SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4685 (Fast )

20 more reviews
Viewed 157 times 
Reviewed by:Bendy
photo

 
 
About Bendystar
Member since: 1/28/12
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/13 2:37 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
Yes, this is a great website. I'm glad I found it. I have only one long-distance friend who sews. All but one fabric store, plus a quilt shop remain. I've had so many ideas and plans since I found PR. I just wish I had the time.
10/21/13 10:53 PM
Bendy said...
Hey sewingcanary, thanks, it's good to feel that I am not the only one this happens too. I'll have to start washing in hot (never done that with clothes before, but it sounds like a really good idea!). I really like this website, especially since I don't know anyone else who sews! Good luck on your cords and nightshirt!
9/30/13 10:10 PM
sewingcanary said...
Yes, I think you need to go hotter. The reason I wash as hot as possible is once in a moon I do a HOT load and forget to reset the temp. Also, I figure it will shrink it to the max. I always pre-treat things harder than I intend later. Everything is packed and stored with pesticides now, and I want to feel they’ve been totally removed. RTW is horrible for that! I can smell it in the stores! I also started pre-shrinking questionable fabrics more than once. I made a perfect fitting pair of jeans cords. They were my first self-made pattern. I was so proud. I pre-shrank but they kept on shrinking until I looked like I was waiting for a flood. I would have cut them off but they got too tight. I also had that happen with a creamy 100% cotton twill. I dreamed of them turning to butter. I squeaked through the summer with them but was very sad to see them go. Both those pieces shrank at least 5-6 washings. Oddly, I’ve had both cord and twill that never shrank. Go figure. If you like woven cottons, the quilting cottons seem to be pretty stable. They tend to be pricy unless you catch a sale. My dress muslin cotton was the cheapest of the quilters. It’s a bit wrinkly. I washed the piece for the final dress, dried it, then wet, spun and dried it again. Barely a wrinkle. I drafted the pattern before I learned what I know now. I was afraid of it being too small and made it too big. Need help from a friend. I think it’s put off now until spring. The geese have been flying and the wind blowing. I think it’s time to test the pant pattern I’ve been working on - rusty corduroy from old stash… after I finish up my Royal Velvet (400 count cotton sheet) nightshirt. Cheers.
9/22/13 1:02 AM
Bendy said...
Yes, I do pre-shrink my fabrics, but I'm just throwing them in on the gentle cycle and then the dryer. I should be using hotter water though maybe? My problem is that fabrics seem to keep on shrinking after I've sewn my project, and then...well, it's all for nothing :(
9/11/13 11:32 PM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks for this review. It’s a cute top. The stripes really work! It also gives me some ideas on how to transform a way too big long sleeve tee. It’s so big I normally wouldn’t bother but it was a freebie and is super-soft 100% cotton in a warm cerulean sky blue. Thanks also for mentioning elastic widths. Btw, you said “shrink”. If you pre-shrink your fabrics there’s no guesswork. I usually do them at a hotter temp than I normally would, just in case. If you take the time to baste - or use glue stick - on narrow hems, you’ll find where the pay-off is. Cheers!
9/11/13 6:07 PM
Pj3g said...
What a cute summer top!
9/11/13 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2529

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
Butterick B5196

photo
by: leoniep

Review