SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7648 (BLOUSE)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in UFO (UnFinished Object) Contest
Viewed 557 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 233
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/13 3:25 AM
Last Updated:7/31/13 3:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
French.Seam said...
That smocked yoke has given me so many ideas: I've got a couple of plain patterns (with yokes) that I'm going to jazz up
8/14/13 4:43 AM
Joanne Sews said...
I really like this blouse and your smocking just makes it special. I am going to try to follow the tutorial you shared. I have never smocked. I have wanted tolearn for years.
8/8/13 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
Wow! The smocking is wonderful! Great pattern choice for it too -- I love how the angular look of the notched collar and cap sleeves complement the diagonals in the smocking.
8/6/13 2:52 PM
CTBarb said...
Wow..this is so classy! Great job!
8/6/13 7:54 AM
blue mooney said...
Stand-out, beautiful blouse!
8/3/13 8:25 AM
BeaJay said...
Wow - that smocking is gorgeous. Great job on the top. Lovely.
8/3/13 0:58 AM
Bonnie O said...
Beautiful!!
8/2/13 8:28 AM
treefrog said...
Dianne222 - From what I've read you need twice the width/length of the final piece. I didn't measure it (should have!) when it was finished but I was anxious that I would end up short. I'd recommend having a bit of margin for error - if only to prevent grey hairs ;-)
8/2/13 0:51 AM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the wonderful comments!
8/2/13 0:48 AM
Pj3g said...
Totally awesome!!!
8/1/13 6:50 PM
mendospot said...
Um, I would buy that from you!
8/1/13 5:12 PM
mochimo said...
Wow. Really beautiful!
8/1/13 12:18 PM
Dianne22 said...
Beautiful top. How does one figure out how much fabric to allow for the smocking? Twice the finished product? For instance, if I wanted a finished square of 12"x12" how much fabric would I need to get that finished size?
8/1/13 10:21 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What attention grabbing detail! This is stunning.
8/1/13 10:01 AM
Diane333 said...
LOVE your work! Always look for "Treefrog" in the pattern reviews.
8/1/13 7:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is so pretty. Great job with this blouse.
8/1/13 5:29 AM
LTC said...
This looks great, well done. Will have to give it a go soon.
8/1/13 3:11 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous blouse and wonderful review!
8/1/13 0:02 AM
momsurfing said...
very, very nice
7/31/13 10:35 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Wow! Great blouse and a great review... thank you!
7/31/13 10:12 PM
Dilliander said...
This is gorgeous Treefrog and so clever! I can see it would have taken a long time to smock but the result is beautiful.
7/31/13 10:02 PM
sfshaza said...
A great use of lattice smocking! Beautiful!
7/31/13 9:53 PM
Sarsez said...
Eye catching and interesting. Lovely blouse pattern taken up a notch (or several) by the smocking.
7/31/13 8:13 PM
Sew Whatever said...
That is gorgeous. Absolutely lovely! I am sure you will get all sorts of compliments with this one.
7/31/13 3:05 PM
peaceykeen said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
7/31/13 1:29 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - your work is just perfect and your blouse is really one of a kind.
7/31/13 12:58 PM
Sandi S said...
I love the top yoke with the lattice work.
7/31/13 12:37 PM
SewWil said...
Amazing blouse! Your smoking makes it unique. Great job!
7/31/13 12:14 PM
katlew03 said...
Wow!!! Absolutely great. You make me want to pull out my smocking books and attempt it again -- did a baby dress 40 years ago and keep saying I'll try it again. The yoke is perfect with this pattern and gives it that extra touch.
7/31/13 11:05 AM
Renren said...
The smocking embellishment truly elevates everything about the top. Also, thanks for the tutorial. Great transformation from UFO to spectacular FO. That smocking is smoking hot!
7/31/13 10:41 AM
Jrhee said...
Amazing work! Thanks for the link to the tutorial!
7/31/13 10:09 AM
Morisot said...
That is so beautiful. You really took that pattern to quite another level. (Funny though, I thought "What a beautiful PINK blouse."!)
7/31/13 10:08 AM
AnneM said...
Gorgeous! You must be thrilled. Your top is way nicer looking that the one they have on the pattern.
7/31/13 10:02 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love it! Looks like a lot of work, very sharp!
7/31/13 9:58 AM
carrie18584 said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Your time was well worth it and the outcome is stunning!
7/31/13 9:35 AM
cleverkitty said...
fantastic work treefrog it really kicked this pattern up a notch, I made this pattern twice already, I wore it yesterday and was thinking I wanted yet another. You did good cutting out the smocked piece, that is exactly the way I use to do it ;)
7/31/13 9:24 AM
julie w said...
Fabulous, the smocking is fantastic.
7/31/13 7:09 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful smocking- it makes this lovely blouse.
7/31/13 6:56 AM
khurl said...
WOW!!! Absolutely stunning. Thanks for sharing.
7/31/13 6:38 AM
halleyscomet said...
Love it! Fantastic job!
7/31/13 6:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Well done on the smocking, I know it can be so tedious but it really makes this top! Thanks so much for all the info you provided here, too!
7/31/13 5:41 AM
mm said...
Wow indeed.
7/31/13 5:34 AM
Huntwoman said...
WOW! Fantastic detail. Love this blouse!
7/31/13 5:27 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! That smocking makes it unique. I love the colour, too.
7/31/13 4:57 AM
Jazzhot said...
Wow! Great work and thank you for...smoking!
7/31/13 4:32 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous. All your work paid off. I've never done smocking so no advice on how to treat it at the seams. Your way of doing it looks very sensible to not loose the pattern at the edges. A unique blouse!
7/31/13 3:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
McCall's 9291

photo
by: spankachut...

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now