto the shirt. (hope that helps!)
renren said... (7/24/13 3:03 PM) Reply
Thanks for that detailed explanation of the order in which you sewed the tee. I have been intrigued about the method of sewing one shoulder, then binding the neck, then sewing the other shoulder ever since I read about it at a blog a review linked to. Apparently that is the way it is done in the industry. Your instructions were clear and I could visualize each step. I do believe these Jalie patterns typically are drafted to fit tight and I attribute this to--what should I call it--their sportswear aesthetic? Skating and gymnastics wear are specifically what I am thinking about. Cute tee! Glad you got the fit all worked out, and yes, they do rather tend to grow and grow and grow!
NEMDF said... (7/24/13 2:52 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt! It looks great on her. Please advise, what did you use for the neck binding, and where did you buy it? Thanks.
sunnysewing said... (7/24/13 2:48 PM) Reply
lol I'm sure she will grow now that I've got it down too ;-) Thanks!
Sew Whatever said... (7/24/13 2:46 PM) Reply
Interesting how they suddenly grow. She does look like this is a happy result!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Pattern Details
Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review