Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2013-3 (Buttondown) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 280 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/13 11:37 PM
Last Updated:11/4/13 10:00 PM
Project Photo:Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2013-3 by QuiltSewSewSue

Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2013-3 by QuiltSewSewSue  Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2013-3 by QuiltSewSewSue  
Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by QuiltSewSewSue

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Bamboo Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Sleeveless blouse where the shoulder yoke extends slightly over the shoulder to the front and there is a single pocket.

Pattern Sizing:
Ottobre 34 through 52.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were fine. Ottobre does not provide diagrams only written instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the simple style. I don't think this style of top ever goes out of fashion.
I loved the drafting of this pattern - the collar and collar stand came together beautifully.

Fabric Used:
Bamboo woven bought 3 years ago from The Bamboo Fabric Store. There is a beautiful texture woven into the fabric. It frayed easily so I did french seams on the side seams. Otherwise the fabric was beautiful to work with and washed and pressed like a charm.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened the pattern at waist level by about 2 inches.
I did not sew the top button or buttonhole on the collar stand (as I will never do it up).
I sewed a double yoke following the instructions in The Readers Digest Guide to Sewing (page 410).

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I plan to sew this again in a swiss dot cotton voile. I highly recommend this pattern.

Conclusion:
Love this blouse - more photos on my blog.

I have made my second top in swiss dot cotton voil and the photos are here.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said...
Gorgeous blouse and such a great fit. It is going to be lovely to wear over the summer.
9/28/13 0:31 AM
mm said...
I like your blouse.
9/28/13 0:32 AM
Vonnevo said...
A very stylish blouse Sue !! Glad you found a great pattern to use for the lovely fabric.
9/28/13 0:49 AM
TGWGWS said...
Beautiful blouse and I love that fabric! It looks so cool and comfy.
9/28/13 2:50 AM
Pj3g said...
It's beautiful!
9/28/13 8:30 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I love your version! I think I must have some of this bamboo fabric it is gorgeous. I have made this blouse too and you are right, the drafting is wonderful and the double yoke is the way to go.
9/28/13 9:14 AM
Patti B said...
I love it. The combination of classic style with your luscious fabric is just perfect. A definite TNT!
9/28/13 10:41 AM
elcsews said...
Lovely blouse!
9/28/13 4:34 PM
Dee2 said...
Lovely blouse that is beautifully sewn.
9/28/13 8:47 PM
Maree P said...
This is a lovely shirt Sue...perfect for our current hot weather.
9/29/13 3:08 AM
brissie71 said...
Ooooh, I REALLY like this one. It's nice to see it made up in such a versatile fabric. I'm sure this piece is going to get a workout this Summer.
10/1/13 0:51 AM
sophronia said...
To put it simply: looks good.
11/5/13 7:49 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! I've always been fond of this style.
11/5/13 8:19 AM
marec said...
What a beautiful fit! Your work makes this "simple" top stand out.
11/5/13 9:47 AM
Christas said...
Very nice blouse! I love Ottobre patterns..... I must sew this one! Thanks so much for your review.
11/9/13 0:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6710
photo
Review by a.me.s on 2/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2006-113 Wrap Top
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 8/4/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us