Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7648 (BLOUSE) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in UFO (UnFinished Object) Contest    printable version
Viewed 543 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/13 3:25 AM
Last Updated:7/31/13 3:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous. All your work paid off. I've never done smocking so no advice on how to treat it at the seams. Your way of doing it looks very sensible to not loose the pattern at the edges. A unique blouse!
7/31/13 3:59 AM
Jazzhot said...
Wow! Great work and thank you for...smoking!
7/31/13 4:32 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! That smocking makes it unique. I love the colour, too.
7/31/13 4:57 AM
Huntwoman said...
WOW! Fantastic detail. Love this blouse!
7/31/13 5:27 AM
mm said...
Wow indeed.
7/31/13 5:34 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Well done on the smocking, I know it can be so tedious but it really makes this top! Thanks so much for all the info you provided here, too!
7/31/13 5:41 AM
halleyscomet said...
Love it! Fantastic job!
7/31/13 6:35 AM
khurl said...
WOW!!! Absolutely stunning. Thanks for sharing.
7/31/13 6:38 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful smocking- it makes this lovely blouse.
7/31/13 6:56 AM
julie w said...
Fabulous, the smocking is fantastic.
7/31/13 7:09 AM
cleverkitty said...
fantastic work treefrog it really kicked this pattern up a notch, I made this pattern twice already, I wore it yesterday and was thinking I wanted yet another. You did good cutting out the smocked piece, that is exactly the way I use to do it ;)
7/31/13 9:24 AM
carrie18584 said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Your time was well worth it and the outcome is stunning!
7/31/13 9:35 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it! Looks like a lot of work, very sharp!
7/31/13 9:58 AM
AnneM said...
Gorgeous! You must be thrilled. Your top is way nicer looking that the one they have on the pattern.
7/31/13 10:02 AM
Morisot said...
That is so beautiful. You really took that pattern to quite another level. (Funny though, I thought "What a beautiful PINK blouse."!)
7/31/13 10:08 AM
Jrhee said...
Amazing work! Thanks for the link to the tutorial!
7/31/13 10:09 AM
Renren said...
The smocking embellishment truly elevates everything about the top. Also, thanks for the tutorial. Great transformation from UFO to spectacular FO. That smocking is smoking hot!
7/31/13 10:41 AM
katlew03 said...
Wow!!! Absolutely great. You make me want to pull out my smocking books and attempt it again -- did a baby dress 40 years ago and keep saying I'll try it again. The yoke is perfect with this pattern and gives it that extra touch.
7/31/13 11:05 AM
SewWil said...
Amazing blouse! Your smoking makes it unique. Great job!
7/31/13 12:14 PM
Sandi S said...
I love the top yoke with the lattice work.
7/31/13 12:37 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - your work is just perfect and your blouse is really one of a kind.
7/31/13 12:58 PM
peaceykeen said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
7/31/13 1:29 PM
Sew Whatever said...
That is gorgeous. Absolutely lovely! I am sure you will get all sorts of compliments with this one.
7/31/13 3:05 PM
Sarsez said...
Eye catching and interesting. Lovely blouse pattern taken up a notch (or several) by the smocking.
7/31/13 8:13 PM
sfshaza said...
A great use of lattice smocking! Beautiful!
7/31/13 9:53 PM
Dilliander said...
This is gorgeous Treefrog and so clever! I can see it would have taken a long time to smock but the result is beautiful.
7/31/13 10:02 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Wow! Great blouse and a great review... thank you!
7/31/13 10:12 PM
momsurfing said...
very, very nice
7/31/13 10:35 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous blouse and wonderful review!
8/1/13 0:02 AM
LTC said...
This looks great, well done. Will have to give it a go soon.
8/1/13 3:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is so pretty. Great job with this blouse.
8/1/13 5:29 AM
Diane333 said...
LOVE your work! Always look for "Treefrog" in the pattern reviews.
8/1/13 7:19 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What attention grabbing detail! This is stunning.
8/1/13 10:01 AM
Dianne22 said...
Beautiful top. How does one figure out how much fabric to allow for the smocking? Twice the finished product? For instance, if I wanted a finished square of 12"x12" how much fabric would I need to get that finished size?
8/1/13 10:21 AM
mochimo said...
Wow. Really beautiful!
8/1/13 12:18 PM
mendospot said...
Um, I would buy that from you!
8/1/13 5:12 PM
Pj3g said...
Totally awesome!!!
8/1/13 6:50 PM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the wonderful comments!
8/2/13 0:48 AM
treefrog said...
Dianne222 - From what I've read you need twice the width/length of the final piece. I didn't measure it (should have!) when it was finished but I was anxious that I would end up short. I'd recommend having a bit of margin for error - if only to prevent grey hairs ;-)
8/2/13 0:51 AM
Bonnie O said...
Beautiful!!
8/2/13 8:28 AM
BeaJay said...
Wow - that smocking is gorgeous. Great job on the top. Lovely.
8/3/13 0:58 AM
blue mooney said...
Stand-out, beautiful blouse!
8/3/13 8:25 AM
CTBarb said...
Wow..this is so classy! Great job!
8/6/13 7:54 AM
Margaret said...
Wow! The smocking is wonderful! Great pattern choice for it too -- I love how the angular look of the notched collar and cap sleeves complement the diagonals in the smocking.
8/6/13 2:52 PM
Joanne Sews said...
I really like this blouse and your smocking just makes it special. I am going to try to follow the tutorial you shared. I have never smocked. I have wanted tolearn for years.
8/8/13 10:10 PM
French.Seam said...
That smocked yoke has given me so many ideas: I've got a couple of plain patterns (with yokes) that I'm going to jazz up
8/14/13 4:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3298 Briefs
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 10/21/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8462
photo
Review by my horse on 2/6/11
Read Review

New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us