Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewaholic Patterns: 1103 (Minoru Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1194 times 54 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:10/25/13 4:17 PM
Project Photo:Sewaholic Patterns: 1103 by Jstarr4250

Sewaholic Patterns: 1103 by Jstarr4250  Sewaholic Patterns: 1103 by Jstarr4250  
Pattern Photo:Sewaholic Patterns 1103
Sewaholic Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Brocade  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: From the pattern envelope-The Minoru Jacket is a zip-front weekend jacket with a secret hood hidden inside the wide collar! If you prefer, skip the hood and let the dramatic collar be the focus. Flattering raglan sleeves are comfortable and easy-to-sew, and the elastic waistline creates a slim, curve-hugging silhouette.
No need to choose between having a hood OR a cute collar. The hood is tucked away in the wide, roomy collar, ready for when you need it, but stays hidden when you don't! The collar looks great done up or left open. The jacket is fully lined, with interior patch pockets to stash your cards and keys safely and out of sight. Practical and pretty!

Pattern Sizing:Sizes: 0-16 (all sizes are included in one pattern)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes - to which the myriad versions and rave reviews can attest. Sewaholic's sew along is very helpful.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?What I feel makes this jacket so special and its appeal so widespread is how it easily it adapts to many fabrics. The first rate drafting allows for a professional looking finish even if, like me, this is your first lined jacket. The raglan sleeves and soft shoulder gathers are my favorite features and the ones that make for a most forgiving fit. No dislikes, although if I were to sew another hoodless version I might reduce the height of the collar and interface it. I would also add welt pockets, depending upon the fabric.

Fabric Used:Marc Jacobs trapunto textured silk brocade for the outer layer and Anna Sui silk/cotton blend twill for the lining, both from Mood Fabrics. Photos don't fully capture the sheen of the plum colored silk. I wish you could see how it glows in sunlight, much like the sweetgrass that is blooming all over the lowcountry at this time of year and has been woven into baskets by the sea island Gullahs for centuries. I was very pleased with the color match and fast delivery on the YKK zipper I ordered from sewbizfabrics.com.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I did not stray from the design or instructions, other than to use 1 1/2" elastic at the waist because that's what I had on hand and to eliminate the elasticized cuffs to help make the look a little less casual. Oh- and I opted for only one pocket with a snap closure. That's plenty of space to fit my bank card, my phone and a lipstick, which is all I really need to go anywhere.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I'm sure I will sew this again. I already have a soft lambs leather version and one in metallic linen swimming around in my head. If anyone has information on sources for skins I'd love to hear.

Conclusion: I'm so glad that contest manager Dorcas recommended this pattern to me for the lined jacket contest or I most likely would never have given it a try. It truly does fill the "smart casual" gap in my outerwear wardrobe and will be great with jeans or leggings and boots this winter.

Photographed with Lekala 4042 top in rayon lycra blend and McCalls 6173 leggings in faux stretch leather/ponte combination.

Front
Lining
Rear View
Sweetgrass Minoru
Buy this pattern for $17.98     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kemish said...
Your jacket is beautiful.
10/25/13 4:35 PM
mnitts said...
Absolutely gorgeous fabric choices Julie! Very chic and stylish. I am sure you will get loads of wear out of this one.
10/25/13 4:54 PM
ArtAttack said...
Well, Sweetgrass it is...this is luscious! What a beautiful job you did. I would like another one in a dressier fabric than the twill I used. Great job!! Good luck in the contest and thanks for entering!
10/25/13 5:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
Extraordinary sewing✔️drop dead gorgeous fabric ✔️you need a trophy for this creation :) very impressive can't say enough❗️
10/25/13 5:30 PM
carolhope said...
Beautiful work with beautiful fabric. Ideal for a SC winter. I am so looking forward to our annual winter stay on HHI. Ummm, maybe I'll make a Minoru jacket while there.
10/25/13 6:29 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh my word, Julie, this is beautiful! Everything came together beautifully and your work is impeccable. Super!
10/25/13 6:54 PM
WinterQueen said...
fabulous colour choices! I have this patten too, but made up yet x
10/25/13 6:55 PM
sophronia said...
So beautiful in every detail. Would you make a link to the source of your zipper? Sewbiz has many hits, but I can't seem to find the right one.
10/25/13 7:18 PM
carrie18584 said...
So beautiful!! The exterior AND interior fabrics are great together and it fits you perfectly!
10/25/13 8:06 PM
Danmar said...
Excellent in every way!
10/25/13 8:20 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket!!! Your fabric choices are wonderful. Great job!!!
10/25/13 8:25 PM
CissieW said...
FABULOUS. in every way. Love your lining too. It really is a noteworthy pattern, isn't it?
10/25/13 8:26 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is stunning. Simply stunning!!! I have to have one!
10/25/13 9:16 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
I want one! Fantastic.
10/25/13 9:32 PM
PattyE said...
It's fabulous!
10/25/13 10:00 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful jacket! I just got this pattern in and can't wait to add my version. I have some sweet grass baskets from Charleston and I adore them.
10/25/13 10:11 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty, pretty! Every detail is gorgeous and it looks wonderful on you! Super job.
10/25/13 10:49 PM
marec said...
Oh! This is absolutely one of the nicest Minorus I have seen. Love the fuscia color and the fit looks perfect.
10/25/13 11:35 PM
ConnieBJ said...
An amazing pattern indeed! It looks terrific! I love the lamb skin idea - I just finished one too and am planning the second!
10/26/13 0:16 AM
SewLibra said...
Fabulous jacket and it looks great on you! Pretty outer fabric color and texture, and love the lining, too. I got a kick out of Scooter Skyping his daddy...too cute.
10/26/13 0:19 AM
threaddy said...
I am overwhelmed at how exquisite this jacket is. KNOCK OUT!!!!!
10/26/13 1:00 AM
Rhoda K said...
So beautiful!
10/26/13 7:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Your version has certainly inspired me to consider this pattern. I am currently working on the Cordova jacket by Sewaholic and this pattern line is a good one to sew. Great choice of fabric!!!!
10/26/13 8:40 AM
sewsally said...
I would buy that jacket -- looks fabulous.
10/26/13 9:41 AM
imsewcrazy said...
OMG!!! Your jacket is AWESOME!!! Inside and out!
10/26/13 10:46 AM
imsewcrazy said...
OMG!!! Your jacket is AWESOME!!! Inside and out!
10/26/13 10:46 AM
redside said...
Wow--excellent!
10/26/13 11:09 AM
grey ann said...
Stunning. Thanks for sharing.
10/26/13 11:19 AM
Diane E said...
Oh please help me pick out the fabric for mine. Yours is so gorgeous!!!
10/26/13 11:42 AM
KarlaB said...
This pattern is awesome. I'm being pulled in. Your version is especially pretty. Love your photos with the sweetgrass (it's trying to "steal the show") Beautiful job!
10/26/13 2:13 PM
Pj3g said...
It's so beautiful!
10/26/13 3:51 PM
Clareew said...
Stunning, what a fabulous first lined jacket.
10/26/13 3:51 PM
STARG said...
Fabulous! Love the lining fabric. Actually, both fabrics are fab!
10/26/13 4:25 PM
Sharonspils said...
Absolutely gorgeous Minoru.
10/26/13 5:22 PM
Lori V said...
This is so gorgeous, your work is amazing and I love the lining.
10/26/13 8:40 PM
margy.64 said...
Absolutely stunning jacket. Love your fabric choices for both the outer and the lining. Impeccable sewing. You are an inspiration.
10/27/13 3:23 AM
Stitchmaker said...
Oh my. Absolutely gorgeous.
10/27/13 9:18 AM
DD1104 said...
This is fabulous! Makes me want to get out the pattern and sew one up! Lol
10/27/13 12:30 PM
liliv said...
Terrific jacket, as always you choosed gorgeous materials and your sewing is perfect!
10/27/13 3:54 PM
paolag said...
A beautiful jacket. What a versatile pattern this is!
10/27/13 9:58 PM
paolag said...
A beautiful jacket. What a versatile pattern this is!
10/27/13 9:58 PM
ak21 said...
absolutely beautiful!!
10/29/13 12:06 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
OMG Sooo very beautiful. LOVE the colour and sweetgrass reflections. Truly gorgeous all around
10/30/13 12:24 PM
tvjulie said...
Beautifully executed, and I love that fabric!
11/1/13 10:00 AM
tvjulie said...
By the way, I've found the metallic linen you're looking for at Mood in LA.
11/1/13 10:02 AM
grays08 said...
First lined jacket, no way! You blew this out of the water. This is just so pretty - even the lining is pretty, just love it, and it looks fabulous on you. Fantastic job, and you MUST make many more lined jackets!
11/1/13 10:31 AM
marec said...
Beautiful!
11/1/13 11:19 AM
mlclements said...
Lovely jacket! The lining and shell combo is very striking!
11/3/13 10:45 PM
petro said...
Lovely jacket!
11/4/13 8:42 AM
Pats Designs said...
I am truly impressed and moved by this jacket. This is a jacket I would love to create and add to my collection. Thanks for making me want yet another project, but one I will probably do, due to your creation. Thanks
11/5/13 8:22 AM
Brine said...
Can I add my congratulations to you on this wonderful jacket, too? Both the cloth selection and the execution are perfect!
11/5/13 12:51 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely jacket!
11/8/13 11:12 AM
ArtAttack said...
Congratulations, Julie! I knew this fabulous jacket would be among the winners. Great job!!
11/10/13 10:52 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thank you Dorcas, for being such a supportive contest manager and to everyone who left such nice comments and voted. I'm so glad I entered the contest and learned a new technique.
11/10/13 12:40 PM
Meg at Mood said...
Phenomenal job on this jacket! So pleased you used fabric from Mood.
11/11/13 2:47 PM
Deb Bee said...
Its hard to believe that this is your first lined jacket! Wow - this is beautiful and your execution is just perfect. As for that planned leather version, Peggy Sagers of Silhouette Patterns highly recommends Leather Impact. I have yet to order from them, but here is a link: http://www.leatherimpact.com/ .
11/15/13 8:39 PM
Sew Good said...
Wow! Beautiful! I love the fabric and lining choice. I want your jacket!
12/23/13 11:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-108
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 2/12/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6965 Pattern
Burda 6965 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 12/30/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Isabella Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us