Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2700 (Misses ) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 474 times 41 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR
About MrsCharismastarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/13 5:37 PM
Last Updated:11/5/13 1:52 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2700 by MrsCharisma

Simplicity: 2700 by MrsCharisma  Simplicity: 2700 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2700
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Version #1


Pattern Description:

Misses & Miss Petite Pants: Amazing Fit Collection

I would add - has tab waistband and flared legs

Pattern Sizing:

14-22, slim, average and curvy. I cut a 16 average

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The fitting instructions are not helpful. This is definitely a muslin-making pattern. The sewing instructions are good but I like the fly zip instructions from my Butterick 5908 pattern much better. I also prefer to sew the side seams before sewing the crotch seam.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

They're great for work pants. The flared leg is a little wider than I'd probably normally buy in RTW but as long as the thighs are just grazing, it's a modern look.

I hate the 1" seams. I think it's a lot of excess fabric. I wish there were instructions on how to turn a good waistband, it takes A TON of patience to make sure you have it nice and square.

Followed these directions for latest pair! THESE directions from Notes From a Mad Housewife. Her corners are pretty sharp.

Fabric Used:

A polyester/wool blend from Fabric Mart, $2.40/yd

Some sort of herringbone bottomweight from Hancock.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I'd love to give credit where credit is due, but I can't remember which blog I read the tip on! If it's you...thanks!

My hips are about 43" so last time I cut a size 18 (finished hips 45"). I had to do so much to get them somewhat fitted how I'd like. The tip was to go down a size as you have 4" of seam allowances in the side seams - so plenty of room for adjustments. And cutting a smaller size will also save you some fabric.

So I cut a size 16 avg (finished hip of 43"). I sewed the inseam at 5/8", the side seams at 3/4" and the crotch seam at 5/8".

I left off the bias tape on the waistband facing and also sewed the pockets shut. I don't like those slash pockets I've discovered. Next time I'll cut the front as one and leave off the pockets. (I'd like to try the Thurlow front pockets).

I reduced the center front length by nearly 2" (Yes. 2 inches) and at the side seams by about 3/4". I have a very, very short front crotch length.

I also added 1" to the length (and I'm ONLY 5'5"). Last time I had barely 5/8" to hem. AND I did a blind hem!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I will be making these again for sure. I think they'll be my TNT. I **LOVE** these.

If you are confident enough to IGNORE their fitting directions and willing to work through a muslin or two, you should try it!

Conclusion:

This has become my TNT. There are a couple of other patterns I'd like to try but I think I have these where I want them. I still need to figure out that wrinkle in the back right hip area but the fit of the pants is spot on.

I will be making another pair for my "black" mini capsule and am thinking I have to make them again, with belt carriers.

Now, I am making a face and my CB seam isn't perfect. Why you ask? These pants were a labor of love. I muslined them in August and then I got sick and didn't sew anything the entire month of September. I realized I tossed the muslin. I THREW THEM AWAY. So I ended up basting and unpicking seams 3 or 4 times because I couldn't remember the details. Never do this. Okay?

Then, I accidentally cut off my fly! YES! lol!! I had about 3/8" of fabric on the pants front and was able to cut a new fly and sew it in place. Then today, while I was working on finishing them up, I realized that I had serged the back leg when finishing the seams. I pulled out my seam ripper and got going on that section. Well...I ripped a big ole hole in the pants. Like 3" long.

The top of the cut was near the seam line but the bottom was 1" away from the seam line. I nearly cried. I went ahead and haphazardly finished the pants. I didn't understitch the waistband. I didn't add the bias tape, I just wanted to get them "done" so I could take pics and tell of my mistake. After seeing the pics I was in awe of the fit and in love with the pants and well...the hole isn't horribly noticeable from the front or back so for now, it is fused together with black fusible. I just love the fabric too much to toss them.

Front

Back

Front Close up
(still need to add hook & eyes)

Back close up

Hole
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margy.64 said...
You have achieved a great fit with these pants. Sorry to hear about the hole, but I'm sure you will go on to make many more pairs now that you have the fit all worked out.
10/19/13 6:37 PM
Adaire said...
I nearly cried too when I got to the part about the hole! Most of us have had a similar experience at least once and sometimes more! I agree with Margy...now that you have the fit worked out, you can move on to make more pairs with far less work. Carry on!
10/19/13 7:40 PM
Baja Susana said...
MRS Charisma, five stars for perseverance! You on your way to great fitting pants. I enjoyed reading your review.
10/19/13 11:46 PM
SewLibra said...
Oh no, a hole! I cut a hole in the last pair of pants I made, too. I did it with scissor tips while cutting off serger threads. Then the last time I tapered pants for my mom, I had part of the seam doubled up underneath and serged on top of it. Seriously??? But at the end of the day (a long day), your pants are fitting well and next time will be a piece of cake.
10/20/13 0:43 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Yes, your pants are a great fit! I admire your tenacity to finish them despite the hurdles!
10/20/13 8:03 AM
marec said...
These are great looking pants, and your perseverance paid off. So what about the hole?!! No one will see it and you have some nice pants now.
10/20/13 11:09 AM
Brine said...
I, too have managed to snip unwanted holes in garments I was sewing. My mantra now is: look before you snip! More important though is that you have accomplished a great fit. Congratulations!
10/20/13 1:59 PM
TJSEWS said...
Despite all of the challenges you encountered, you persevered and now you have a great fitting pair of pants. I am sure your next pair will go smoothly. Kudos to you!
10/20/13 2:07 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks everyone! I almost pushed my daughter's top off to cut another pair! :) I have several cuts of trouser fabric prewashed, ready to cut. More pants will be on the way!
10/20/13 2:26 PM
canei said...
Nice!
10/21/13 8:12 AM
NEMDF said...
I am working on my second pair of slacks from this pattern. I, too, cut a hole, while trimming seam allowances. It is pretty parallel and close to the side seam by the pocket, so i just sewed it up and hope for the best. Nice job.
11/5/13 1:55 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Ouch NEMDF! Wear them proudly! :)
11/6/13 2:29 PM
MinaLMcGrady said...
Always wanted to see these made on a real person... Nice job..
11/7/13 11:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-108
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 2/12/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6965 Pattern
Burda 6965 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 12/30/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us