SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts)

32 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danmar
FL United States
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/13 7:21 AM


Simplicity: 2339 by Danmar  Simplicity: 2339 by Danmar    
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature\\'s Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lcdrbetty said...
This is my favorite style shirt, & you did a great job...fits beautifully. I have this pattern & will give it a shot.I too, seem to make mistakes on every garment I sew...usually stupid ones. Great review!
9/12/13 8:27 AM
Danmar said...
SewingCanary--thank you for the tips--checking them out now. I too was very surprised that I used the size 8 pattern. But like I said it was a stretch cotton. I used the C bust adjustment and pinned the paper pattern on for a fitting. I was being lazy and made no muslin but I got away with it. Thanks everybody for the comments. The nice feedback feels so good!
9/12/13 7:01 AM
HRigg said...
Smart looking shirt. Thanks for your review.
9/12/13 3:51 AM
sewingcanary said...
PS - this Amazing Fit pattern really amazed me. I tissue fitted 3 pattern fronts: B, C, and D cup. What a difference each made in the way the pattern fit, how it hung and how it will look when finished. I am totally sold on taking time to do proper large bust adjustments. This pattern does it for you.
9/11/13 9:02 PM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks so much for your review. Your shirt is lovely. This is going to be my go-to shirt. I was surprised you cut smaller than you measured as the pattern looks to be quite fitted. I havenít made it yet but will be cutting a size larger than I expected, however I will be using non-stretch fabric. I discovered a good use for all the iron-on interfacing I found in my stash, so I did this today: Hope this takes you to FashionSewingBlogTV - Preserving Your Sewing Patterns. This woman has some good tutorials on youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NJxvTrXIh0. Thanks also for the tip about the collar width. I might narrow mine a bit. Iím going to try the thread through the collar corner trick. Also, re collars, the following collar assembly tutorial is excellent. It looks long and tedious, but is the way my collar process has morphed over the years. The website it geared mainly to professional tailoring but thereís a ton of information that applies to general sewing. This woman knows her stuff! A Tale and Tutorial of Three Collars. http://www.fashion-incubator.com/archive/a-tale-and-tutorial-of-three-collars/ Kudos Damar for a job well done.
9/11/13 8:58 PM
FreyaStark said...
An excellent shirt and a perfect fit. Now that you've seen how good a shirt can look, maybe you will make more of them!
9/11/13 7:57 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful shirt! The pride shines through in your review. The next one will be that much easier :))
9/11/13 5:49 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your fit is PERFECT! Great job!
9/11/13 4:06 PM
ArtAttack said...
Pretty blouse! Great fit!
9/11/13 2:56 PM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful, professional-looking shirt! And thank you for the link about collar points.
9/11/13 1:14 PM
slmstyle said...
Very nice shirt! It looks well made and a great fit for you.
9/11/13 11:40 AM
NC Carol said...
What a nice shirt! The fit is spot on and the pattern/fabric thing works. I'm in the same boat as far as trying new techniques. Now there's usually a better way than what I learned in Home Ec in 1972...
9/11/13 9:46 AM
PattyE said...
I love striped button-downs and this one looks great. You definitely should be proud of this!
9/11/13 9:25 AM
margy.64 said...
Very smart looking shirt and a perfect fit.
9/11/13 7:49 AM
mm said...
You should be proud. It is a very fine shirt.
9/11/13 7:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Other 0000 Purse

photo
by: LauraJ

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

More Info