SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts)

32 more reviews
Viewed 348 times 
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danmar
FL United States
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/13 7:21 AM


Simplicity: 2339 by Danmar  Simplicity: 2339 by Danmar    
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
You should be proud. It is a very fine shirt.
9/11/13 7:37 AM
margy.64 said...
Very smart looking shirt and a perfect fit.
9/11/13 7:49 AM
PattyE said...
I love striped button-downs and this one looks great. You definitely should be proud of this!
9/11/13 9:25 AM
NC Carol said...
What a nice shirt! The fit is spot on and the pattern/fabric thing works. I'm in the same boat as far as trying new techniques. Now there's usually a better way than what I learned in Home Ec in 1972...
9/11/13 9:46 AM
slmstyle said...
Very nice shirt! It looks well made and a great fit for you.
9/11/13 11:40 AM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful, professional-looking shirt! And thank you for the link about collar points.
9/11/13 1:14 PM
ArtAttack said...
Pretty blouse! Great fit!
9/11/13 2:56 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your fit is PERFECT! Great job!
9/11/13 4:06 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful shirt! The pride shines through in your review. The next one will be that much easier :))
9/11/13 5:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
An excellent shirt and a perfect fit. Now that you've seen how good a shirt can look, maybe you will make more of them!
9/11/13 7:57 PM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks so much for your review. Your shirt is lovely. This is going to be my go-to shirt. I was surprised you cut smaller than you measured as the pattern looks to be quite fitted. I havenít made it yet but will be cutting a size larger than I expected, however I will be using non-stretch fabric. I discovered a good use for all the iron-on interfacing I found in my stash, so I did this today: Hope this takes you to FashionSewingBlogTV - Preserving Your Sewing Patterns. This woman has some good tutorials on youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NJxvTrXIh0. Thanks also for the tip about the collar width. I might narrow mine a bit. Iím going to try the thread through the collar corner trick. Also, re collars, the following collar assembly tutorial is excellent. It looks long and tedious, but is the way my collar process has morphed over the years. The website it geared mainly to professional tailoring but thereís a ton of information that applies to general sewing. This woman knows her stuff! A Tale and Tutorial of Three Collars. http://www.fashion-incubator.com/archive/a-tale-and-tutorial-of-three-collars/ Kudos Damar for a job well done.
9/11/13 8:58 PM
sewingcanary said...
PS - this Amazing Fit pattern really amazed me. I tissue fitted 3 pattern fronts: B, C, and D cup. What a difference each made in the way the pattern fit, how it hung and how it will look when finished. I am totally sold on taking time to do proper large bust adjustments. This pattern does it for you.
9/11/13 9:02 PM
HRigg said...
Smart looking shirt. Thanks for your review.
9/12/13 3:51 AM
Danmar said...
SewingCanary--thank you for the tips--checking them out now. I too was very surprised that I used the size 8 pattern. But like I said it was a stretch cotton. I used the C bust adjustment and pinned the paper pattern on for a fitting. I was being lazy and made no muslin but I got away with it. Thanks everybody for the comments. The nice feedback feels so good!
9/12/13 7:01 AM
lcdrbetty said...
This is my favorite style shirt, & you did a great job...fits beautifully. I have this pattern & will give it a shot.I too, seem to make mistakes on every garment I sew...usually stupid ones. Great review!
9/12/13 8:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6007

photo
by: Erinnb

Review
Other Pristine Swing Dress

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now