SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1806 (Misses Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyW
photo

 
 
About BeckyWstar
AL USA
Member since: 5/23/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/13 11:12 PM
Last Updated:9/10/13 11:25 PM


Simplicity: 1806 by BeckyW  Simplicity: 1806 by BeckyW  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pammieh said...
I love it on you -- I made this pattern as well -- but did have to make SUBSTANTIAL adjustments for fit. . . Great job!! Maybe you'll like it as it hangs about:)
9/10/13 11:20 PM
sunniek said...
I had the same experience, except the body fit great but the neckline in my size was too low and the collar a disaster. I think the collar should be cut on the bias. The collar just didn't look right. Still trying to save it somehow as I love the fabric. The center seams are not great.
9/11/13 0:08 AM
HRigg said...
The top looks nice and fresh and I think it looks fine but I hear what you say . Thanks for the helpful review
9/11/13 4:17 AM
Rebecca D said...
I think you're being a little tough on yourself here. You most certainly do not look pregnant on the back. I think you look good in it.
9/11/13 7:06 AM
Danmar said...
I made this top and sent it to the thrift store. That center seam just doesn't work. And it made me look huge. I am planning to try one of the other views soon.
9/11/13 7:12 AM
Lynn67 said...
I think it looks cute, but I hate center front seams too, and the back has a cape-ish effect - what happens when you run? Just kidding - somebody at Goodwill will love it!
9/11/13 8:25 AM
RobbieK said...
Life is too short to wear shirts you don't like. I don't think it's your best look.
9/11/13 8:34 AM
prttynpnk said...
You've really tamed this one- your collar came out alot better than mine did!!!
9/11/13 10:27 AM
pammieh said...
Also-- I made a peter pan collar on mine -- I do think the collar with the pattern is a disaster in the making unless you are making a ponte knit.
9/11/13 11:00 AM
SewWil said...
Your top looks very nice on you. I have this pattern and have been on the fence about making it. Thanks for the review.
9/11/13 11:09 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Yours is FABULOUS! And in voile too!? Mine was just awful :/ I love it, love it, love it on you!
9/11/13 12:15 PM
bebro said...
Your version looks like the envelope photo, and it looks fine on you, but your review (and others) is the last word--I will NOT be making this view, even though I too think the envelope photo is very cute.
9/11/13 12:37 PM
BeckyW said...
The peterpan collar would be cute and the other suggestion of cutting the collar on the bias is a good suggestion. The think that I hate the most about it is the way that the back pleat stands away from the body. I like the front after I added the lines of zigzag down the front to make the seams "make sense" to me, and I don't even mind the center front seam since it makes 3 nice lines down the front. I don't think that voile is the right fabric for it.
9/11/13 2:35 PM
Frozzy said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern, and its good to know fabric/pattern issues before cutting!! The collar seems to really droop down in the back, would softer fabric help that I wonder? Maybe rayon challis would be a good fabric choice for this pattern, so the collar would be softer, and the back pleat wouldn't stick out as much. Reading reviews like yours when it didn't turn out as good as you would have liked is even more helpful than reading reviews where the results were perfect. Thanks again!
9/11/13 2:47 PM
Pj3g said...
I love it on you too!
9/11/13 2:59 PM
sewingcanary said...
Some fabrics have a lot of sizing and take a few washes to soften. Give it time. If you donít like the pleat at the back you could press it closed, then stitch across it at waistline. It would bring it in yet the pleat would still be there. Try basting it first to see if it works for YOU. Perhaps it will be a favorite this time next year. Itís cute.
9/12/13 0:25 AM
TGWGWS said...
I agree with your assessment on this pattern. I think it would look better if the front was cut straight across. And maybe some kind of waist tie at the back or maybe a lace up detail at the back (waist to neck) or even a row of small buttons with loop closures (similar to a wedding dress) :)
9/12/13 2:13 AM
Wino said...
Same experience using a burnout voile....maybe in a fabric with more drape, like a rayon challis? Cute top but somehow fails in execution.
3/7/14 4:41 PM
KateLoom said...
I just bought this pattern, and your description of your measurements sound just like me: narrow shoulders and upper chest, C-cup in the front but narrower back, wider hip. I'm going to be using a drapey rayon because last time I made a top that called for voile it was a disaster. Re: the collar, I noticed on the instructions that it's cut on the straight grain. I decided to cut it on the bias. Good thing I saw your photos because I definitely don't want something that sticks out like that! Thanks for your helpful review!
6/28/14 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

StyleArc Heather Dress

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now