SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5873 (Misses' Dress and Sash)

6 more reviews
Viewed 998 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 144 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/13 8:20 AM
Last Updated:9/12/13 8:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Beautiful!!!
11/8/13 11:07 PM
dmitch1966 said...
Wow, this dress looks fantastic on you. Fit is spot on, fabric is gorgeous and now I want one too!! Congrats on your 100th review, it's sewists like you who really keep this site current with the many, many pattern options we have available to us. Thank you so much for your efforts. :-)
9/24/13 7:20 PM
chenille said...
Wow, another stunner! Congrats on the 100 reviews - very much appreciated.
9/14/13 8:35 AM
threaddy said...
Stunning, as usual!
9/13/13 11:49 PM
Diane333 said...
The pattern and fabric are perfect for this dress. Did you raise the neckline? The pattern shows a plunging neckline.
9/13/13 7:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another well fitting and great looking dress!
9/13/13 7:03 AM
lamstu said...
I love this pattern too, for the same reasons as you stated. I hope that I will make it soon, and when I do I'll definitely reread your helpful review. Looks awesome on you too!
9/13/13 4:33 AM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful dress. Very similar to McCalls 6163, which is now OOP. Nice to know there is an alternative pattern available.
9/12/13 10:21 PM
Nenewhis said...
Nice pattern review. It's very flattering and your fabric choice is spot on. I am sure you will get a lot of wear out of this dress!
9/12/13 7:38 PM
beanchor said...
I would have missed this one. Your dress is lovely. I have to grab this one. I like the one piece bodice too.
9/12/13 3:52 PM
slmstyle said...
Great dress! Looks amazing on you (as usual) and the fabric from Mood is perfect for this style. Also, congrats on PR #100! Keep on sewing!
9/12/13 12:23 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is so pretty! Thanks for the tip on underlining the bodice. This one is in my pattern stash and I'm encouraged here to choose it soon!
9/12/13 11:05 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is adorable on you! Love the fabric. I see another PR'er pegged this as M6163. I have it and it's one of my favorites. Thanks for the reminder!
9/12/13 10:28 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Love your fabric choice. Looks like I'm adding another fake wrap dress pattern to my stash.
9/12/13 10:25 AM
Dynamo said...
This pattern looks almost identical to McCall's 6163, which has quite a few reviews, and I already own. Yippy. I have noticed this before with "See & Sew" ... often they are missing one or two options, in this case long sleeves. Anyway, your version is lovely. I just love the fabric, and as always, great fit and sewing skill!
9/12/13 10:03 AM
Dellia45 said...
The colors are so vivid. This is a beautiful dress and it looks fantastic on you.
9/12/13 10:02 AM
HRigg said...
Great dress. I rather like the raglan sleeves. Lovely photos on your blog.
9/12/13 9:43 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Looks wonderful on you! The fit is superb and I love your neckline finish. You and Julie both look stunning! I think there is something so special about wearing a custom creation
9/12/13 9:36 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is my favorite of your knit dresses. Love the raglan sleeves and especially your neckline finishing method. Now I'm off to the Mood website before this beach camo fabric runs out!
9/12/13 9:15 AM
grays08 said...
I think this is just fantastic and wonderful with your fabric choice!
9/12/13 9:04 AM
Christine Kille said...
Congratulations on your 100th review! The big 3 pattern companies need to send you a commission check, without fail I end up buying the patterns after reading your reviews and seeing your wonderful interpretations. This pattern wasn't even on my radar!
9/12/13 9:03 AM
Adaire said...
Just lovely on you! Love the fabric! Headed out to buy the pattern. I will have to use the longer sleeves because of my age but am pleased that they are an option. Thanks for the lining tips. Do you think this would still be pretty if I lengthen it just a couple of inches? (Old knees, you know. Sigh.)
9/12/13 8:56 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Love your dress. I recently bought this pattern so was pleased to read your review
9/12/13 8:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6952

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-37

photo
by: 21wale

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now