Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2805 (Women's t-shirts) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 97 times 71 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 102
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/24/13 2:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
Interesting how they suddenly grow. She does look like this is a happy result!
7/24/13 2:46 PM
sunnysewing said...
lol I'm sure she will grow now that I've got it down too ;-) Thanks!
7/24/13 2:48 PM
NEMDF said...
Very nice shirt! It looks great on her. Please advise, what did you use for the neck binding, and where did you buy it? Thanks.
7/24/13 2:52 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for that detailed explanation of the order in which you sewed the tee. I have been intrigued about the method of sewing one shoulder, then binding the neck, then sewing the other shoulder ever since I read about it at a blog a review linked to. Apparently that is the way it is done in the industry. Your instructions were clear and I could visualize each step. I do believe these Jalie patterns typically are drafted to fit tight and I attribute this to--what should I call it--their sportswear aesthetic? Skating and gymnastics wear are specifically what I am thinking about. Cute tee! Glad you got the fit all worked out, and yes, they do rather tend to grow and grow and grow!
7/24/13 3:03 PM
sunnysewing said...
@ NEMDF - I used a Cotton Blend Rib Knit in Fuchsia from Fabric.com (50% cotton and 50% poly). I love this stuff because it is soft but yet structured enough for the neckline. The pattern gives you the measurement for it - which is nice - You then fold it in half and sew right sides together with shirt neck. Then flip it up and sew down the seam allowance onto the shirt. (hope that helps!)
7/24/13 4:21 PM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks Renren :) I'll never go back to binding in the round... ugh!
7/24/13 4:22 PM
liliv said...
Thanks for the helpful review. The top is cute and the finishes look rtw (the good ones, not the cheapy!)
7/25/13 9:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2935 Kwik Sew
photo
Review by Gladys on 8/6/06
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6674 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by reethi on 9/7/10
Read Review

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us