Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5873 (Misses' Dress and Sash) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 853 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/13 8:20 AM
Last Updated:9/12/13 8:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $2.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KBT Sewer said...
Love your dress. I recently bought this pattern so was pleased to read your review
9/12/13 8:27 AM
Adaire said...
Just lovely on you! Love the fabric! Headed out to buy the pattern. I will have to use the longer sleeves because of my age but am pleased that they are an option. Thanks for the lining tips. Do you think this would still be pretty if I lengthen it just a couple of inches? (Old knees, you know. Sigh.)
9/12/13 8:56 AM
Christine Kille said...
Congratulations on your 100th review! The big 3 pattern companies need to send you a commission check, without fail I end up buying the patterns after reading your reviews and seeing your wonderful interpretations. This pattern wasn't even on my radar!
9/12/13 9:03 AM
grays08 said...
I think this is just fantastic and wonderful with your fabric choice!
9/12/13 9:04 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is my favorite of your knit dresses. Love the raglan sleeves and especially your neckline finishing method. Now I'm off to the Mood website before this beach camo fabric runs out!
9/12/13 9:15 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Looks wonderful on you! The fit is superb and I love your neckline finish. You and Julie both look stunning! I think there is something so special about wearing a custom creation
9/12/13 9:36 AM
HRigg said...
Great dress. I rather like the raglan sleeves. Lovely photos on your blog.
9/12/13 9:43 AM
Dellia45 said...
The colors are so vivid. This is a beautiful dress and it looks fantastic on you.
9/12/13 10:02 AM
Dynamo said...
This pattern looks almost identical to McCall's 6163, which has quite a few reviews, and I already own. Yippy. I have noticed this before with "See & Sew" ... often they are missing one or two options, in this case long sleeves. Anyway, your version is lovely. I just love the fabric, and as always, great fit and sewing skill!
9/12/13 10:03 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Love your fabric choice. Looks like I'm adding another fake wrap dress pattern to my stash.
9/12/13 10:25 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is adorable on you! Love the fabric. I see another PR'er pegged this as M6163. I have it and it's one of my favorites. Thanks for the reminder!
9/12/13 10:28 AM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is so pretty! Thanks for the tip on underlining the bodice. This one is in my pattern stash and I'm encouraged here to choose it soon!
9/12/13 11:05 AM
slmstyle said...
Great dress! Looks amazing on you (as usual) and the fabric from Mood is perfect for this style. Also, congrats on PR #100! Keep on sewing!
9/12/13 12:23 PM
beanchor said...
I would have missed this one. Your dress is lovely. I have to grab this one. I like the one piece bodice too.
9/12/13 3:52 PM
Nenewhis said...
Nice pattern review. It's very flattering and your fabric choice is spot on. I am sure you will get a lot of wear out of this dress!
9/12/13 7:38 PM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful dress. Very similar to McCalls 6163, which is now OOP. Nice to know there is an alternative pattern available.
9/12/13 10:21 PM
lamstu said...
I love this pattern too, for the same reasons as you stated. I hope that I will make it soon, and when I do I'll definitely reread your helpful review. Looks awesome on you too!
9/13/13 4:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another well fitting and great looking dress!
9/13/13 7:03 AM
Diane333 said...
The pattern and fabric are perfect for this dress. Did you raise the neckline? The pattern shows a plunging neckline.
9/13/13 7:07 AM
threaddy said...
Stunning, as usual!
9/13/13 11:49 PM
chenille said...
Wow, another stunner! Congrats on the 100 reviews - very much appreciated.
9/14/13 8:35 AM
dmitch1966 said...
Wow, this dress looks fantastic on you. Fit is spot on, fabric is gorgeous and now I want one too!! Congrats on your 100th review, it's sewists like you who really keep this site current with the many, many pattern options we have available to us. Thank you so much for your efforts. :-)
9/24/13 7:20 PM
Sew Good said...
Beautiful!!!
11/8/13 11:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us