SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Spadea> 2182  (Chanel Jacket)

Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 548 times 
Reviewed by:JetSetSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JetSetSewingstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/29/12
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/13 4:40 PM
Last Updated:2/4/14 8:33 PM


Spadea: 2182  by JetSetSewing  Spadea: 2182  by JetSetSewing  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redside said...
Wow--what a beautiful result.
2/6/14 10:34 AM
CissieW said...
Gorgeous jacket. I love everything about it -- your trim, the mandarin collar, the lining fabric! Makes me itch to make another one.
2/6/14 7:46 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and the lining is perfect!
2/5/14 11:05 PM
Biblioto said...
Bravo! Beautiful! Thank you for your post. I'm about to embark on my first chanel-type jacket and had been debating about whether or not to line w/ organza. The Pinterest board is super helpful too. Thank you!
2/5/14 7:26 PM
caroljeancarmichael said...
Hail Julie, Couture Sewer!
2/5/14 6:44 PM
carolynw said...
Truly outstanding and great review. Thanks for sharing
2/5/14 12:16 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely work and wonderful jacket!
11/8/13 10:16 AM
sewing53 said...
wow, truly amazing!
11/6/13 8:01 PM
manola6176 said...
Fabulous jacket. Good luck for the contest. I am going to check your pinterest board. Thaks for it.
11/5/13 12:26 PM
AndreaSews said...
Beautiful! Good luck in the contest.
11/5/13 9:06 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful sewing you do tvjulie and inspiring post, your jacket is outstanding, love the pockets on this version :)
11/5/13 7:50 AM
petro said...
Very pretty jacket.
11/4/13 8:41 AM
JetSetSewing said...
Hi Meg, thanks for your comments! I'm going to message you because I'm doing some research on Spadea for a possible project. I've found them on eBay and vintage pattern sites, but they are rare and pricey! I'm just starting a blog at jetsetsewing.com and will be talking more about Spadea in upcoming posts. Julie
11/4/13 6:16 AM
Meg McKinney said...
PS: Please see my longer Comments. Where did you find the Spadea pattern? eBay? collectors? I'm astounded that anyone has one of them, anywhere, much less the Chanel jacket pattern!
11/4/13 0:18 AM
Meg McKinney said...
Wow -- what a fabulous jacket! And, the name "Spadea" jumped out at me. I haven't seen or heard that name in decades. I grew up about 2 miles from Milford, NJ, where Spadea had their testing and sewing division --- in a renovated, old historic mill located along the Delaware River --- and a number of my mother's friends who sewed very, very well, worked there, sewing and testing patterns. I always knew that Spadea was for advanced sewing people, because of the way the patterns and instructions were, but the results of Spadea patterns were just wonderful --- even as a middle schooler and jr. high school student, I admired the clothes. Anyway, I'm glad to see someone still sews from Spadea (which got sold to ???), and that you made an honest-to-goodness Chanel jacket! Wow ... that's on my bucket list of sewing. Meg McKinney
11/4/13 0:08 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is amazing!
11/3/13 3:44 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Yes, I was definitely sewing on hooks and eyes during the big game! It helped with all that nervous energy. I think anyone could make a Chanel with the right guidance and perseverance. Claire Schaeffer has a new book/DVD that's very thorough, and I heard that Susan Khalje is coming out with a pattern/DVD. I learned the haute couture techniques taking Susan's "Haute Couture Dress" course on Craftsy.com. It completely transformed my sewing! I have a Pinterest page called "make your own Chanel jacket" with links to a number of resources.
11/1/13 11:57 AM
marec said...
Lovely jacket and an inspiration to me...should I try one?
11/1/13 11:33 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW gorgeous workmanship, a truly lovely jacket!
11/1/13 11:08 AM
grays08 said...
Red Sox win....just thinking of you watching the series while doing all that hand sewing! Beautiful, outstanding work on this - it's breathtaking! Love that lining too...just exemplary jacket!
11/1/13 10:12 AM
VivianZ said...
Wow! Tres fantastic!!
11/1/13 8:15 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Exquisite in every way. How lucky you are to own this pattern. "Elfin male French dressmaker" made me laugh!
11/1/13 7:34 AM
Quickie said...
Great result you can be proud
10/31/13 11:59 PM
Quickie said...
Great result you can be proud
10/31/13 11:59 PM
Quickie said...
Great result you can be proud
10/31/13 11:59 PM
madbadger said...
Incredible work! 100 hours and worth every minute!
10/31/13 9:09 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Dorcas, thanks for running the contest! You got us through.
10/31/13 8:36 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous jacket inside and out! Beautiful work. Good luck in the contest and thanks for participating.
10/31/13 7:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
Neue Mode 23425

photo
by: Milenushka

Review
The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now