SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M5668 (Jacket - Nancy Ziem)

2 more reviews
Viewed 316 times 
Reviewed by:vflinn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About vflinn
Member since: 3/5/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/13 2:05 PM
Last Updated:9/11/13 2:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
I had to wade through a lot of pages to get back here. Lots of sewing going on here! I can barely pull myself away. Hope you were able to see the Bomb Girls. Here, you can still watch the shows. I thought I was sure about my shirt /blouse patterns but am thinking againÖ Hmmm. Iím wondering about changing out the collars and stands with a 40s collar like yours. I want to do my muslin print with ĺ sleeves and cuffs. I wasnít going to buy more fabric, but fell head over heels for the mellowest green chambray. It says 100% cotton but has a light stretch. I have a dark green cotton flannel for over-shirt - if I get that far. Canít wait, but alas, the geese have been flying for 3+ weeks, the wind howls and itís time to get winterizing. It was a short summer. Look forward to some real sewing time soon. Oh! Did the 40s ladies ever wear plain collar stands (no collar), or were all of their blouses collared? I think the men did, but not sure about the ladies. Cheers.
9/22/13 1:45 AM
vflinn said...
What fun--off to look at the Bomb Girls website -- agree with your comments re: the 40's style !!
9/14/13 8:39 PM
sewingcanary said...
Hi again. Sorry I canít make this thing do paragraphs. Yes, too bad I canít see the fabric. Iím so keen on the 40ís too. Part of my interest stems from a TV show called Bomb Girls. I was hoping for another season, but alas. Cancelled. It was about the Canadian women who built the bombs during WWII. Their website is fun. Itís interactive. Scroll along the vertical scroll bar and thereís little gears and things. Click on them and it opens up a new little window. It takes you through the whole set and had some links to where you can find similar clothes and accessories. The ďextrasĒ page has links several links to ďget the lookĒ. Some of the clothes they bought from vintage shops, etsy, some are likely in CBC and National Film board wardrobes, and knowing Canada (who has a love for ďperiod piecesĒ), some were surely made for the show. Depending where you are, you may be able to watch the episodes if you are so inclined. Iím in Canada and not sure where it works. I love the practicality of the 40ís styles - clean, simple, pretty prints etc. not the tons and tons of fabric and big fat skirts like the 50ís. Hope you can see it. http://www.globaltv.com/bombgirls/index.html http://www.globaltv.com/bombgirls/2013/February/Get_The_Bomb_Girls_Look_-_Gladys_Witham/ Another thing that tweaked my interest was a couple of my motherís dresses from the 50sí. Iíve always wanted to find her pattern with the V neck and low front shoulder with tucks across it. Thereís a zillion vintage pattern vendors online. The most expensive pattern Iíve see so far is $137! Iím thinking I should just make it up from memory. Cheers.
9/14/13 8:02 PM
vflinn said...
The collar is sort of '40's style - am into that stye for the fall season . Have to work on my photo skills - the current pic does not show the cool dots on the sheer - it turned out - was pleased with the results
9/12/13 5:34 AM
sewingcanary said...
Despite the photos, it looks like it a nice jacket for cool summer mornings or evenings. I like the collar - sort of 40ís-ish?
9/11/13 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Butterick 5783

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Simplicity 5923

photo
by: scram415

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

More Info