Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 320 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR
About Danmar
FL USA
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/13 7:21 AM


Simplicity: 2339 by Danmar  Simplicity: 2339 by Danmar    
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
You should be proud. It is a very fine shirt.
9/11/13 7:37 AM
margy.64 said...
Very smart looking shirt and a perfect fit.
9/11/13 7:49 AM
PattyE said...
I love striped button-downs and this one looks great. You definitely should be proud of this!
9/11/13 9:25 AM
NC Carol said...
What a nice shirt! The fit is spot on and the pattern/fabric thing works. I'm in the same boat as far as trying new techniques. Now there's usually a better way than what I learned in Home Ec in 1972...
9/11/13 9:46 AM
slmstyle said...
Very nice shirt! It looks well made and a great fit for you.
9/11/13 11:40 AM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful, professional-looking shirt! And thank you for the link about collar points.
9/11/13 1:14 PM
ArtAttack said...
Pretty blouse! Great fit!
9/11/13 2:56 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your fit is PERFECT! Great job!
9/11/13 4:06 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful shirt! The pride shines through in your review. The next one will be that much easier :))
9/11/13 5:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
An excellent shirt and a perfect fit. Now that you've seen how good a shirt can look, maybe you will make more of them!
9/11/13 7:57 PM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks so much for your review. Your shirt is lovely. This is going to be my go-to shirt. I was surprised you cut smaller than you measured as the pattern looks to be quite fitted. I havenít made it yet but will be cutting a size larger than I expected, however I will be using non-stretch fabric. I discovered a good use for all the iron-on interfacing I found in my stash, so I did this today: Hope this takes you to FashionSewingBlogTV - Preserving Your Sewing Patterns. This woman has some good tutorials on youtube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NJxvTrXIh0. Thanks also for the tip about the collar width. I might narrow mine a bit. Iím going to try the thread through the collar corner trick. Also, re collars, the following collar assembly tutorial is excellent. It looks long and tedious, but is the way my collar process has morphed over the years. The website it geared mainly to professional tailoring but thereís a ton of information that applies to general sewing. This woman knows her stuff! A Tale and Tutorial of Three Collars. http://www.fashion-incubator.com/archive/a-tale-and-tutorial-of-three-collars/ Kudos Damar for a job well done.
9/11/13 8:58 PM
sewingcanary said...
PS - this Amazing Fit pattern really amazed me. I tissue fitted 3 pattern fronts: B, C, and D cup. What a difference each made in the way the pattern fit, how it hung and how it will look when finished. I am totally sold on taking time to do proper large bust adjustments. This pattern does it for you.
9/11/13 9:02 PM
HRigg said...
Smart looking shirt. Thanks for your review.
9/12/13 3:51 AM
Danmar said...
SewingCanary--thank you for the tips--checking them out now. I too was very surprised that I used the size 8 pattern. But like I said it was a stretch cotton. I used the C bust adjustment and pinned the paper pattern on for a fitting. I was being lazy and made no muslin but I got away with it. Thanks everybody for the comments. The nice feedback feels so good!
9/12/13 7:01 AM
lcdrbetty said...
This is my favorite style shirt, & you did a great job...fits beautifully. I have this pattern & will give it a shot.I too, seem to make mistakes on every garment I sew...usually stupid ones. Great review!
9/12/13 8:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2918 Mens T-Shirts
photo
Review by Elsie14 on 7/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2008-2 Denim skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/7/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us