SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Seamster Patterns> 1401 (Dandelion dress & top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 960 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 112 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/13 1:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RoseE said...
Great review. Very interesting design on this dress. I've added to my wish list!
9/9/13 2:26 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my! This does look like a winner! What great lines. Forgive me, but where's the pear? You look like about a size negative 2 in this! Super find...must check it out.
9/9/13 2:29 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Super super...COol! I love the dart and seam on this dress also. And for that very reason I must get this pattern! Thans for reviewing int and I love your version! And yes I do have a ton of sheath dress patterns. :)
9/9/13 2:35 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
See Dorcas- I told you it's magic!! (Thank you for that comment, though!)
9/9/13 2:38 PM
Re Becca said...
This is so elegant and slimming! I may have to get this dress!
9/9/13 3:11 PM
pottedpancake said...
I'm printing your review pic to hang in my sewing room. It's proof that a perfect fit IS possible, and that meticulous construction & pressing is well worth the effort. What a stunning dress, and what an accomplished seamstress you are. Your finished result is what I've been striving for these past 8 years. WOW. (BTW, if you're pear-shaped, Angelina Jolie is pudgy.)
9/9/13 3:21 PM
STARG said...
Very nice. I must add to my wish list.
9/9/13 3:24 PM
trudiz said...
Thank you for a helpful and inspiring review. I am immediately going to get the pattern for this magic dress. Yours is beautifully done.
9/9/13 3:40 PM
Danmar said...
I am a bit in awe of you now. Such a nice smooth fit and beautiful workmanship. Cant wait to see your next one too.
9/9/13 4:00 PM
mnitts said...
Agree very helpful review and great looking dress. Thanks for highlighting this one!
9/9/13 4:03 PM
HRigg said...
An interesting review and an intriguing pattern. Fantastic fit and I like the little bit of piping.
9/9/13 4:09 PM
Vicsguy said...
Stunning!
9/9/13 5:44 PM
CissieW said...
Wow, Julie. The lines on this dress are incredible. Like you, I have 1000+ sheath dress patterns. Can't hurt to have one more. Is your dress lined?
9/9/13 5:46 PM
mnitts said...
Btw do you really think this pattern would work best with softer less structured fabrics?
9/9/13 6:10 PM
Dale C said...
Cool dart details! And I agree, you look great!
9/9/13 7:06 PM
beanchor said...
I love this! The fit is impeccable! The piping and fabric are a great combo!
9/9/13 8:28 PM
carrie18584 said...
So beautiful! Its so flattering, you look seriously amazing in the dress and it looks comfortable too! I can't wait to get my hands on this pattern as well!
9/9/13 10:40 PM
cleverkitty said...
yes I agree great lines great fit, love the look of this dress. Thanks for a great review on this pattern you find the best ones ;)
9/9/13 11:03 PM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful, elegant dress. I love everything about it. Thankyou for the detailed and very helpful review.
9/9/13 11:21 PM
SewLibra said...
I am trying to comment on this beautiful super tailored dress but still laughing about "He got up, unplugged my Bernina and poured out my wine!" commentary on your Flickr. So funny and I dare not share that with DH - yikes! Your dress fits beautifully but I am a bit surprised by the bust darts. You always hear they should be at least an inch in from your bust point and from the side it looks like more. However from the front, it looks perfect! I don't get it but I love it!
9/10/13 0:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress. Love the side view you provided and that made it a patter I wanted to try.
9/10/13 5:16 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thank you so much everyone for your nice compliments on this one. Cissie, no it isn't lined. I did finish the seam allowances on my serger, tapering off when I neared the French dart points. Mnitts, I've given the fabric thing a lot of thought. Velosewer's linen version looks great and for the shorter top version I think any fabric would work. I do feel some drape to the fabric is necessary to take full advantage of the lines on the dress length. Personally, I would think twice about an underlining since two layers of fabric might disrupt the smooth darts and seams. A fusible underlining might be a good option if your fabric is a bit too sheer. Or avoid all that and do as I did yesterday - just wear a half slip :)
9/10/13 7:38 AM
grays08 said...
What a magical little pattern to showcase, how fantastic! Great job and wonderful fit.
9/10/13 9:21 AM
lamstu said...
I've never seen this company before and I'm glad that I saw your review! Sheath dresses usually don't work that well for me (too many curves in too short of a vertical distance), but now I want to try this interesting dress for myself. The pattern addiction continues... And your dress is gorgeous, even in this muslin.
9/10/13 9:38 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Thank you for introducing me to this company! What an interesting and pretty dress. I've always been hesitant to sew French darts but you've certainly put my fear of this technique to rest! Fabulous review, Julie!
9/10/13 9:59 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful looking dress and the fit is perfect
9/10/13 10:44 AM
SusiM said...
Such a beautiful dress and what a marvelous review! It makes me want to get this NOW NOW!!!
9/10/13 11:49 AM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress - lovely lines - and a marvelous fit!
9/10/13 12:11 PM
JOshiro said...
Very interesting design that really highlights your lovely figure. Well done!
9/10/13 12:15 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! This dress is soooo flattering on you. I love a sheath and must have this pattern.
9/10/13 12:20 PM
SavageCoco said...
I'm jealous. JEALOUS I tell you. Superbly done.
9/10/13 12:43 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Fabulous! I'd really like to consider this one...but I can't do back zippers after mutiple shoulder surgeries, it looks like a side zip would not work in this ~ would you agree?
9/10/13 6:22 PM
liliv said...
So pretty and refined, very stylish! Have I told you that I love your sewing style?
9/11/13 4:55 AM
velosewer said...
Julie. Your version is so stylish and neat. It's divine.
9/12/13 1:45 AM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
Beautiful fit!!! You look stunning and thanks for reviewing your concern about the darts, I too would have been holding my breath.
9/12/13 8:23 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Wow, must give this pattern company a try.
9/19/13 2:30 AM
WatersRat said...
Gorgeous!!! ;)
9/28/13 9:11 AM
Sew Good said...
I have never heard of this pattern company before. What a lovely dress. Thank you for the review!
11/24/13 2:46 PM
AnneM said...
Late to the party, but I love your dress! I am actually looking for a fitted woven top, and this looks like just the pattern for me. As a bonus, I might make the dress. I didn't realize it was designed for pear shapes; that is perfect for me. (I'm sure I'll still have to do a FBA.)
6/10/14 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

brerrabbit.com Popolok Kottie Coat

photo
by: Terri A

Review
McCall's 6069

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now