Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M5668 (Jacket - Nancy Ziem) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 275 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:vflinn
photo
Friend of PR
About vflinn
Member since: 3/5/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/13 2:05 PM
Last Updated:9/11/13 2:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
Despite the photos, it looks like it a nice jacket for cool summer mornings or evenings. I like the collar - sort of 40ís-ish?
9/11/13 6:14 PM
vflinn said...
The collar is sort of '40's style - am into that stye for the fall season . Have to work on my photo skills - the current pic does not show the cool dots on the sheer - it turned out - was pleased with the results
9/12/13 5:34 AM
sewingcanary said...
Hi again. Sorry I canít make this thing do paragraphs. Yes, too bad I canít see the fabric. Iím so keen on the 40ís too. Part of my interest stems from a TV show called Bomb Girls. I was hoping for another season, but alas. Cancelled. It was about the Canadian women who built the bombs during WWII. Their website is fun. Itís interactive. Scroll along the vertical scroll bar and thereís little gears and things. Click on them and it opens up a new little window. It takes you through the whole set and had some links to where you can find similar clothes and accessories. The ďextrasĒ page has links several links to ďget the lookĒ. Some of the clothes they bought from vintage shops, etsy, some are likely in CBC and National Film board wardrobes, and knowing Canada (who has a love for ďperiod piecesĒ), some were surely made for the show. Depending where you are, you may be able to watch the episodes if you are so inclined. Iím in Canada and not sure where it works. I love the practicality of the 40ís styles - clean, simple, pretty prints etc. not the tons and tons of fabric and big fat skirts like the 50ís. Hope you can see it. http://www.globaltv.com/bombgirls/index.html http://www.globaltv.com/bombgirls/2013/February/Get_The_Bomb_Girls_Look_-_Gladys_Witham/ Another thing that tweaked my interest was a couple of my motherís dresses from the 50sí. Iíve always wanted to find her pattern with the V neck and low front shoulder with tucks across it. Thereís a zillion vintage pattern vendors online. The most expensive pattern Iíve see so far is $137! Iím thinking I should just make it up from memory. Cheers.
9/14/13 8:02 PM
vflinn said...
What fun--off to look at the Bomb Girls website -- agree with your comments re: the 40's style !!
9/14/13 8:39 PM
sewingcanary said...
I had to wade through a lot of pages to get back here. Lots of sewing going on here! I can barely pull myself away. Hope you were able to see the Bomb Girls. Here, you can still watch the shows. I thought I was sure about my shirt /blouse patterns but am thinking againÖ Hmmm. Iím wondering about changing out the collars and stands with a 40s collar like yours. I want to do my muslin print with ĺ sleeves and cuffs. I wasnít going to buy more fabric, but fell head over heels for the mellowest green chambray. It says 100% cotton but has a light stretch. I have a dark green cotton flannel for over-shirt - if I get that far. Canít wait, but alas, the geese have been flying for 3+ weeks, the wind howls and itís time to get winterizing. It was a short summer. Look forward to some real sewing time soon. Oh! Did the 40s ladies ever wear plain collar stands (no collar), or were all of their blouses collared? I think the men did, but not sure about the ladies. Cheers.
9/22/13 1:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

No Pattern Used Sewing machine cover
photo
Review by Nessa09 on 4/12/10
Read Review

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3601
photo
Review by mhoutz on 8/4/13
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6811 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us