Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5879 (Misses' Dress and Sash) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 490 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/13 10:18 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Fabulous, indeed. Beautiful fabric and very helpful review. Would love to see the dress on you.
9/5/13 10:25 AM
slmstyle said...
How lovely! The silk crepe de chine from Mood is perfect for this style. Thank you for your detailed review of this pattern. I'm sure it looks great on you :)
9/5/13 11:57 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, yeah! This is a beauty and I bet it looks sensational on you. Luscious fabric!
9/5/13 12:05 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks ladies. My camera with the self timer is on the fritz but I've added an in-progress iPhone-in-the-mirror shot. Please ignore the background...laundry day!
9/5/13 12:13 PM
grays08 said...
Very pretty and VH review! Lovely with the silk (but yeah tedious w/the narrow hems) and love Bemberg - it wears/breathes wonderfully! Your adjustments are great too, wonderful job!
9/5/13 12:53 PM
CissieW said...
That print is fantastic. I've eyed it for a while now -- your dress makes me want to bite the bullet. 'Cause I need more fabric, right? At any rate, despite your issues, the outcome is terrific!
9/5/13 2:10 PM
HRigg said...
This looks quite an intriguing design with the halter neckline and flounces- very feminine. Love the fabric, noticed it elsewhere and thought how nice it would be to wear. Looks just perfect for this style. Worth the hassle.
9/5/13 3:50 PM
Barbara V said...
What a pretty dress and style that looks lovely on you. I can imagine that tiny hem on the flounces was tedious, but it looks great. Thanks too for sharing the cartoon, you're right, it's hilarious!
9/5/13 5:17 PM
SewWil said...
Such a pretty dress! So feminine. Great job making this pattern work. Your fabric is lovely and perfect for this style.
9/5/13 8:09 PM
CypGrl said...
Looks wonderful on you. Loved the cartoon too. Thanks for sharing it.
9/5/13 8:22 PM
Marla1 said...
Pretty dress and fabric!
9/5/13 9:06 PM
kiawah said...
You're fine feminine frock with the festooned flounces made out of fiddly fabric will be fabulous for fall!
9/5/13 11:55 PM
margy.64 said...
Very feminine and pretty dress.
9/6/13 1:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like this dress pattern after seeing your version of this dress. Lovely fabric.
9/6/13 5:22 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Lovely on you and I love your fabric choice! Change the cartoon to Viking and I may have to frame that one!
9/6/13 8:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
BEAUTIFUL dress that would have cost a fortune in silk, I hear you on the rolled hem foot. On a flounced ruffle for a blouse I made I lined it with the same fabric, (you know right sides together inside them out) and the edge was done, it turned out perfect and did not add added weight to the ruffle. I'm a little passionate about Bemberg Rayon myself Julie so watch it ;)
9/6/13 9:24 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh it's so pretty! I really love the combination of fabric and pattern!
9/7/13 9:08 AM
liliv said...
The flounce has a perfect flow! Lovely!
9/12/13 4:14 AM
gill1987 said...
That's a gorgeous dress, caught my eye when I was looking through the gallery!
9/20/13 3:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's M5813 Easy Pants
photo
Review by moonchild6... on 4/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Self Drafted
photo
Review by CharityAK on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us