SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5879 (Misses' Dress and Sash)

1 more reviews
Viewed 608 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 112 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/13 10:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Fabulous, indeed. Beautiful fabric and very helpful review. Would love to see the dress on you.
9/5/13 10:25 AM
slmstyle said...
How lovely! The silk crepe de chine from Mood is perfect for this style. Thank you for your detailed review of this pattern. I'm sure it looks great on you :)
9/5/13 11:57 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, yeah! This is a beauty and I bet it looks sensational on you. Luscious fabric!
9/5/13 12:05 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks ladies. My camera with the self timer is on the fritz but I've added an in-progress iPhone-in-the-mirror shot. Please ignore the background...laundry day!
9/5/13 12:13 PM
grays08 said...
Very pretty and VH review! Lovely with the silk (but yeah tedious w/the narrow hems) and love Bemberg - it wears/breathes wonderfully! Your adjustments are great too, wonderful job!
9/5/13 12:53 PM
CissieW said...
That print is fantastic. I've eyed it for a while now -- your dress makes me want to bite the bullet. 'Cause I need more fabric, right? At any rate, despite your issues, the outcome is terrific!
9/5/13 2:10 PM
HRigg said...
This looks quite an intriguing design with the halter neckline and flounces- very feminine. Love the fabric, noticed it elsewhere and thought how nice it would be to wear. Looks just perfect for this style. Worth the hassle.
9/5/13 3:50 PM
Barbara V said...
What a pretty dress and style that looks lovely on you. I can imagine that tiny hem on the flounces was tedious, but it looks great. Thanks too for sharing the cartoon, you're right, it's hilarious!
9/5/13 5:17 PM
SewWil said...
Such a pretty dress! So feminine. Great job making this pattern work. Your fabric is lovely and perfect for this style.
9/5/13 8:09 PM
CypGrl said...
Looks wonderful on you. Loved the cartoon too. Thanks for sharing it.
9/5/13 8:22 PM
Marla1 said...
Pretty dress and fabric!
9/5/13 9:06 PM
kiawah said...
You're fine feminine frock with the festooned flounces made out of fiddly fabric will be fabulous for fall!
9/5/13 11:55 PM
margy.64 said...
Very feminine and pretty dress.
9/6/13 1:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like this dress pattern after seeing your version of this dress. Lovely fabric.
9/6/13 5:22 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Lovely on you and I love your fabric choice! Change the cartoon to Viking and I may have to frame that one!
9/6/13 8:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
BEAUTIFUL dress that would have cost a fortune in silk, I hear you on the rolled hem foot. On a flounced ruffle for a blouse I made I lined it with the same fabric, (you know right sides together inside them out) and the edge was done, it turned out perfect and did not add added weight to the ruffle. I'm a little passionate about Bemberg Rayon myself Julie so watch it ;)
9/6/13 9:24 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh it's so pretty! I really love the combination of fabric and pattern!
9/7/13 9:08 AM
liliv said...
The flounce has a perfect flow! Lovely!
9/12/13 4:14 AM
gill1987 said...
That's a gorgeous dress, caught my eye when I was looking through the gallery!
9/20/13 3:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-109

photo
by: Janiki

Review
McCall's 6570

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now