SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2805 (Women's t-shirts)

73 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 102 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/24/13 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
Interesting how they suddenly grow. She does look like this is a happy result!
7/24/13 2:46 PM
sunnysewing said...
lol I'm sure she will grow now that I've got it down too ;-) Thanks!
7/24/13 2:48 PM
NEMDF said...
Very nice shirt! It looks great on her. Please advise, what did you use for the neck binding, and where did you buy it? Thanks.
7/24/13 2:52 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for that detailed explanation of the order in which you sewed the tee. I have been intrigued about the method of sewing one shoulder, then binding the neck, then sewing the other shoulder ever since I read about it at a blog a review linked to. Apparently that is the way it is done in the industry. Your instructions were clear and I could visualize each step. I do believe these Jalie patterns typically are drafted to fit tight and I attribute this to--what should I call it--their sportswear aesthetic? Skating and gymnastics wear are specifically what I am thinking about. Cute tee! Glad you got the fit all worked out, and yes, they do rather tend to grow and grow and grow!
7/24/13 3:03 PM
sunnysewing said...
@ NEMDF - I used a Cotton Blend Rib Knit in Fuchsia from Fabric.com (50% cotton and 50% poly). I love this stuff because it is soft but yet structured enough for the neckline. The pattern gives you the measurement for it - which is nice - You then fold it in half and sew right sides together with shirt neck. Then flip it up and sew down the seam allowance onto the shirt. (hope that helps!)
7/24/13 4:21 PM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks Renren :) I'll never go back to binding in the round... ugh!
7/24/13 4:22 PM
liliv said...
Thanks for the helpful review. The top is cute and the finishes look rtw (the good ones, not the cheapy!)
7/25/13 9:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Papercut Patterns 1005

photo
by: Blooms

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now