SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1329 (Colorblock Princess Sheath)

10 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 570 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/13 9:50 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Victoria Jones Collection


Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

So Vintage Patterns


Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redside said...
Wow, you look fantastic! Send out that photo and the networking invitations will stream in.
7/30/13 10:07 AM
Renren said...
Nice girl nicegirl has made another nice dress. Very, very nice! This pattern is going on 'the list.'
7/30/13 10:15 AM
crazygrad said...
Gorgeous dress! I totally overlooked this one with that silly pose. Did they run out of windows for her to bum scratch upon/within? Love your version so much more than Vogue's!
7/30/13 10:25 AM
Jrhee said...
Awesome rendition!
7/30/13 10:25 AM
marec said...
What a great dress! It looks marvelous, and I love the houndstooth, which adds a businesslike touch. I was sent this pattern as part of a Craftsy class-hmmm, dinner out dress?
7/30/13 10:25 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very flattering and love the houndstooth touch!
7/30/13 10:45 AM
Mufffet said...
GREAT!! Love this - it really flatters you and is so elegant!
7/30/13 12:04 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Awesome dress. Love your fabric choice. This looks GREAT on you!
7/30/13 12:12 PM
Deepika said...
I first put this pattern on my sewing table, even bought fabric for it, when the first review showed up. I dont know why I never made it. However your review is the kind of push I needed to sew my version. As always a super helpful review full of helpful tips and fitting advice. I am bookmarking it for when I sew mine. Thanks so much! BTW I absolutely hate networking events too. LOVE the fabric you picked for your dress. You look lovely!
7/30/13 12:12 PM
TJSEWS said...
I love your dress - very pretty and businesslike. And thanks for the thorough review!
7/30/13 12:18 PM
carolynw said...
Awesome dress and as usual your perfect work shows!
7/30/13 1:00 PM
petro said...
Terrific dress, very elegant!
7/30/13 1:21 PM
Erin Sooit said...
I too have this dress in the "make this!!!" line so I do appreciate your review. You look wonderful! And thanks for the tutorial on how to do a sleeveless bodice, that's great. Best of all, is the pic of the "head sitting on shoulders". Who comes up with that kind of look anyway?!
7/30/13 4:19 PM
ArtAttack said...
I hadn't paid much attention to this pattern before your review. I really like the houndstooth idea for the contrast. Great job!
7/30/13 5:19 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Yes, I agree with the others. This is very flattering on you. and hey, I imagine you don't stand still very often anyway! and if you did, they sure wouldn't be looking at fabric 'bumps' or not!
7/30/13 5:44 PM
mnitts said...
Great rendition! Perfect smart work dress and super flattering.
7/30/13 5:53 PM
mm said...
Looks great. I am trying to picture it on a bike.
7/30/13 5:56 PM
WinkyBlinky said...
Super cute, inspiring, & congrats on review three-oh-oh! Wow!
7/31/13 1:41 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Love it. Thanks for this review.
7/31/13 1:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
All those adjustments you made definitely paid off. I need to sew up this pattern that is sitting in my stash. Your review as always was most helpful.
7/31/13 5:32 AM
waltzqueen said...
LOVE this dress! Another fab outfit !!! You are my sewing idol!!!
7/31/13 6:09 AM
mochimo said...
So beautiful! I am considering trying this pattern now.
7/31/13 8:14 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! What a super dress!!
7/31/13 10:32 AM
highroad said...
Kudos for your extensive and very helpful review. I'm thinking I want to get this pattern now.
8/1/13 0:09 AM
trinicity said...
I like the plaid with the black, this is very pretty
8/1/13 6:46 AM
ceejayem said...
Fantastic review, really value your comments. I have this pattern within the stash but was a little apathetic prior to reading your review. I agree with others who have commented this dress needs to be close fitting to optimise the design. BYW second your thoughts on networking!
9/29/13 9:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

New Look 6776

photo
by: tinflutter...

Review
Butterick 5816

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now