SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Seamster Patterns> 1401 (Dandelion dress & top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 993 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/13 1:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Late to the party, but I love your dress! I am actually looking for a fitted woven top, and this looks like just the pattern for me. As a bonus, I might make the dress. I didn't realize it was designed for pear shapes; that is perfect for me. (I'm sure I'll still have to do a FBA.)
6/10/14 10:59 AM
Sew Good said...
I have never heard of this pattern company before. What a lovely dress. Thank you for the review!
11/24/13 2:46 PM
WatersRat said...
Gorgeous!!! ;)
9/28/13 9:11 AM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Wow, must give this pattern company a try.
9/19/13 2:30 AM
Mimsy Borogoves said...
Beautiful fit!!! You look stunning and thanks for reviewing your concern about the darts, I too would have been holding my breath.
9/12/13 8:23 PM
velosewer said...
Julie. Your version is so stylish and neat. It's divine.
9/12/13 1:45 AM
liliv said...
So pretty and refined, very stylish! Have I told you that I love your sewing style?
9/11/13 4:55 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Fabulous! I'd really like to consider this one...but I can't do back zippers after mutiple shoulder surgeries, it looks like a side zip would not work in this ~ would you agree?
9/10/13 6:22 PM
SavageCoco said...
I'm jealous. JEALOUS I tell you. Superbly done.
9/10/13 12:43 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! This dress is soooo flattering on you. I love a sheath and must have this pattern.
9/10/13 12:20 PM
JOshiro said...
Very interesting design that really highlights your lovely figure. Well done!
9/10/13 12:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress - lovely lines - and a marvelous fit!
9/10/13 12:11 PM
SusiM said...
Such a beautiful dress and what a marvelous review! It makes me want to get this NOW NOW!!!
9/10/13 11:49 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful looking dress and the fit is perfect
9/10/13 10:44 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Thank you for introducing me to this company! What an interesting and pretty dress. I've always been hesitant to sew French darts but you've certainly put my fear of this technique to rest! Fabulous review, Julie!
9/10/13 9:59 AM
lamstu said...
I've never seen this company before and I'm glad that I saw your review! Sheath dresses usually don't work that well for me (too many curves in too short of a vertical distance), but now I want to try this interesting dress for myself. The pattern addiction continues... And your dress is gorgeous, even in this muslin.
9/10/13 9:38 AM
grays08 said...
What a magical little pattern to showcase, how fantastic! Great job and wonderful fit.
9/10/13 9:21 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thank you so much everyone for your nice compliments on this one. Cissie, no it isn't lined. I did finish the seam allowances on my serger, tapering off when I neared the French dart points. Mnitts, I've given the fabric thing a lot of thought. Velosewer's linen version looks great and for the shorter top version I think any fabric would work. I do feel some drape to the fabric is necessary to take full advantage of the lines on the dress length. Personally, I would think twice about an underlining since two layers of fabric might disrupt the smooth darts and seams. A fusible underlining might be a good option if your fabric is a bit too sheer. Or avoid all that and do as I did yesterday - just wear a half slip :)
9/10/13 7:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress. Love the side view you provided and that made it a patter I wanted to try.
9/10/13 5:16 AM
SewLibra said...
I am trying to comment on this beautiful super tailored dress but still laughing about "He got up, unplugged my Bernina and poured out my wine!" commentary on your Flickr. So funny and I dare not share that with DH - yikes! Your dress fits beautifully but I am a bit surprised by the bust darts. You always hear they should be at least an inch in from your bust point and from the side it looks like more. However from the front, it looks perfect! I don't get it but I love it!
9/10/13 0:48 AM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful, elegant dress. I love everything about it. Thankyou for the detailed and very helpful review.
9/9/13 11:21 PM
cleverkitty said...
yes I agree great lines great fit, love the look of this dress. Thanks for a great review on this pattern you find the best ones ;)
9/9/13 11:03 PM
carrie18584 said...
So beautiful! Its so flattering, you look seriously amazing in the dress and it looks comfortable too! I can't wait to get my hands on this pattern as well!
9/9/13 10:40 PM
beanchor said...
I love this! The fit is impeccable! The piping and fabric are a great combo!
9/9/13 8:28 PM
Dale C said...
Cool dart details! And I agree, you look great!
9/9/13 7:06 PM
mnitts said...
Btw do you really think this pattern would work best with softer less structured fabrics?
9/9/13 6:10 PM
CissieW said...
Wow, Julie. The lines on this dress are incredible. Like you, I have 1000+ sheath dress patterns. Can't hurt to have one more. Is your dress lined?
9/9/13 5:46 PM
Vicsguy said...
Stunning!
9/9/13 5:44 PM
HRigg said...
An interesting review and an intriguing pattern. Fantastic fit and I like the little bit of piping.
9/9/13 4:09 PM
mnitts said...
Agree very helpful review and great looking dress. Thanks for highlighting this one!
9/9/13 4:03 PM
Danmar said...
I am a bit in awe of you now. Such a nice smooth fit and beautiful workmanship. Cant wait to see your next one too.
9/9/13 4:00 PM
trudiz said...
Thank you for a helpful and inspiring review. I am immediately going to get the pattern for this magic dress. Yours is beautifully done.
9/9/13 3:40 PM
STARG said...
Very nice. I must add to my wish list.
9/9/13 3:24 PM
pottedpancake said...
I'm printing your review pic to hang in my sewing room. It's proof that a perfect fit IS possible, and that meticulous construction & pressing is well worth the effort. What a stunning dress, and what an accomplished seamstress you are. Your finished result is what I've been striving for these past 8 years. WOW. (BTW, if you're pear-shaped, Angelina Jolie is pudgy.)
9/9/13 3:21 PM
Re Becca said...
This is so elegant and slimming! I may have to get this dress!
9/9/13 3:11 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
See Dorcas- I told you it's magic!! (Thank you for that comment, though!)
9/9/13 2:38 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Super super...COol! I love the dart and seam on this dress also. And for that very reason I must get this pattern! Thans for reviewing int and I love your version! And yes I do have a ton of sheath dress patterns. :)
9/9/13 2:35 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my! This does look like a winner! What great lines. Forgive me, but where's the pear? You look like about a size negative 2 in this! Super find...must check it out.
9/9/13 2:29 PM
RoseE said...
Great review. Very interesting design on this dress. I've added to my wish list!
9/9/13 2:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

More Info
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review