Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5759 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 460 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:jnageotte
photo
About jnageottestar
CA USA
Member since: 6/4/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/13 3:36 AM
Last Updated:10/21/13 1:15 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5759 by jnageotte

McCall's: 5759 by jnageotte  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5759
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by jnageotte

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Coating  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Semi-fitted jacket with princess seams, flaps, front band and two-piece sleeves; jacket A has standing collar; jackets B, C have collar with collar band; jacket C has belt with buckle; button closing.

Pattern Sizing: AA(6-8-10-12), D5(12-14-16-18-20). In this case I cut a 20 and added 2 inches of length to each applicable pattern piece.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The directions were very clear here. This is a great jacket for a beginner who may be intimidated by constructing a lined jacket. This pattern provides a well tailored product without being overly complex to create.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the princess seams, oversized collar, and the design element of the pocket flap. I did NOT like that the pattern does not include functional pockets and that the front bad does not continue along to the back of the jacket.

Fabric Used: Red wool coating with red leather details. The lining is a red "silky" material of an unidentified fiber. It is definitely a synthetic though given that it is impervious to ironing and steam.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made the collar, front/hem band and some other details with leather. Given that this change focused the spotlight on those details, I decided to extend the band to the back hem of the jacket. I also decided that non-functional pocket flaps would not fly so I added functional pocekts with welts made of scraps leftover from the leather collar. Finally, I decided against the buttons, prefering to keep the jacket front clean and modern. I fastened the jacket with large 7/8" snaps on the inside.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would definitely recommend it to others although I'm unlikely to sew it again myself because it's a pretty distinctive piece.

For more on my opinions about this jacket and other stitchery, check out my blog at: http://sewinginstyle.blogspot.com/2013/10/another-contest-cool-jacket-and-buttons.html

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RoseE said...
I love this pattern. Your modifications make it even better. Beautiful!
10/20/13 3:45 AM
mnitts said...
This is a gorgeous jacket. Love the leather details. Fab!
10/20/13 4:05 AM
Quickie said...
This is a gorgeous jacket for you. The leather in the same colour makes it more special. Congrats
10/20/13 4:42 AM
DaisyA said...
simply stunning!
10/20/13 5:01 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
So creative and beautifully sewn! A real stunner of a jacket with its on-trend leather trim.
10/20/13 6:54 AM
lamstu said...
I am craving red leather everything right now, including this awesome jacket! Looks really lovely. There is no point in not having pockets under those flaps - good for you to have added them in. I like the clean look without the buttons.
10/20/13 9:05 AM
madbadger said...
Beautiful!
10/20/13 9:18 AM
blessedtosew said...
WOW! That is gorgeous.
10/20/13 9:19 AM
debbieB said...
Wow! That is beautiful!
10/20/13 9:24 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I've had this pattern forever but just haven't taken the plunge. Yours is so cool! Well done!
10/20/13 9:26 AM
LlanoGirl said...
So beautiful! Love your special details.
10/20/13 9:33 AM
MaryDB said...
That jacket is stunning - beautiful leather detail, nice work.
10/20/13 10:06 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Beutiful jacket, love the leather on it, just stylish and sharp! Would love to see it on!
10/20/13 10:15 AM
AndreaSews said...
Gorgeous!
10/20/13 10:32 AM
cleverkitty said...
Drop Dead gorgeous jacket!!!! Jenny I read your post on the fabric outlet in SF I totally missed this while visiting my DD this past May, she only lives a mile from it, I could have been there everyday! I did go to Britex but it was extremely pricey. Thanks for an informative post glad I found you we are literally neighbors :)
10/20/13 10:55 AM
SewWil said...
Stunning jacket! The leather trim sends it over the top. Great job!!!
10/20/13 11:06 AM
ArtAttack said...
What a gorgeous jacket! Outstanding with the leather trim. Thank you for participating in this year's Lined Jacket Contest. Great entry!
10/20/13 11:37 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, the leather really makes it special.Equally beautiful welt flap pockets.
10/20/13 12:52 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is done beautifully! Enjoy your new work of art!
10/20/13 1:52 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful!!!
10/20/13 2:27 PM
suesmith said...
Fantastic jacket! The fact the two pieces from your stash matched beautifully was truly a sign that something beautiful would result. WOW!!!...absolutely love it!
10/20/13 3:01 PM
Dianne22 said...
Beautiful jacket. The leather is so distinctive and really makes the jacket stand out. I agree with you about the buttons--the front is perfect without them. Very nice job.
10/20/13 9:10 PM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the leather accents.
10/20/13 10:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Love the red leather as the band!
10/21/13 5:29 AM
STARG said...
Love this jacket! Your combination of the leather with the wool is great!
10/21/13 9:52 AM
carolynw said...
A definite WOW! Love that colour
10/21/13 6:59 PM
PattyE said...
Fabulous!
10/25/13 9:45 PM
marec said...
What a fantastic jacket-love the use of leather trim!
11/1/13 11:11 AM
grays08 said...
Very pretty and with your changes, practical and I love that! So cool with the leather too.
11/1/13 4:26 PM
petro said...
Great looking jacket, I love the leather details.
11/4/13 8:54 AM
ggf2005 said...
love it!
11/5/13 3:10 PM
Margaret said...
Great-looking jacket and I love how you've added the leather details and made the pockets functional!
11/8/13 1:55 PM
ceejayem said...
Have been eying this pattern for ages and finally succumbed on eBay due to some wonderful reviews here. Your execution is really professional and the details you included on your website are wonderful.
3/22/14 9:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 5/29/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2008-108
photo
Review by Amy-may on 10/6/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us