Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Grainline Studio: 35001 (Maritime Shorts ) thumbsup - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 175 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:LizJaneB
photo
About LizJaneBstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/12/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/13 6:57 AM
Last Updated:10/23/13 7:05 AM
Project Photo:Grainline Studio: 35001 by LizJaneB

Pattern Photo:Grainline Studio 35001
Grainline Studio Pattern Info

More Info provided by LizJaneB

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    
Available for sale on PR: $8.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Broadcloth  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: The Maritime Short is the perfect summer short, easy to wear, modern fit and plenty of room for customization. Make a pair in denim, brightly colored linen, go bold with a print or do all three! Features curved front pockets and stylized back patch pockets as well as a fly front closure.

Pattern Sizing: 0-18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes I found the instructions very easy to follow. Sewing in a fly is always tricky but if you have done it a few times you will not struggle with these instructions and if you do - Google is your friend!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really like everything about the pattern. I like shorts with fly fronts, and I enjoy the patch pockets and the curved front pockets.

Fabric Used: Cotton Drill.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made these shorts three times! First pair was too small and the second too big. These are size 4. I found that I had to take a massive wedge out of the back seam. I changed the construction slightly.
I sewed the crotch seam from the fly front end to just past the crotch seam. I then inserted the fly front. I then attached the waistbands to the left front/back and the right front/band. I then pinned the shorts and adjusted the back seam to fit. I altered the waistband facing to match the new angled back seam of the pants and waistband. This is similar to the way the Sewaholic Thurlows are constructed and make it much easier to fit the pants to your individual shape.
I also made the buttonhole horizontal rather than vertical as I think the button pulls less that way.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely. I adore these shorts and found the process of making them very rewarding and fun.

Conclusion: A great little pattern and I also think a great way to dip your toe into pants making without the commitment of sewing up full trouser legs. I made three pairs all from my stash from leftover pieces I had - super economical to make and very comfortable.

Read more on my blog here and see my first two pairs!
Buy this pattern for $8.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
Love these! I will probably wait until next summer, but a good shorts pattern is the best.
10/23/13 1:34 PM
Chempac said...
What a great pair of shorts. Perfect for those hot summer days!
10/25/13 5:53 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the review! These are on the cutting table for this weekend for DD. I will have to think carefully about sizing!
11/5/13 9:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1002
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 11/20/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5251
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 8/14/11
Read Review

McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us