Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1109 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/25/13 8:45 AM
Last Updated:10/25/13 8:55 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 7975 by GoodbyeValntino

Vogue Patterns: 7975 by GoodbyeValntino  Vogue Patterns: 7975 by GoodbyeValntino  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 7975
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Lined jacket in two lengths with high round neckline. A, B: short length, has long sleeves and patch pockets. A: purchased ribbon ties and trim. B: purchased trim on outer edges. C: three-quarter length sleeves, mock welt pockets, purchased trim along outer edges of jacket. D: button front, three-quarter length sleeves and mock welt pockets. E: button front, full length sleeves, patch pockets, outer edges trimmed with purchased fold-over braid. D, E: longer length.
I made View B

Pattern Sizing: 6 - 22 I started with a size 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? I made this jacket in a class with Susan Khalje and followed her instructions exclusively.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I found that this pattern fits very well. I knew I would make adjustments in the class but I was surprised at how few adjustments were needed from my muslin.

Fabric Used: a lofty Chanel tweed with a gold metallic weave

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: There were many changes involved in transforming this nice Vogue pattern into a couture French jacket. I have written about much of the process on my blog.

Notable changes include:
1.splitting the upper sleeve resulting in a 3 piece sleeve.
2.adding a tab to the upper sleeve
3.disregarding the facings
4. replacing much of the machine stitching with hand stitching
5. the fit was tweaked in the upper bodice taking in approximately 1 inch
6. I also removed 1 1/4 inches through the hips for a close fit. I would not have noticed this but Susan K recommended it and it made a huge difference. All of the tweaking resulted in a close cardigan-like fit.
7. added two additional pockets

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would love to sew this jacket again. It is very time consuming requiring nearly 100 hours of sewing so I'll need to get in the right frame of mind before making a second one

Conclusion: I adore my new jacket and through the guidance of Susan Khalje I have a true French Couture jacket. Since the Chanel name is protected worldwide by vigilant attorneys this is my Shanel jacket which I'm entering in the lined jacket competition.
More details on the blog.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
Stunning, gorgeous jacket
10/25/13 9:17 AM
Quickie said...
Stunning, gorgeous jacket
10/25/13 9:17 AM
cleverkitty said...
Simply beautiful with a Chanel fabric to make it even more authentic, I want to make this pattern, good to know the fitting was not a big issue. Well Done!!!
10/25/13 10:12 AM
ArtAttack said...
Simply stunning! I give it 3 P's: Posh, panache, perfection! I was just looking at this pattern as a possibility for my own French jacket and wanting a closer fit like you achieved. Congratulations on a superior outcome!
10/25/13 10:50 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty on you!
10/25/13 10:58 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very classy, you look fabulous!
10/25/13 11:10 AM
slmstyle said...
Amazing jacket! And how lucky your are to have be taught by the best. Truly great work!
10/25/13 11:55 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I could never tire of staring at this jacket in awe and wonder! Once again, congratulations on this milestone achievement.
10/25/13 12:26 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, this looks like a high-end jacket. Wait - even better than that. I don't think I've seen anything like this ever :) So beautiful!
10/25/13 1:06 PM
Elona said...
What a lovely piece of work! The fit is perfect, and the colors in the tweed look gorgeous on you.
10/25/13 1:22 PM
sewbarbie said...
just lovely.
10/25/13 1:26 PM
carolynw said...
Definitely a perfect 10 PLUS. Absolutely gorgeous This is my TNT jacket pattern
10/25/13 1:50 PM
JillyBe said...
Absolutely PERfect result! :)
10/25/13 3:41 PM
sewpelican said...
Beautiful....fabric, fit, What an accomplishment! Enjoy every moment you look at it and wear it. Look forward to seeing it teamed with a skirt.
10/25/13 4:01 PM
salsera7 said...
You really outdid yourself on this one. Pure class!
10/25/13 7:39 PM
SewWil said...
Classic!!! From your choice of fabric and notions to the amazing fit you achieved, this jacket is absolutely amazing. What a wonderful piece to add to your wardrobe.
10/25/13 8:28 PM
Barbara V said...
100 hours? Kudos to you for all of your time and patience....obviously it paid off with your treasure. It fits perfectly and looks so beautiful on you!
10/25/13 10:55 PM
threaddy said...
Shock & Awe...it's beautiful. I am glad you mentioned how long it took...as it is obvious it is detailed and tailored and worth the time.
10/26/13 1:06 AM
Danmar said...
Thank you for the fantastic review describing the process. Your jacket is wonderful!
10/26/13 7:27 AM
becca a said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket!
10/26/13 8:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Stunning jacket. Beautiful fabric and great fit!
10/26/13 8:48 AM
Jane Wineteer said...
Wonderful job! You can be proud of your work.
10/26/13 9:05 AM
KarmenG said...
Gorgeous! So worth the 100 hours!!! ;-)
10/26/13 9:11 AM
imsewcrazy said...
This is BEAUTIFUL!!!
10/26/13 11:15 AM
Heatherrique said...
Masterclass of a jacket! :-)
10/26/13 12:58 PM
Bernadette W said...
So, you should change your "Name" from "GoodbyeValentino" to "BonjourShanel"!
10/26/13 2:46 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Beautiful!
10/26/13 5:49 PM
lmb09 said...
Fabulous!
10/26/13 8:00 PM
liliv said...
Looks like you you have never stopped buying expensive clothing!
10/27/13 5:26 AM
sewin said...
I hate to copy comments, but stunning is the only word I can come up with. This jacket is so lovely. Very classy indeed.
10/30/13 1:45 PM
mlclements said...
Lovely Jacket and great work! The fitting is fabulous!
11/1/13 9:33 AM
tvjulie said...
Such a great job on your "Shanel"! I'm a Susan Khalje devotee myself, so I know what goes into it. Your hard work paid off with a beautiful jacket.
11/1/13 9:52 AM
grays08 said...
Beautiful and masterful job on this. The fit is just superb. Wonderful job and love how you continue to push yourself in sewing, it's fantastic and inspiring!
11/1/13 10:33 AM
Sew Good said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
11/1/13 10:36 PM
Riesie said...
This is gorgeous. I am signed up for her class next March. Super excited!
11/2/13 11:51 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely jacket! Perfect fit!
11/8/13 3:37 PM
ArtAttack said...
Congratulations, Sarah! And a well deserved win for all of your hard work. Great job!!
11/10/13 10:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 2882
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 2/14/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hangout Hoodie Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Hangout Hoodie Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4560 Diaper Bag
photo
Review by ClioBklyn on 12/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 6563 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6563 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9451 Pattern
Burda 9451 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us