Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 159384-1000 (From taking apart RTW) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 107 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:SewLibra
photo
Friend of PR
About SewLibrastar
CA USA
Member since: 12/2/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/13 0:52 AM
Last Updated:9/8/13 2:22 AM


Self Drafted Pattern: 159384-1000 by SewLibra  Self Drafted Pattern: 159384-1000 by SewLibra  
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
WOW I always have been tempted to take apart RTW and try this but I look at what little RTW I have and I can't do it yet. Your pants look great, the fit is perfection and that welt pocket is way too good for your first. I feel your pain on the mishap with the scissors, thanks for sharing these pants ;)
9/8/13 9:51 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Worth all your effort, I have yet to do this! Great job and they look very nice on you!
9/8/13 10:58 AM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! What an accomplishment! Your welt tutorial is great and I must remember it when I tackle that soon. VH review and super muslin for your perfect fitting pants!
9/8/13 11:25 AM
sewingcanary said...
KUDOS and congrats! Great job! On that hole you cut, try using some fray stop. Itís great. Linen will get softer and less wrinkly with time so you may find you like these more later than you do now. If you use a stretch fabric youíll likely end up taking them in. Someone told me cutting ľĒ off - or taking in - will help or vise versa. I havenít tried it yet though. Iíve promised myself not to buy stretch fabric until I master my new pattern and use up the fabric I have. Iím so impressed with the results people are having with making their own patterns, especially pants. Again, KUDOS. I canít find the link for the first part, but itís on this website. This site is run by a woman who does professional work. Itís mainly geared to tailored garments but her tutorials are fabulous. Check out her collar process. http://www.fashion-incubator.com/archive/tutorial-finishing-the-welt-pocket/
9/8/13 1:14 PM
SewLibra said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments and I anticipate the next pair to be faster and easier, especially because I won't be stopping to write notes and take pics! Sewingcanary, thank you for the tips. I have some black linen/rayon blend in my stash and I appreciate the reminder that linen does get better after a couple of washings.
9/9/13 8:42 PM
Sarah Liz said...
I must try this one day - pity you snipped a hole in them, but this just means you must make another pair :)
9/11/13 2:33 AM
liliv said...
Great job, great fit, love them!!
9/12/13 4:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us